AKAIO 1.2 Game Problems

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by o RedSheLL x, Aug 22, 2008.

Aug 22, 2008

AKAIO 1.2 Game Problems by o RedSheLL x at 2:03 PM (3,576 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. o RedSheLL x
    OP

    Member o RedSheLL x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I just got my RPG 2 days ago from DX and I installed AKAIO 1.2 (btw good job on it) and I tried to put some ROMS including Animal Crossing: Wild World, Mario Kart DS, Metroid Prime: Hunters, Zelda: PH, and New SMB. And on the original firmware (which is awesome too [​IMG].) all the games run perfectly fine, and on AKAIO ONLY Mario Kart and New Super Mario Bros. worked!

    Just wondering why...

    redsheLL
     


  2. Uruha

    Member Uruha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    *gulp* hopefully its just you cause i gave my edge to my cousin and ordered a acekard for myself
     
  3. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,488
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    ita_redshell: using SDHC by chance? AFAIK AIO authors have no SDHC to do anything with...

    All I can say for sure though is that Zelda and NSB both work under AIO with a 2G card and a AK2. You might want to try reformatting your card with that panasonic formatter, or with larger cluster size - or something along those lines. Try not to introduce fragmentation to system files by not directly overwriting them from official to AIO, as well.
     
  4. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Try disabling the Soft-reset,download play and cheat patches.
     
  5. Uruha

    Member Uruha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    awwww are you serious? i want to use AKAIO cause everyone prefers that but i have a SDHC 4GB
     
  6. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, the newest version will work with a SDHC card. The previous version didn't detect certain SDHC cards correctly.

    -Bri
     
  7. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Do as Swip suggested, try disabling all the patches, this can cause problems, but I know for a fact Zelda, Mario Kart and SMB are working on my AK2 with 2GB kingston.
     
  8. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    Are you sure your ROMS arent corrupted?
     
  9. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Also what size are the save files if they are created in akaio, I did some changes to the save system in akaio 1.2 so maybe i somehow broke them for those games?? they should be 512kb
     
  10. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    No, they work fine on the RPG+1.2, I tested them myself. Zelda works with patches+cheats, Metroid PH with soft reset disabled. Animal Crossing can go to hell, I hope it is broken.
     
  11. Swip

    Member Swip GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you trim your roms?
     
  12. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Most of my changes were AK2 oriented so they might not work on the AK2, but will on the RPG
     
  13. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    He said he owns an RPG, so who knows.
     
  14. o RedSheLL x
    OP

    Member o RedSheLL x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, Ill try Swips solution, and thanks for the fast replies! And btw my ROMs are not corrupted, I DLd from like 3 different places and al didnt work, no I did not trim them, and my card is a SanDisk class 2 4GB china. Now Ill go off and TEST!
     
  15. o RedSheLL x
    OP

    Member o RedSheLL x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so Im done testing and the only game that duznt work is Metroid Prime Hunters. And my games say the cant be run off the microSD. Which again is a SanDisk 8GB class 2 China. And btw u can change ur speed of microSD in the orig f/w so Ill just stick with that until AKAIO has a speed modifier [​IMG].


    EDIT: Ill try Metroid without any patches, and DiB! Animal CROSSING PwNzOrZ!
     
  16. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    To change the speed, open the file "sdlist.ini" with the notepad (if you are using Windows) and change the number after the "code" of your memory card (should be the last line).
     
  17. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    i use rpg with akaio 1.2 with 4gb sdhc card, and dont have any problems running any games so far
     
  18. o RedSheLL x
    OP

    Member o RedSheLL x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Country:
    United States
    To change the speed, open the file "sdlist.ini" with the notepad (if you are using Windows) and change the number after the "code" of your memory card (should be the last line).

    Thank you, Ill, still use the original f/w, (I don't the xtra features, but AWESOME WORK Smiths and Normatt *bliss?*)

    Thanks for all the help, tell me anything else u know about this problem if u want
     
  19. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    class 2 sdhc are slow. you should sell it now and buy a class 6.

    -another world
     
  20. deathfisaro

    Member deathfisaro Narcistic Deathfisaro Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Country:
    Canada
    I found AKAIO 1.2 running games better than official AK2 firmware. At least Inazuma 11 saves perfectly every time.
     

Share This Page