Hacking Acekard suddenly having FAT Error

pke

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Hello. I have an issue with my Acekard and I was wondering if anyone here could help?

Last night I was loading a new game on my mini SD card, and when I put it back in my Acekard it said 'FAT ERROR' on startup. I tried deleting the file and trying again with the same error. Even a different mini SD card gave me the error. Is my Acekard just straight up dead? Or is there any way to possibly try and get it working again? It was a gift to me but I can't remember how long ago it was purchased, or from where, etc. Trying to get that info to see if it's possible to get it replaced. No way I can afford a new one atm.

Anyway, thanks fo any advice or anything.
 

pke

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Sinistral89 said:
Hope it is a microSD not an mini...

oh, you're right! I always get the names mixed up.


QUOTE(Jasper07 @ Nov 25 2009, 09:37 PM) well i don't know the solution to your problem, but an Acekard 2i is only 12$ at DX, so if it turns out to be dead, you can always buy a new one
Well like I said, at the moment I can't afford one, also I never got items last time I used DX, so I'm not wasting money there again.
 

Leonidas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
479
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
sLOVEnia
XP
89
Country
Slovenia
FAT error usually means there is no O/S files (or files missing) on the microSD. Some earlier models of Acekard 2 (the ones with the bump in the middle of the sticker), used to have a hardware defect which caused this kind of error as well.
 

pke

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Leonidas said:
FAT error usually means there is no O/S files (or files missing) on the microSD. Some earlier models of Acekard 2 (the ones with the bump in the middle of the sticker), used to have a hardware defect which caused this kind of error as well.
This is what mine is like actually, it has the bump in the middle. It was working so well until I tried to re-insert the micro sd.
frown.gif



QUOTE(Apk07 @ Nov 27 2009, 01:18 AM) Did you try both FAT and FAT32 when formatting the card?
No, but I will try this. Thanks for the advice
 

deathgazer

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
33
Country
Senegal
probably you're using the first generation acekard (not the ver 2.1).
encountered the same problem as you and my card is useless ever since.

the microsd isn't the problem, it's the acekard 2 itself.
so i got a new acekard 2i from DX and it solved my problem. =)
 

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,579
Trophies
2
Age
47
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,523
Country
Colombia
its hard to help you without more information. does your acekard say 2 or 2.1 on the sticker? if i says 2.1, verify that it is not a clone. format your microSD card using the panasonic formatter, reload the akaio firmware v1.5 and try 1 rom to see if it is working. if you don't want to format then take the msd in/out/in/out a few times to make sure you get a good seat.

the acekard will say "fat error" if the card is not making correct contact with the ds. it will also say it if your msd is not making correct contact with the acekard. finally it will say it if one or more of the system files are corrupt or missing.

after debugging if you can prove that it is not more than 1 yr old you can get a replacement from acekard. e-mail them at [email protected]. they will test you to see what you have done to debug and they will probably require proof that is not a clone and that it is not more than a yr old.

when all that is said and done, you do realize that saying you can't afford a new acekard is hard to believe from any perspective. the thing is $12 with free shipping. you could collect bottles, cut lawns, rake leaves, clean up a garage, or do 2 hours of baby sitting.

-another world
 

pke

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
Another World said:
its hard to help you without more information. does your acekard say 2 or 2.1 on the sticker? if i says 2.1, verify that it is not a clone. format your microSD card using the panasonic formatter, reload the akaio firmware v1.5 and try 1 rom to see if it is working. if you don't want to format then take the msd in/out/in/out a few times to make sure you get a good seat.

the acekard will say "fat error" if the card is not making correct contact with the ds. it will also say it if your msd is not making correct contact with the acekard. finally it will say it if one or more of the system files are corrupt or missing.

after debugging if you can prove that it is not more than 1 yr old you can get a replacement from acekard. e-mail them at [email protected]. they will test you to see what you have done to debug and they will probably require proof that is not a clone and that it is not more than a yr old.

when all that is said and done, you do realize that saying you can't afford a new acekard is hard to believe from any perspective. the thing is $12 with free shipping. you could collect bottles, cut lawns, rake leaves, clean up a garage, or do 2 hours of baby sitting.

-another world

First off why in the world are you guys bugging me about buying a new one. I have already said Its not an option at the moment, stop bugging me.
I lost my job so paying for things that isn't my rent is out of the question, so seriously stop suggesting it. It's really really irritating.
My odd jobs are really just enough to pay for living so, okay, thanks.

