Assassins Creed 3 specs revealed

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Satangel, Sep 26, 2012.

Sep 26, 2012
  1. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Supported OS: Windows Vista (SP2) / Windows 7 (SP1) / Windows 8
    Processor: 2.66 GHz Intel Core2 Duo E6700 or 3.00 GHz AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ or better recommended
    RAM: 2 GB (4 GB recommended)
    Video Card: 512 MB DirectX 9.0c-compliant with Shader Model 4.0 or higher (see supported list)*
    Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c-compliant (5.1 surround sound recommended)
    DVD-ROM: Dual-layer drive
    Hard Drive Space: 17 GB
    Peripherals Supported: Windows-compatible keyboard, mouse, optional controller (Xbox 360 Controller for Windows recommended)
    Multiplayer: 256 kbps or faster broadband connection
    Supported Video Cards at Time of Release:
    AMD Radeon HD 3870 / 4000 / 5000 / 6000 / 7000 series or better
    NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT / 9 / 100 / 200 / 300 / 400 / 500 / 600 series or better


    So I have a Nvidia Geforce 8800GTS 512MB. Will that card work at launch with this fantastic game?
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,705
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 8 series did DX10 which I believe had VS 4.0 as a requirement to call itself DX10 compatible so theoretically yes (also the 8800GTS is better than the 8600GT in most regards), how well it works is a different matter; PC ports of AC have historically not been that well optimised.

    I am curious that they are listing DX9 hardware but not listing XP as a compatible OS though.
     
  3. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    "Supported" in this sense may only/also mean "what the Ubisoft tech support can hold your hand to get working because that's all they've officially tested". The slightly better than bottom-rung variants (as FAST6191 described yours is), and the mobile versions of these graphics device series should work fine but there's the small possibility of driver issues at launch which ATI or nVidia may rectify due to the popularity of the game.

    It's a lot easier to run a tech support department if the official line of support is limited instead of comprehensive.
     
  4. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    "Processor: 2.66 GHz Intel Core2 Duo E6700"
    Sadly that's 0.86 GHz faster than the Core 2 Duo in my laptop right now. :/
     
  5. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    TehSkull, I have an ATI Radeon 4670 1 GB DDR3 and the game has been running at 1080p with excellent speed. I don't think it will be a problem for you at at least 720p.
    Also processor... according to experience, it speeds up load times but the game, I have not seen it affect it much. GPU affects almost 70% of the game.

    Proof: The Witcher 2 - FPS at 1080p
    Laptop - 1 GB DDR3 with Core 2 Duo 2.4 Ghz (note the windows experience for the cpu is 6.0) = around 30 - 40
    Desktop - 1 GB DDR5 with Core 2 Duo 2.8 Ghz (note that the windows experience rating for this is 4.6 and all emus run slow) = 50+

    so I believe if you have a decent core 2 duo processor, you don't need that much.
    I just hope I can play 1080p at 40+ fps on the laptop since ubisoft's other game I Am Alive was not playing so well on 1080p (30 fps or lower). Same goes for sleeping dogs.

    correct me if I am deciphering wrongly

    I just noticed the hard disk requirement is 17GB. That's the highest I have ever seen. Even arkham asylum was not that much (but it was repack). I hope the repack is truly a repack and not too much.

    One of the most anticipated games ever!
     
  6. Gahars

    Member Gahars Bakayaro Banzai

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10,254
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't seem like there's anything revolutionary here. Considering the time period of the game, that's a bit disappointing.
     
  7. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    MW3 and even GTA IV were that massive too, I think Max Payne 3 was even above 20 GB? The download alone was that much IIRC.
    Was kind of to be expected it wouldn't be that much higher than the AC2/Brotherhood/revelations games, also it's still for the current gen of consoles.
    Nice pun vs the revolution of course, I feel ya
     
  8. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Arkham City goes from anything between running smoothly on low to running like shit. And it takes GameBooster to even get that much.
     
  9. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    I do remember having mafia 2 on 8500 GT. It was really slow.
    You may need to upgrade is what I feel so since if I am not mistaken, 8800 is DDR2 which means almost like nothing these days. If a ddr3 1 gb cannot do so well, then what about others.

    Then again, if you really wanna play this on pc, I suggest setting some money aside for a new card.

    WAIT!! Its actually DDR3. I don't understand then why it has gotten so slow. It shouldn't actually. You should be able to play at 720p at least. Hope for the best bro!

    You can see the comparison here. I like to rate the card based on FLOPS
    http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=475&card2=579
     
  10. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Sweet, my piece of crap PC can still run it. Then again, not that surprised considering it could run Arkham City like a champ: Glad to see my nvidia 450GTS is still reliable.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well the 4xx series is only about two years old (the 450 model launches last September) and it's mid-range for the series, so it's not surprising it'll be supported by new games for a while.

    I've got an HD 5770 in my rig and no plans on replacing it for a while, I already have enough older games to play.
     
  12. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool, so hopefully an 8800GTX will run this? It ran on max settings with brotherhood but was a bit slow with revelations for some reason (not that I played revelations much anyway, found it quite boring).
     
  13. pyromaniac123

    Member pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,000
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    *Not sure if pun or being serious...
     
  14. Gahars

    Member Gahars Bakayaro Banzai

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10,254
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    With my posts, it's often best to err on the side of pun.
     
    2 people like this.

Share This Page