Cid to Chocobo no Fushigi na Dungeon

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by GrayFox2510, Oct 29, 2008.

Oct 29, 2008
  1. GrayFox2510
    OP

    Newcomer GrayFox2510 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Mexico
    Was wondering if anyone else has managed to make the game work.
    It freezes for me whenever I die, or even if I reach the top of the first dungeon (or at least I believe it's the top). It freezes on a black screen, but the music keeps going.

    I tried the official 1.18 firmware, the unofficial 1.19, YSMenu with the latest version, they all do the same thing. For kicks, I even tried doing an Arm7 patch to see what happened, but it was the same.

    Is this a similar scenario to what was happening with FF Cyrstal Chronicles in a not-so-subtle way, or just downright firmware incompatibility?
     
  2. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried grabbing it from somewhere else just in case you've got a corrupted file?
     
  3. GrayFox2510
    OP

    Newcomer GrayFox2510 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Mexico
    I can confirm it's the same thing from two different sources, gonna give a third one a shot just for the heck of it.

    [EDIT] Yep, same deal.
    And before someone says, I have no cheats on and soft-reset is off.
     
  4. InuYasha

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Perhaps it's a problem game?
     
  5. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nightmare mate, have to tried reading the release thread? If other R4 users are having the same probem they usually post them in there.

    edit : Just had a look in there and there's a M3 Simply user complaining of the same probems. Could be a cart incompatability, which sucks. You'll have to wait for a DSTT firmware upgrade to fix the problem, that way you'll be able to run it using YSMenu.
     
  6. GrayFox2510
    OP

    Newcomer GrayFox2510 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Mexico

    Yeah, that's what I was thinking. I saw other people with M3 having trouble as well. At least YSMenu is updated fairly regularly, so hopefully it won't take long before I can play it. Thanks.
     
  7. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's the DSTT firmware that needs to be updated rather than YSMenu as YSMenu uses the patching routines from the DSTT firmware. There's a couple of big name games that don't work with the DSTT now so hopefully there will be an update for it soon.
     
  8. GrayFox2510
    OP

    Newcomer GrayFox2510 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Mexico
    Oh. Wasn't aware of that. Thanks. XD
     
  9. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not a problem, glad I could help! How long have you had your R4? I'd seriously consider getting another cart if you can. I replaced my R4 with an EDGE not long ago and couldn't be happier. I tried the DSTT, Acekard 2 and EDGE and prefer the EDGE out of them.

    You'll definitely have alot less troube in the future if you get a more modern cart.
     
  10. GrayFox2510
    OP

    Newcomer GrayFox2510 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    Mexico
    I've had it for about a year already; and while I had been thinking about getting another, I don't have the spare money right now.
    So I'll have to make due with it for the time being. :/
     
  11. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Having no cash sucks, I had to sell some orignal carts to get the EDGE. YSMenu has definitely extended the life of the R4 so I think you'll be alright for a while, it's just waiting for DSTT to update their firmware. It used to be pretty regular but they're more focused on fighting clones at the minute. With a couple of big name games not working now though hopefully they'll pull their finger out and get it released.

    edit : Thought you'd like to know that DSTT released a new firmware today that fixes this game so if you redo YSMenu with the new DSTT firmware it should work.
     
  12. cosmiccow

    Member cosmiccow Original Hippie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,125
    Country:
    Germany

Share This Page