ROM Hack RELEASE Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night 60 FPS mod

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
5,246
Trophies
2
XP
9,439
Country
Poland
Simple mod that raises FPS cap to 60. If game can't handle 60 FPS, it drops to 30.

Stock dock clocks can't handle 60 FPS stable with default settings, so I made two variants:
HQ which needs for maintaining stable 60 FPS
Code:
handheld_charging_official_cpu=1224
handheld_charging_official_gpu=921
handheld_charging_official_mem=1600
and MQ which drops resolution by 11% and needs
Code:
handheld_charging_cpu=1224
handheld_charging_gpu=768
handheld_charging_mem=1600

If someone wants, I can upload LQ, which can be handled by 460MHz GPU clock, but resolution will drop to half.
Both can be used in docked, but they have worse performance.

It's compatible with all versions, but it overwrites many settings used by game, so if optimization update will came, then I need to check if they changed some settings to update 60 FPS mod for better utilizing optimizations.

Two configs were changed:

BloodstainedRotN\Config\Switch\SwitchEngine.ini
From
Code:
[SystemSettings]
t.UnacceptableFrameTimeThreshold=33.5
t.TargetFrameTimeThreshold=30
to
Code:
[SystemSettings]
t.UnacceptableFrameTimeThreshold=8.3
t.TargetFrameTimeThreshold=13

BloodstainedRotN\Config\DefaultDeviceProfiles.ini
From
Code:
[Switch DeviceProfile]
+CVars=nvn.SyncInterval=2
to
Code:
[Switch DeviceProfile]
+CVars=nvn.SyncInterval=1

it was not thoroughly tested, so I can't say for sure that 60 FPS is still stable in further levels.
 

Attachments

  • BloodstainedRotN60FPS-HQ.zip
    12.1 KB · Views: 1,235
  • BloodstainedRotN60FPS-MQ.zip
    12.1 KB · Views: 837
Last edited by masagrator,

Paulsar99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
1,076
Trophies
0
XP
2,035
Country
Togo
It’s me or playing at 60fps minimizes the input lag effect?
Well yeah more fps means more responsive controls. I remember even the bats in bloodstained giving me trouble at the switch version while I just dance around the stronger and faster hostiles in the steam version at 60 fps.
 

tsamo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
435
Country
Greece
Thanks for the great work masagrator!! I'll try this when i go home, but it would be amazing if there was a LQ version for handheld usage without charger.
 

FforFake

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
67
XP
23
Country
Bangladesh
For me, the performance is rough.

Without using sys-clk I will get 30fps.

When using it, with everything turned up to the max in docked mode I will get 60fps roughly half the time. Starting a new game it drops to 30fps when the monster breaks through the wall, also attacking and switching rooms.

Can someone else test and let me know if the performance is the same?
 

udo4ever

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
126
Trophies
0
XP
573
Country
Canada
not sure where you put the files? are we supposed to simply add the code listed above to the the confi.ini file on sys-clk? When I download the zip files it seems to have folders that I must put on my sd card...
 

FforFake

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
67
XP
23
Country
Bangladesh
Forgive me for being clueless. Where do we place the folder tho exactly? Say for an SX User.

You need to use sys-clk, which does not work with SX.

So try to use MQ. Perhaps Bloodstained is using additional graphics settings for Docked.

I gave MQ a bash, much, much improved, still an odd slowdown here and there but seems to be 60fps for 90% of the game, atleast at the early part.

Due to this, wouldn't recommend HQ if you plan to switch between docked and handled.

not sure where you put the files? are we supposed to simply add the code listed above to the the confi.ini file on sys-clk? When I download the zip files it seems to have folders that I must put on my sd card...

There is a homebrew application you can use to select an installed app and set the overclocking for sys-clk, you can use that to configure the .ini file. Search the sys-clk thread to find it.

The other file is used for layeredfs, just place in the folder named 'title' on your SDcard, usually the following folder:

atmosphere/titles/
 
Last edited by FforFake,
  • Like
Reactions: SG911

JonJaded

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
570
Trophies
0
XP
1,977
Country
United States
Hey there, I really like all the patches that you're making, honestly good stuff. Do you have a place for people to request patches?

I personally would really want one for Kirby Star Allies.
 

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
5,246
Trophies
2
XP
9,439
Country
Poland
Hey there, I really like all the patches that you're making, honestly good stuff. Do you have a place for people to request patches?

I personally would really want one for Kirby Star Allies.
Only if game will catch my attention, you can request here

https://github.com/masagrator/NXGra...ls=Game&template=game-patch-request.md&title=
But I know a guy who was trying to get 60 FPS in Kirby and didn't work, so there is a really small chance I will get it to work atm.
 

JonJaded

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
570
Trophies
0
XP
1,977
Country
United States

Clydefrosch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
5,928
Trophies
1
XP
4,282
Country
Germany
I would probably want a LQ version too, if it's not too much work.

Also asking where this needs to be put. is it atmosphere/titles or something?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Sorry to hear that