At which step am I prompted to delete data?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by raylgo, Sep 5, 2016.

  1. raylgo
    OP

    raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    168
    6
    Sep 9, 2007
    So that I won't make the same mistake twice... I'll just ask ahead. I waited for a week and purchased legends of exidia again to do the dsiware downgrade. I deleted the source systems data before so now I'm going slow. I noticed the dsiware moving prompt but at which point does it ask to delete the source systems data? After the transfer or before? Can it be skipped?

    I didn't notice a prompt that could be skipped yet and I was able to go all the way to the wifi transferring screen at 50% before an error occurred and everything went back to the way it was...

    After that, I was planning a pc transfer instead to make it faster. Are the steps the same? Will the delete source data prompt still be there?

    I'm sorry this sounds stupid but I wasn't able to notice the prompt before which screwed up the process. Ended up with an n3ds with nothing on it (the transfer process says legends of exidia is on it but I don't see it on the menu) . I wasn't sure which step I missed so I'm asking what it looks like. Or if I will even see it with a pc transfer?
     
  2. Davidosky99

    Davidosky99 Eevee :3

    Banned
    2,582
    1,570
    Jun 7, 2015
    Porto
    Just copy your #1 3DS "Nintendo 3ds" folder to your computer and delete it from the #1 3DS sd card.
    then re-inject the legends of exidia save into dsiware following the instructions in the guide(with FBI)
    Then, do a DSIWare tranfer, NOT DELETING anything from either systems(deny the prompts) and allow to transfer DSIWare.
    If you follow this correctly you'll suceed.
    Better said, just follow the intructions here ;)
     
  3. raylgo
    OP

    raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    168
    6
    Sep 9, 2007
    Yeah I'm staring at the guide the whole time but I was unable to see a point where I can say no at the prompts before the transfer...

    Every prompt says cancel or back which brings me to the previous screen. I was wondering if I missed it or if I haven't seen it yet. Does it ask at the end of everything? Or at the start...

    And is the dsiware transfer a separate process from the system transfer? 0_o
     
  4. trinhno

    trinhno GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    38
    Aug 5, 2015
    Senegal
    In my experience, there is no prompt for deleting the target system. It will just do. To transfer the DSiWare, you'll need to remove the card from the source system and put it into the target system before it restarts, then it'll ask you to transfer back the DSiWare.
     
  5. raylgo
    OP

    raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    168
    6
    Sep 9, 2007
    Seriously? 0_o good thing the connection keeps crapping put and stopping the transfer. Would a pc transfer be easier to not screw up?
     
  6. trinhno

    trinhno GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    38
    Aug 5, 2015
    Senegal
    Actually you only need the card from source system until it finishes transferring the DSiWare over. Can't see how that is more difficult than restoring the old system, extract the DSiWare, put on the #2 system and copy it in, coz the 2 processes is the same and one is automated by the 3ds.
     
  7. raylgo
    OP

    raylgo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    168
    6
    Sep 9, 2007
    I'm currently reading the steps linked by plailect here http://en-americas-support.nintendo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/227/


    And I think it's at step 20 (after the transfer) that plailect means when he says don't erase the data but I really can't be sure...

    I don't get the system transfer process and I already screwed up once. So I'm hesitant to be all gung-ho about it without the proper steps...