Hacking Booting EZ Flash Omega from DS Lite Slot 1?

BenRK

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
728
Trophies
0
XP
512
Country
United States
I suppose the title is self explanatory. I've been trying to figure out how to boot the EZ Flash Omega from slot 1 on a DS Lite. Been trying to breathe new life into my DS Lite, so I have a DS flash cart running YSMenu and the EZ Flash Omega.

When I try to use the Boot GBA option in YSMenu, it says there is no cartridge in Slot 2 even though the Omega is in slot 2. I can force it to boot to GBA mode, but it acts like there is no cartridge inserted.

I'm curious if this is even possible. It's not the end of the world if it's not currently possible. I can select either the DS or GBA flash cart from the DS's home menu, I was just trying to get it to auto boot to the DS flash cart while not losing the option to use the GBA flash cart.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
33,330
Trophies
2
XP
22,469
Country
United States
I'm a little confused. does that mean the ez flash omega can't be used while a ds flash cart is in the ds lite? does the omega even work with a ds lite or just the gba series of systems?
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
33,330
Trophies
2
XP
22,469
Country
United States
I dunno. can only one be in the system at a time? I've heard bad things about the omega, so this sounds like it will turn me off even more.
 

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
14,794
Trophies
3
Age
52
Location
Austria
XP
2,314
Country
Austria
I suppose the title is self explanatory. I've been trying to figure out how to boot the EZ Flash Omega from slot 1 on a DS Lite. Been trying to breathe new life into my DS Lite, so I have a DS flash cart running YSMenu and the EZ Flash Omega.

When I try to use the Boot GBA option in YSMenu, it says there is no cartridge in Slot 2 even though the Omega is in slot 2. I can force it to boot to GBA mode, but it acts like there is no cartridge inserted.

I'm curious if this is even possible. It's not the end of the world if it's not currently possible. I can select either the DS or GBA flash cart from the DS's home menu, I was just trying to get it to auto boot to the DS flash cart while not losing the option to use the GBA flash cart.

Hello.:)

I sadly do not know about EZ Flash OMEGA but for the EZ Flash IV it works defninetly yes.

You can flash your DS Lite with FlashMe.

First you have to identify your Firmware Version:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-how-to-check-your-firmware-version-on-ds-ds-lite.456211/

What will you need
1.a DS/DS lite
2.a DS/GBA game

Instructions
Step 1: put in GBA or DS card into DS (flashcarts may or may not work)
Step 2: turn on DS (hold down start while powering on if you have auto mode)
Step 3: load up pictochat and go into any chat room
Step 4: take GBA or DS card out while in pictochat
Step 5: done

Versions
v1: Pictochat freezes
v2: two greyish blue screens
v3: two dark green screens
v4: two golden yellow screens
v5: two magenta screens
v6: two dark blue screens
v7: DS system does not crash

And here is the Guide to do the FlashMe:

https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/FlashMe

Instead of a PASSME Device you can use your SLOT-1 Flashcard.:)
There are different Versions of FlashMe,one removes the Health + Saftey warning Screen.

After you have done FlashMe you can boot your EZ Flash device and your Slot 1 Flashcard too.

Good Luck.

Thank you.:)

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

For the EZFlash you (maybe) have to press and hold START on Power on.


For the Flashcard not every Card maybe works depending on your Card and on its Kernel Software.


You can also use the EZ Flash aus "Expansion" for the Slot 1 Flashcard (for example play GameBoy Advanced Roms or as Memory Expansion).
Put BOTH Cards in your DS Lite hold SELECT on Power On and Boot it.
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,
  • Like
Reactions: zfreeman

Ryccardo

watching Thames TV from London
Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
7,406
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Imola
XP
6,387
Country
Italy
Hmmm.... I can start the Omega (in GBA mode of course, not Passme) just fine from my Wood 1.62 flashcard :)

(also, if your DS flashcard isn't of the autobooting type as most DS/Lite exclusive ones were, you can just hold B while turning on the console)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

BenRK

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
728
Trophies
0
XP
512
Country
United States

I don't know if I was clear in what I was describing, so I made a video of the issue I'm having. Again, if this is just a quirk with the Omega or my slot 1 flash cart, then so be it, not he end of the world.


In the video, I show the Omega working on my DS Lite, then I try to boot to it from my slot 1 flash cart using YSMenu, which doesn't work (this is the problem I'm hoping to fix). I then put in a normal GBA game and boot to it from my slot 1 flash cart to show that it does indeed work. And yes, I have FlashMe installed on my DS Lite (don't judge me for using the stealth version!!)
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: One deck to rule them all for a good decking