Animal Crossing DS to DS woes

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by Rascal, Sep 5, 2008.

Sep 5, 2008

Animal Crossing DS to DS woes by Rascal at 5:27 AM (1,489 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Rascal
    OP

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    While Animal Crossing by itself works great on my CycloDS, it has problems visiting other villages in DS to DS mode. I'm able to open my gates and let others (with retail carts) visit, but if I visit them, we get a communication error. If I restore the SAV to my retail cart, everything works. I haven't tried visiting a village that is also on a CycloDS cart, but the problem as-is is an annoyance.

    I've posted this in the Bug Reports forum over at Team Cyclops, but I'm curious if other Animal Crossing players have come across this problem.
     
  2. Frog

    Member Frog GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Nuclear pony swamp
    Country:
    Australia
    I've managed to visit another town on cyclo-cyclo and cyclo-r4.
     
  3. Private|Par

    Member Private|Par GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    My sister's Animal Crossing on her Cyclo keeps freezing. She cried when she got Resetti three times in a row. I haven't had this issue, but I can test it for you if you want. Me and my two sisters all have copies of Animal Crossing on our Cyclos, as well as a retail cart.
     
  4. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Are you guys using a clean, untrimmed ROM with cheats disabled?

    Have you ever used Real-Time Save with Animal Crossing (I hear it causes problems)?

    And to the guy with the freezing issue, just format the MicroSD.
     
  5. Rascal
    OP

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Clean & untrimmed. Dumped it myself. CRC confirms v1.1 clean. Don't use RTS or cheats. Clean formatted 8GB Sandisk uSDHC.
     
  6. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    I've got no problem with the euro version trimmed ( tested with both cycloDS & Ace RPG in DS to DS mode )
     
  7. Rascal
    OP

    Member Rascal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    I've done some further testing. The problem doesn't happen if the person that opens their gate and invites others has a v1.1 retail cart. The problem only occurs if they user has a v1.0 retail cart. The odd thing is that a v1.1 retail cart can connect to a v1.0 retail cart, but a v1.1 ROM on a CycloDS cannot maintain a long-lasting connection to a v1.0 retail cart.
     

Share This Page