Afraid of buying SCDS-1

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by nab, Feb 6, 2008.

Feb 6, 2008

Afraid of buying SCDS-1 by nab at 1:22 PM (3,456 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. nab
    OP

    Newcomer nab Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi,

    I'm looking for a slot-1 device that could ideally read uSDHC cards. I've been eyeing the SCDS recently as the price is pretty good on dealextreme, but I'm afraid of all that talk about the need for a high speed memory card. I'Ve been trying to figure out what it all means but it's not really clear. I actually have a couple of microSD cards that I want to use with this card, but they are not SDHC. Still, I'd like my card to be future-proof, hence the need of SDHC compliance.

    Does it mean that the games takes more time to load?
    Does it mean that some games lag? not work at all?
    If yes, then which ones?
    Is homebrew affected by it?
    How bad is it?
    How do I test the speed of my microSD card?
    If I use patch mode, except for the few games that won't run, will I have any problems with a slow card?


    Those are the most important questions for now. I have right now an SC-Lite card, but I bought a new DS recently and don't wan't to flash it again. Please help! (or please redirect me to where I could get those responses!)

    Thanks
     


  2. warmijwilfaain

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My friend once had a Supercard Slot 1, and he said it was crap.
    I have an M3 DS Simply (same as the R4 DS) so personally I'd recommend that above the Supercard... and it costs less, so...
     
  3. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    If you want future support get the supercard.
     
  4. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    R4 doesn't even have SDHC...

    supercard is pretty good, although i don't know much about SDHC card compatability.

    acekard rpg is my favourite although it's a bit pricey.

    then there's cyclods which is very popular, but also a bit pricey (i havent used it personally but i like the look of it)
     
  5. T!b0

    Newcomer T!b0 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    PARIS
    Country:
    France
    Supercard DS One HC is one of the bests slot-1 solution out there.
    It comes with cool features like cheats etc... and RealTime Save that most other card don't have yet.


    But I can't tell you how it works with slow cards, as I only have a Kingston 4Go Japan... I see you're from Canada so you can get a A-DATA 4GB from Newegg that's kinda cheap (check it often as the prices there change almost everyday).
     
  6. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    i heard the A-DATA 4GB class 6 is a really good SDHC card. Or at least the acekard registers it's speed only a little less than the kingston 1g japan.

    Then again, that's no guarantee it will work a charm with supercard.
     
  7. nab
    OP

    Newcomer nab Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Unfortunately, newegg.com doesn't ship to Canada.

    Anyway that's besides the point. When I will get a microSDHC I will get a fast one. What I was wondering was wether with my current microSD that are not HC I will have any performance issues...
    That's one of the cards I have : http://monoprice.com/products/product.asp?...&seq=1&format=2

    Another one I have is the one from dealextreme : http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1458

    It's a Kingston 1 GB from Japan. I assume this one is fast? How can I check?

    Btw,on dealextreme, the SCDS One costs only 35$, so it's quite probably the least expensive SDHC out there.
     
  8. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda

    I cannot coment on the 'Super Talent???' mem card, but since it's a SD-C02G made in Japan mem card, it should work really well. The Kingston 1GB will function superbly in the SCDS-1 as it does with all flash carts.
     
  9. TeraS

    Member TeraS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    i am planning to buy a SC ONE i was wondering will it work smooth on a sandisk 6gb?

    also i was watching some youtube video and saw that castlevania intro is choppy, are all game intro choppy? does this affect gameplay?
     
  10. JimmyJangles

    Newcomer JimmyJangles Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty much in the same situation. I have a SCLite and a couple of A-Data microSD's (a 2 gig and a 1 gig.) Those are made in Taiwan, but at least for the SCLite they were some of the fastest and most reliable. Still, while they may be fast in the SCLite, I don't know how they will perform in a SCDS1.
     
  11. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Out of the six slot-1 carts I currently have in my possession (R4, DSTT, EDGE, M3DS Real, DS-Xtreme, and SCDS1), the Supercard is definitely the favorite.

    Not sure about SD/HC compatibility, but it works fine with my Japanese Kingstons.
     
  12. nab
    OP

    Newcomer nab Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    what happens when you put a slow memory card in? does the game lag, just like it happened in the past with gba games?
     
  13. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,661
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    No, you could only get issues in speed-requiring games, like Castlevania: PoR (a slow memory does freeze the game sometime) and the intro movie of Castlevania: DoS.
     
  14. juntok_abot

    Member juntok_abot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Indonesia
    just go for it, buy buy..
     
  15. pap

    Newcomer pap Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    I have a SCDS1 together with a 4GB Transcend Class6 (24$) and they're working great together.

    The only problem i got with the SCDS1 is that from 2 cards (from dx with the new 'OS' logo) one had the psram error [​IMG]

    dx takes ~3weeks to ship, but at least i got no problem with replacment
     
  16. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Way to bump a three and a half month old thread, juntok.
     
  17. nab
    OP

    Newcomer nab Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    Well for those of you still wondering I bought it and am now a happy owner of a SCDS-1! [​IMG]
     
  18. I.LIKE.MY.DS

    Newcomer I.LIKE.MY.DS Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm deciding whether to buy cyclods evolution or supercard ds one or the edge card.
    Do they all hav built in cheats?
    Can they all multicard play with other brands of cards? (eg. cyclods trading pokemon in pokemon pearl with pokemon diamond on the supercard)

    Thnx.
     
  19. Enter260

    Newcomer Enter260 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United States
    you have to download the cheats, but all the major flash cards should support cheats.
    and yes, you can trade pokemon with people using different cards without any problems.
     
  20. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I switched from the R4(M3 Simply) to Supercard
    And I like it lots more then the R4 so that statement is wrong
     

Share This Page