Acekard2 and Acekard2i?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Kaze967, Nov 26, 2009.

Nov 26, 2009

Acekard2 and Acekard2i? by Kaze967 at 2:06 PM (1,714 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Kaze967
    OP

    Newcomer Kaze967 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Philippines
    Other than the obvious 2i is the newer version and if the dsi functions were to be cracked, it might have a chance that it'd be just a firmware upgrade or something.
    What's the difference? I mean, the AK2 is still dsi compatible.
     
  2. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    err no
    acekard 2=ds phat and lite(doesnt work on dsi)
    acekard 2i-ds phat, lite and dsi
     
  3. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Basically the the 2i will work on any DS

    The 2 wont work on a DSi
     
  4. Leonidas

    Member Leonidas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    sLOVEnia
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Acekard 2 works on DS and DS Lite, but doesn't work on the DSi. Acekard 2.1 is just a reworked Acekard 2. On the other hand, the Acekard 2i can work on all DS consoles. However on the DSi, it can only run in DS mode, which means camera and SD slot cannot be used, and DSi specific games won't work. HOwever since there is no flashcart that can run in DSi mode, this is not a real disadvantage at the moment, and there are no good games which utilize DSi mode anyway.
     
  5. Kaze967
    OP

    Newcomer Kaze967 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Philippines
    Really? Hmm that's strange. I know of a store that sells Acekard2 in a package with a DSi saying that it's dsi compatible. I looked at the box and it was just Acekard2, not 2.1 or 2i. I haven't actually tested it on an actual dsi but this store is pretty reputable when it comes to good flashcarts, mods, pirated stuff and etc.
     
  6. thephased

    Newcomer thephased Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I just got an AK2i. the box says "Acekard 2" and has a sticker that says "DSi compatible", but on the card itself it says Acekard 2i.

    The card i got was already updated to work with DSi 1.4 firmware.
     
  7. limesherbert

    Member limesherbert GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering the same thing. So if I have a DS Lite then it doesn't matter which one I get?
     
  8. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
  9. Makoto03

    Member Makoto03 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    thats good. I just got the Acekard 2 today and i was starting to get worried that i should have gotten Acekard 2i instead. But since it only had DSi compatibility as a difference, i don't care anymore. I never plan to get a DSi.
     
  10. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    besides everything elise said the 2i also has better build quality. plus the slim chance you get a dsi it will work
     

Share This Page