Shin Megami Tensei V 60 FPS & Graphics Mods

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
6,394
Trophies
3
XP
12,272
Country
Poland
To start topic, I'm sharing here some basic graphics mods. As a bonus all of romfs mods are enabling keyboard support that is functional, but has hardcoded keys in DefaultInput.ini. Was trying to check if I can this way get into DebugMenu which apparently has all assets left, but no luck.

60 FPS30 FPS Dynamic Resolution FixDisabling Dynamic Resolution


  1. It's changing FPS target to 60 with Dynamic Resolution tweaks (cutscenes are still 30 FPS locked):
    https://gbatemp.net/attachments/60fpsv2-1-0-1-zip.285239
    Just put folder "010063B012DC6000" to "atmosphere\contents"

    It was tested only on USA version. Should work with any update.
    If you don't have USA version, you must rename folder "010063B012DC6000" to:
    EUR: 0100B870126CE000
    JP: 01006BD0095F4000
    Asia: 010038D0133C2000

  2. It's fixing dynamic resolution for 30 FPS since devs decided to prefer resolution over framerate stability. Now dynamic resolution target instead of 40 ms is 33.3 ms which should give you now more locked 30 FPS at the expense of lower resolution:
    https://gbatemp.net/attachments/dynresfix-1-0-1-zip.284453

    Just put folder "010063B012DC6000" to "atmosphere\contents"

    It was tested only on USA version. Should work with any update.
    If you don't have USA version, you must rename folder "010063B012DC6000" to:
    EUR: 0100B870126CE000
    JP: 01006BD0095F4000
    Asia: 010038D0133C2000

  3. Because I couldn't find a way to disable Dynamic Resolution in configs, I have decided to make a package that can create automatically exefs patch from provided main. So it should be compatible with any release and version of this game now and in future. It's compatible with 60 FPS mod. If you want, you can share in this thread exefs patch made by yourself (pack exefs_patches folder created by package, including exefs_patches folder). Remember to attach info about titleid and game version in post (check Spoiler at the end of tab to see if anybody made already a patch for your version)
    https://gbatemp.net/attachments/dynreslockpack-zip.285226

    Requirements: Windows and Python 3 installed (added to PATH)

    1. Extract DynResLockPack.zip
    2. Extract "main" from exefs of your game's installed update (You can use nxdumptool for that) and put it to folder where you extracted files from DynResLockPack.zip
    3. Execute "Run.cmd"
    4. Copy "exefs_patches" folder to "atmosphere" folder on your sdcard. Merge folders if necessary.
    5. Run game

    Package uses hactool. Source code here:
    https://github.com/SciresM/hactool


---

Note: Default resolutions used in game:
Docked mode resolution: 1056x594-1536x864
Handheld resolution: 768x432-1280x720
 

Attachments

  • DynResFix-1.0.1.zip
    12.1 KB · Views: 587
  • DynResLockPack.zip
    415.9 KB · Views: 276
  • 60FPSv2-1.0.1.zip
    12.9 KB · Views: 200
Last edited by masagrator,

Bahlskra

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 14, 2019
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
464
Country
France
Yeah I've read that, but I didn't know if Atmosphere would recognize the mod by himself or if I needed something else. Thanks
 

PhiZero

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
122
Trophies
1
Age
33
XP
527
Country
Netherlands
Is there anything special you're doing to create the paks? I've used your other guide to create some new pak files, but for some reason it keeps crashing my game. I've checked the structures with UnrealPak's -List option, and it's the same. No clue what I should be doing differently. For reference, I am packing with version 8.23.

I've attached the mods to this post:
_working.pak is from another mod.
_notworking.pak is the one I created.
 

Attachments

  • mods.zip
    9.9 KB · Views: 199

.Darky

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2008
Messages
1,320
Trophies
1
XP
1,026
Country
Peru
Thanks a lot for this! I was expecting the resolution would change drastically while playing on docked mode with the 60 fps mod, but it's not really that noticeable in my opinion. It does look kinda bad when playing undocked, but I don't plan in doing so. Thanks as always, @masagrator.
 

masagrator

The patches guy
OP
Developer
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
6,394
Trophies
3
XP
12,272
Country
Poland
Is there anything special you're doing to create the paks? I've used your other guide to create some new pak files, but for some reason it keeps crashing my game. I've checked the structures with UnrealPak's -List option, and it's the same. No clue what I should be doing differently. For reference, I am packing with version 8.23.

I've attached the mods to this post:
_working.pak is from another mod.
_notworking.pak is the one I created.
They are identical. So probably issue is with your naming scheme. I have explained in tutorial how should you name them.
 

JohnMayor

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 4, 2020
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
124
XP
251
Country
Denmark
To start topic, I'm sharing here some basic graphics mods. As a bonus all of them are enabling keyboard support that is functional, but has hardcoded keys in DefaultInput.ini. Was trying to check if I can this way get into DebugMenu which apparently has all assets left, but no luck.

First one is changing FPS target to 60 with Dynamic Resolution tweaks (cutscenes are still 30 FPS locked):
https://gbatemp.net/attachments/60fps-1-0-1-zip.284448

Second is fixing dynamic resolution for 30 FPS since devs decided to prefer resolution over framerate stability. Now dynamic resolution target instead of 40 ms is 33.3 ms which should give you now more locked 30 FPS at the expense of lower resolution:
https://gbatemp.net/attachments/dynresfix-1-0-1-zip.284453

Just put folder "010063B012DC6000" to "atmosphere\contents"

It was tested only on USA version.
If you don't have USA version, you must rename folder "010063B012DC6000" to:
EUR: 0100B870126CE000
JP: 01006BD0095F4000
Asia: 010038D0133C2000

Resolutions used in games (mods uploaded by me are not changing them):
Docked mode resolution: 1056x594-1536x864
Handheld resolution: 768x432-1280x720
Thank you so much kind sir.. Superb as usual
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He's drawing a line in the sand
  • Veho @ Veho:
    That makes it harder to snort.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't he do a line on the table?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Are you against or for
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Coke? I'm all for it.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Weird song. "Yeah use whatever pronoun you want but women are still bitches and whores. Also, midgets funny."
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Psi will love that song
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Not gonna get psycho anal about his state of mind because I don't give a fuck.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But like come up with some new material, you did this in the 90s.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He claims it's a concept album but I don't really get how it all lined up just what you'd expect
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Maybe it's just that, death of Slim Shady, birth of the new adult mature Marshall Mathers Whatever. Very concept, much
    meta.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah the media stand point we miss his old material but shit on new songs so much it was just pretty mid
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Few good singles kamikaze was still better imo
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    He will wind up like Ice Cube selling depends and rolaids lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    "I wear depends because my bladder leaks sending me off the deep end!!!"
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Better than ending up like Kid Rock who should be called Senile Grampa Cuntry now.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "I'm still edgy!" Yeah yeah, time for your prune juice and pills.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kid rock ft jelly roll I'm not old!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My dentures are fake my joints ache my feet are cold I'm not old! Lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Hold my budweiser
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Nursing home nursery rhyme, Eminem is running out of time!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's hard to rap when your dentures flap, make sure you use poly grip and don't confuse your preparation H with the gel that grips!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Owe my hip
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This is why Eminem got clean and shady didn't
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He said mean awful things to me I need a new record
    +1
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: He said mean awful things to me I need a new record +1