Hacking Accidentally booting CFW on SYSNAND. Flagged for ban?

oldmanstan

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
68
Country
United States
My switch is setup to autoboot into an emunand. After formatting my sd card for a clean atmosphere install, I rebooted my switch and instead of autobooting into my emunand, it autobooted into my sysnand, with cfw. I immediately shut it off (didn't futz around with HBL or anything).
My WIFI was not on, but I plan to use my sysnand for online games later down the road. Because I booted into the sysnand with cfw, am I "flagged" for a ban when I log into wifi later? Do I need to do a nand restore? My OFW is on 9, but my nand backup is from 8.
Thanks in advance for advice
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,280
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,973
Country
Albania
I'm sorry to hear about this.
I can't be certain and give a definite answer on this. It's not always a guarantee.
But for your switch's safety and credibility and making it eligible for online play, please restore your clean NAND backup. It's much better that way and safer. You can update it back to 9.0 afterwards.
Take care.
 

Dax_Fame

Annoying Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
459
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Mom's house
XP
983
Country
United States
I'm sorry to hear about this.
I can't be certain and give a definite answer on this. It's not always a guarantee.
But for your switch's safety and credibility and making it eligible for online play, please restore your clean NAND backup. It's much better that way and safer. You can update it back to 9.0 afterwards.
Take care.
Whooooa, if he does this to his sysMMC won't it refuse to boot because of the fuse count being off? I don't recommend you do that. Also, if it were to somehow work there would be a SERIOUS log mismatch, which would get you banned anyway.

I have no idea if it's safe but if it makes you feel any better, the poking around I did when I did exactly the same thing seems to indicate it SHOULD be safe, especially if nothing was used and you weren't connected.

Luckily I always make a fresh backup when messing with anything so I just played it safe and restored... but there are some people who just run CFW on sysMMC and haven't been banned
There's no way of knowing and you don't have any choices, really. If you restore your old backup your log mismatch will get you banned *shrugs* who knows.. good luck, whatever you end up doing.
 
Last edited by Dax_Fame,
  • Like
Reactions: oldmanstan

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,384
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,096
Country
Norway
My switch is setup to autoboot into an emunand. After formatting my sd card for a clean atmosphere install, I rebooted my switch and instead of autobooting into my emunand, it autobooted into my sysnand, with cfw. I immediately shut it off (didn't futz around with HBL or anything).
My WIFI was not on, but I plan to use my sysnand for online games later down the road. Because I booted into the sysnand with cfw, am I "flagged" for a ban when I log into wifi later? Do I need to do a nand restore? My OFW is on 9, but my nand backup is from 8.
Thanks in advance for advice
Probably not as long as you didn't do anything else. No logs should have been written anyway thanks to creport. But to avoid this in the future, launch by using Hekate and fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin. Not by launching fusee-primary. Hekate is slightly more intelligent and should error out if it can't find the selected emuNAND instead of booting sysNAND (and also won't just go ahead and boot if it can't find the SD card for some reason, since it has to be able to read the boot configs)
 

Dax_Fame

Annoying Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
459
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Mom's house
XP
983
Country
United States
Probably not as long as you didn't do anything else. No logs should have been written anyway thanks to creport. But to avoid this in the future, launch by using Hekate and fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin. Not by launching fusee-primary. Hekate is slightly more intelligent and should error out if it can't find the selected emuNAND instead of booting sysNAND (and also won't just go ahead and boot if it can't find the SD card for some reason, since it has to be able to read the boot configs)
Yes, I forgot to mention that as well! The most up-to-date Atmos redirects any logs that might've been generated (however low the possibility given you didn't run anything) to a log on your SD*, so you're probably fine.

Trust @The Real Jdbye, he knows his stuff

*Not entirely sure how creport works, as far as the logs it generates
 
Last edited by Dax_Fame,
  • Like
Reactions: oldmanstan

oldmanstan

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
68
Country
United States
Yes, I forgot to mention that as well! The most up-to-date Atmos redirects any logs that might've been generated (however low the possibility given you didn't run anything) to a log on your SD*, so you're probably fine.

Trust @The Real Jdbye, he knows his stuff

*Not entirely sure how creport works, as far as the logs it generates
Brilliant! Feeling a pinch less anxious.

Since a proper nand restore wouldn't help, I'm curious if it's at all worth doing a lil' Factory Reset per the System Settings menu? Would that have (even a small) chance of erasing a (even if unlikely) troubling log before going online? Hoping to maximize my odds.

Thanks so far!
 

Dax_Fame

Annoying Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
459
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Mom's house
XP
983
Country
United States
Brilliant! Feeling a pinch less anxious.

Since a proper nand restore wouldn't help, I'm curious if it's at all worth doing a lil' Factory Reset per the System Settings menu? Would that have (even a small) chance of erasing a (even if unlikely) troubling log before going online? Hoping to maximize my odds.

