Can I play PSX backups using Free McBoot

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by yusuo, May 3, 2012.

May 3, 2012
  1. yusuo

    Member yusuo GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,672
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was wondering if it was possible to play psx backups using free mcboots, I know its prob possible using disks but Im trying to get everything running via usb loader so was wondering is there anyway I can do it using an external hard drive with iso images on it
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo IF ONLY I COULD BE SO GROSSLY INCANDESCENT

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7,699
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
  3. Qtis

    Reporter Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    pip
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,659
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Also PSX emulators are compatible with pretty much every game out there. I've found using a PCSX emu (or another one, not sure of the one with the best compatibility) with a PS2-to-USB-adapter (a few $$ from Dealextreme) to be quite a good way to play the old backups. A PSP is a good way too, but somehow I haven't bothered making all them eboots yet (mainly because I'm still playing PSP games with my Go). Not really a way for a PS2 loader, but with a HDMI cable it's just as good an option :)
     
  4. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Without a modchip, there is no way to directly boot PS1 backups on a PS2 unless you disc swap. There's an experimental app called PS2PSXe, which is a PS1 emulator for the PS2 that loads ISOs from an internal HDD. But again, it's basically in an alpha state and still experimental, so not really feasible at this point in time.
     
  5. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,929
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    "Breaker Pro' isn't a modchip, and it will boot PS1 backups on a PS1 or a PS2.
     

Share This Page