An idea to get GBA to work on the DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Inuuto, May 26, 2011.

May 26, 2011
  1. Inuuto
    OP

    Member Inuuto Enigmatic

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Undernet
    Country:
    United States
    Would it ever be possible for a homebrew that reads a normal GBA game from slot 2 and erasing the rom on it and then writing a GBA rom to it? (of course there will be restrictions with memory compatibility, but wouldn't it be a nice idea?)
     
  2. Pyrmon

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    ROM means Read-Only Memory. [/thread]
     
  3. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    R.O.M.
    Read Only Memory

    You can't write over rom chips, that's what flash carts are for.
    [​IMG] 'd !
     
  4. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Even if that would work, it still wouldn't be relevant to getting GBA on the DS!

    ...And this probably means you're not aware of ichichfly's GBA emu.
     
  5. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,723
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Why not just buy a Supercard DS Two?
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's called a slot-2 flash cart.
     
  7. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Or more precisely, an EZ-Flash IV.
     
  8. Schlupi

    Member Schlupi Gbatemp's Official Earthbound Maniac™

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,985
    Location:
    Rozen Queen Co, Chicago Branch
    Country:
    United States
    ...

    *sigh*

    Buy a SCDSTWO or a Slot 2 cart, the only one available nowadays is the EZ Flash IV.

    The iSmart MMs GBA emu sucks in comparison, don't touch it. Don't even jokingly consider an EXi DS or whatever it's called.
     
  9. relminator

    Member relminator GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Country:
    Philippines
    Or an EZFlash 3in1. ;*)
     
  10. Discover

    Member Discover GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    Ireland
    Yes, EZFlash 3in1 has worked for me for 2 years. Although it holds one game at a time, it's a powerful little bugger!
     
  11. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    You'd have more luck doing this with a calculator.
     
  12. Dann Woolf

    Member Dann Woolf Deadpan Snarker

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Deventer
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey, you stole my snarky comment!
     
  13. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    IV > 3in1

    I can't possibly find anything that's better on the 3in1.
     

Share This Page