Anyway I have emailed acekard, but haven't gotten a reply yet, though that's not surprising because it hasn't been long. Also I'm not too hopeful since it was a gift and I have no proof of purchase or anything. Oh well.

it's Acekard 2, not 2.1.
The reformatting and reloading did not work. I guess the card just died.
Thanks for the help, but I think it might be a lost cause.
 

worlok375

GBAtemp's prince
Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2009
Messages
1,004
Trophies
0
Age
27
Website
Visit site
XP
223
Country
United States
pke said:
Good for you jerk off. I bet mommy pays all your bills though so you have no worries. Stay cool.

Dude he's just trying to help. Oh and flaming someone in your own thread is almost tempting (to flame back) as another worlds sig.
smileipb2.png
 

pke

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
11
Country
United States
I don't really care. I had mentioned that at the moment buying a new one isnt an option, but he insisted on making a big deal over something so dumb. Real life is more important than buying games.
I asked for input, not 'lulzzz get a new 1'.
 

redact

‮҉
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
3,161
Trophies
0
Location
-
XP
674
Country
Mauritania
pke said:
I don't really care. I had mentioned that at the moment buying a new one isnt an option, but he insisted on making a big deal over something so dumb. Real life is more important than buying games.
I asked for input, not 'lulzzz get a new 1'.
if you can't even afford to steal games and the only cash you have is poured towards your rent then why spend your money on frivolous gadgets like a ds in the first place?
either you truly can't spare $12 in which case you should do the responsible thing and sell your useless items in order to buy things you actually need or you are lying and are just too lazy to buy a new ak.
either way, nobody cares. STFU!
 

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,579
Trophies
2
Age
47
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,523
Country
Colombia
pke said:
I don't really care. I had mentioned that at the moment buying a new one isnt an option, but he insisted on making a big deal over something so dumb. Real life is more important than buying games.
I asked for input, not 'lulzzz get a new 1'.

you don't even know me little child. based on your crappy attitude i'm now happy that the fertilizer plant closed in your boondocks backwater world and now you can't afford a $12 flash linker from DX. the first time i type "lulzzz" is the last time i'll type it. your too stuipd to pirate anyways, you would probably have ended up running a bricker.

-another world
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Leave
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm fortunate to have had some managers over the years who I've straight up told to go fuck themselves, and not get in trouble for it. Help that I've been on the receiving end of that as well lmao
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Agreed, you can tell him you quit when you see him in court, (For defecation on property, charges)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    There's a difference in a abusive management rather than one drilling into you for messing up
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Told my last boss that I was resigning and he was confused and asked if I was serious 😭🤣
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My last boss got investigated for racial slurs and guess what happened to him
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I luckily haven't had a boss in over 20 years, (independent contractor) but the people I do work for, it's pretty much like they my bosses, and yea some can be assholes. But there has been many jobs I've walked off and mailed they're checks back to them.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Bosses should yell at workers for mess ups they just need to know the difference in abuse and punishment
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I don't abuse or curse at my employess, I feel like waving the gun around gets the point across just fine.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    A boss is basically a glorified baby sitter
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I respect one's that tells someone what to do clearly, warn them when they mess up and actually put work in with a crew
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    That's how all of my last managers have been in this job and my last one. Last time I had a manager where I was being micromanaged to hell and back was over a decade ago when I worked retail
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    My managers nowadays are perfectly fine assigning me a project and just checking in once every week or two
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I had to micromanage the managers
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    At my last job I (as an individual contributor, not a manager or supervisor or anything) used to be the one to tell my manager when I was traveling for work "hey I'm gonna be out of office between x and y dates, I got something on the other side of the country I'm gonna go work on"
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Which was not the normal dynamic for that role lmao
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Don't get to travel for my current job :(
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Had me started working 10 days in a row with different days off after that I was like no
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    On the bright side, I also don't even have to leave my house for my current job, so... could be worse
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some of the shift workers were so bad it held us up from 10pm to 10am
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    coming to the painful realization backing up my ps2's hdd to swap in a sata ssd, i need a faster more modern way to interface with old ide hard drives than using hdlgmanclient or ftp over network.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    NIC is only 10/100 right?
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    that was fast in they year 2000
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one slimmer Japanese one with just a ethernet port. not sure if one would be faster than the other. i installed a sata adapter thing i got off temu for 3 dollars in the Japanese one thought, was surprised it actually works. but considering i got 18 games to go, gonna be a two day endeavor at this point.
    wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist: i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one...