A wii settings menu replacement app

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Taleweaver, Sep 9, 2011.

Sep 9, 2011
  1. Taleweaver
    OP

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    After reading GartinusPrime's reply here, it occurred to me that this is true: with priiloader being able to forward anything, and plenty of options to run all sorts of channels (postloader, wiiflow, mighty channels), you don't really need the system menu anymore...

    ...except if you want to change some settings. You know...in case you use a different TV or network or something like that. Now I would certainly like it if postloader would add it to its arsenal of awesome options, but I'm also a practical man. I don't see much urgence in adding what another program can already do.

    Hence this question: is there a homebrew dol out there that has a way of changing these same settings as the system menu settings? One that works under sneek/uneek, if possible.


    I've been in the scene for a couple years and have never stumbled upon it, but it doesn't hurt to ask, right? [​IMG]
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Not that I know of, and I've done quite a bit of searching on the subject.
     
  3. IcyVeins

    Newcomer IcyVeins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Germany
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never heard of Waninkoko's app before, so not really sure if it covers all the settings or not, but if not, there is a function in libogc to boot the System Menu directly to the Settings page. It should be pretty straightforward to build a DOL that loads the Settings page of System Menu.

    Of course, I would assume that when you exit Settings, you would be taken to the regular System Menu, but that may not be the case if Priiloader is installed. I don't know if exiting the Settings reloads SM or not. If so, it should load the "Return to:" option in Priiloader.
     
  5. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the system menu doesnt reload itself when you exit the settings. but you can press the home button and tell it to reload itself, which would cause pr*loader to run.
     
  6. jj-kwik

    Member jj-kwik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Canada
  7. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    No offense, but the whole thing seems kinda stupid to me. Why are you so reluctant to access the System Menu?
     
  8. kylster

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    I kind of like the 360 wii menu however I'm not a 360 fan and it would get tiring constantly staring at bordom hm... I think the most interesting part of the 360 is flipping through the menus to figure out where everything is. NO IM SERIOUS............ I think a cool Modern Media Center look might be cool; different tastes, different ways of life.

    So why is it we can completely change to Wii Menu out in sneek/uneek but not on real nand? has this question been asked befor?
     
  9. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can do it on real NAND. No one ever said otherwise. Just usually people wouldn't want to because its safer and easier on *NEEK.
     
  10. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the "settings" part of the wii settings is written entirely with html, javascript, and css. you can change it and make it look like whatever you want.
     
  11. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How are the actual settings changed? Javascript functions?
     
  12. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    they have a javascript plugin they use to link the c code with the html. it provides a class or structure or whatever its called in javascript called wiiSettings. they say "var wii = new wiiSettings();" and then, they can say stuff like "wii.se = 2;" which will play sound effect #2 or "wii.nickname" which will let them read and write the nickname setting for the console. the c and c++ code is actually doing the work, but it does so in response to what the javascript plugin is telling it to do.

    i managed to map most of the structure members and their function and make my own version of the plugin for the PC. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImOj8WovS4w the goal behind this little project was ultimately to be able to rewrite the settings. it just got put on the back burner for now.
     
  13. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering if there was something like this...that could've been useful when I was screwing with the HTML over the summer. I had to repack the SM and use SNEEK. Cool to see this being developed [​IMG]
     
  14. kylster

    Member kylster mich weich töten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Fr33D0M R1N6
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Wii with bootmii/boot2 and I would totally replace my SM if I could LoL; then again post loader is as much of a SM replacement as I need. What we need is a cool PS3 SM replaced for the W!!
     
  15. Taleweaver
    OP

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Oops...sorry, guys. I totally forgot about my own thread. [​IMG]


    @IcyVeins: thanx, but unfortunately, that doesn't work very well on uneek (no wonder, as the thing is quite old [​IMG] ).

    @jj-kwik: I've seen that video before. Not much more on sources, though.

    @JoostinOnline: no offense taken. I just want to minimize the amount of 'clicks' to get somewhere. And having an application to run the system menu settings right next to swiss would help me remember to switch to normal cable settings before running it (instead of running into a black screen because it doesn't support component cables yet).

    @giantpune: wow...I had no idea that the 'settings'-part of the system menu was that (relatively) uncomplicated. If I ever find the time to learn how to code, I already have my first project. [​IMG]

    (I once knew a bit of javascript, c and c++, and HTML is easy to begin with)


    @all: thanx for the responses so far. [​IMG]
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I just finished making what you want(ish). Run this and it swaps your Wii between 480i and 480p, depending on what setting you have. It doesn't do anything else and I don't know what it will do on a PAL Wii.

    I've included a nice shiny icon and a meta.xml file so you can run it in postLoader.

    ProgressiveSwitch
     
  17. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Here is ProgressiveSwitch v1.1.

    [​IMG]
    ProgressiveSwitch

    Changes from v1.0:
    • Almost 50% of the size.
    • Hopefully this will fix the freezing issue when run from an emulated NAND.
    • Faster
    • No longer prompts to continue before exiting.
    • Tiny code cleanup
     
  18. GartimusPrime

    Member GartimusPrime GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Country:
    United States
    crediars "freedom" had some potential and i wish it were continued.....
     

Share This Page