Thanks so far!
Don't inconvenience yourself with a restore, that apparently doesn't clear the logs. I would just take a deep breath and go for it. I'm thinking you'll be just fine.
Like I said in my first post, there are some crazy people out there just doing whatever on their sysMMC with no ban yet. Maybe they're just lucky but you haven't even done anything other than turned it on.
 

oldmanstan

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
68
Country
United States
Don't inconvenience yourself with a restore, that apparently doesn't clear the logs. I would just take a deep breath and go for it. I'm thinking you'll be just fine.
Like I said in my first post, there are some crazy people out there just doing whatever on their sysMMC with no ban yet. Maybe they're just lucky but you haven't even done anything other than turned it on.
FWIW it would be a very minor inconvenience. No saves on my OFW, and only one game install.

But if it would genuinely have no impact, then i’ll skip it.
 
  • Like
Reactions: andytuinman3

Dax_Fame

Annoying Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
459
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Mom's house
XP
983
Country
United States
FWIW it would be a very minor inconvenience. No saves on my OFW, and only one game install.

But if it would genuinely have no impact, then i’ll skip it.
No impact a all. There are ways but clearing your logs now would only cause a mismatch with the ones Nintendy has on their servers anyway, which has also been identified as a way to get yourself b&.

Check out the banning hub:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/nintendo-switch-banning-hub-warning.508710/

There's a lot of good info in there about people getting banned (and not getting banned) and for what
 

LightBeam

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2018
Messages
618
Trophies
0
XP
1,714
Country
France
I did booted on the sysnand with the CFW one time, by mistake. I had select the wrong boot icon in Hekate. Got connected to the net for a few seconds but I quickly activated airplane mode, verified that I was really on Sysnand or Emunand by checking the atmos and fw version, then just rebooted on emunand. Launched nothing. Still not banned.
So to me, it seems that you guarantee yourself a ban if you install some nsps and stuff, but since you did nothing, I don't think you have something to worry about. At least that's what I did and I'm still not banned.
 

Bruj4h

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 27, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
28
Country
Portugal
How do I know if I booted on sysnand? I created a emummc as partition and press to launch cfw emummc. but then, when I entered i already had there my Nintendo profiles...
This mean i did something wrong right?
Cause I read somewhere that the first time you enter emummc you need to setup the switch like 1st time use.
 

JFizDaWiz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
330
Trophies
0
Website
www.geocities.ws
XP
1,971
Country
United States
How do I know if I booted on sysnand? I created a emummc as partition and press to launch cfw emummc. but then, when I entered i already had there my Nintendo profiles...
This mean i did something wrong right?
Cause I read somewhere that the first time you enter emummc you need to setup the switch like 1st time use.

settings > check to see current firmware version. if running Atmosphere/Kosmos you'll likely see [currrent version] | [atmo ver] | then E or S.

S for sysnand, E for emuMMC
 

Bruj4h

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 27, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
28
Country
Portugal
settings > check to see current firmware version. if running Atmosphere/Kosmos you'll likely see [currrent version] | [atmo ver] | then E or S.

S for sysnand, E for emuMMC
Hmmm ook. Then I am on emuMMC. But I didn't had to setup nothing the first time I logged in emuMMC is it normal? :/
 

Ninja_Carver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
364
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
642
Country
United States
accidentally done this before also, but can confirm am not banned. at the time i was on sysnand i had no software installed, and only a legit game fresh install (diablo 3). Was able to play the game online with friends no problem.
 

LightBeam

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2018
Messages
618
Trophies
0
XP
1,714
Country
France
Hmmm ook. Then I am on emuMMC. But I didn't had to setup nothing the first time I logged in emuMMC is it normal? :/
The emummc is just a copy of your sysnand, so if you already did the setup, it will be when you'll install the mmc. At least when you use Hekate. Didn't had to setup anything either. At first it looked exactly like the sysnand so don't worry about that either.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,384
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
12,096
Country
Norway
I did booted on the sysnand with the CFW one time, by mistake. I had select the wrong boot icon in Hekate. Got connected to the net for a few seconds but I quickly activated airplane mode, verified that I was really on Sysnand or Emunand by checking the atmos and fw version, then just rebooted on emunand. Launched nothing. Still not banned.
So to me, it seems that you guarantee yourself a ban if you install some nsps and stuff, but since you did nothing, I don't think you have something to worry about. At least that's what I did and I'm still not banned.
And that's why you remove the launch entries you aren't using ;)
Hmmm ook. Then I am on emuMMC. But I didn't had to setup nothing the first time I logged in emuMMC is it normal? :/
emuNAND is a complete 1:1 copy of your sysNAND. Anything that was on your sysNAND when you made it will be there.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Portable Steam Deck Dock: NewQ 5-in-1 USB C Dock with TF Card Slot, HDMI 2.0 [email protected] Display...