Anyone had any issues with different makes of micro SD cards?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by gaiseric, Oct 13, 2010.

  1. gaiseric
    OP

    Newcomer gaiseric Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I have an 8gb PNY microSD running AKAIO 1.7.1 and everything works as expected. I've tested FF: The 4 heroes of Light and everything is great. I got a new Acekard 2i for a family member and it came with a Kingston 2gb microSD. I put AKAIO 1.7.1 and did the 1.4 update so that it will work a DSi. That all went fine but now nothing will load, I get the loading screen and then both screens go white and stay that way. If a game does load I'm getting screens saying that "saved data can not be removed" or variants of that. To isolate the porbblem I put my 8gb microSD card into the new AK 2i, and everything works the same as it does in my AK 2i. This leads me to believe it has something with this 2gb card, so I tried a 16gb Sandisk card and it's having the same problems as the 2gb.

    Has anyone else had issues like this? I've followed all of the steps verbatim on the wikis and various guides available here. I've formatted the cards with the panasonic formatter and windows, not getting any different results.
     
  2. gaiseric
    OP

    Newcomer gaiseric Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    OK disregard, I just tried again by formatting with FAT32 instead of FAT and everything seems to be working just fine. I was told that SDHC is what needed FAT32 and regular SD it was best to use FAT. So some games are working now, but I just tried to add more and now the recently added ones aren't working.
     
  3. gaiseric
    OP

    Newcomer gaiseric Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    It seems that after a format the first 3 things added, whether they be ROMS, or HB, work, everything after that shows up but white screens.
     
  4. Ethevion

    Member Ethevion Wannabe Artist

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,779
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know much about this stuff, but I'm pretty sure it isn't the SD card. I use a 4GB Kingston for my Acekard 2i on my DS Lite and it works fine.
     
  5. gaiseric
    OP

    Newcomer gaiseric Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    the only reason I'm leaning in that direction though is the fact that when I use my PNY 8gb in either of the AK's I have no problems.
     
  6. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Format with the SD Formatter found here; it formats much better than any other formatter and will automatically choose the best optimized format for your card.
     
  7. gaiseric
    OP

    Newcomer gaiseric Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried that and now none of the roms or HB I throw onto the card are showing up in the AKAIO menu. I'm gonna make a run to fry's or best buy and pick up a couple other micro sd's and see if this is just a sc card with some bad sectors. thanks for the advice so far though.
     
  8. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  9. gaiseric
    OP

    Newcomer gaiseric Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Well I just got a 4gb Patriot and everything works great. That kingston card has something wrong. All is well.
     
  10. coolness

    Banned coolness PSN: Dutch_DarkLord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Rotterdam Bitches!!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    found something
    sandisk is better than kingston because pokemon white (patched) works only on sandisk on kingston i only get a black screen :S
     

Share This Page