8GB MicroSD -> R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by dare143, Feb 4, 2008.

Feb 4, 2008

8GB MicroSD -> R4 by dare143 at 7:45 AM (5,484 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. dare143
    OP

    Newcomer dare143 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Philippines
    My friend bought a 4 GB Micro SD but we are not able to make it work
    although it is stated on the web that it should on a 32Bit setting or something.
    "4GB=32Gbit"
     
  2. Forsaken Destiny

    Newcomer Forsaken Destiny Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Philippines
    For what I believe, the R4 doesn't support SDHC cards. So, a maximum of 2GB MicroSDs can only be used with the R4 right now.

    For a meanwhile, just use 2GB MicroSDs. Until the R4 team releases a fix for higher capacities, just sit tight and enjoy your games on the R4.
     
  3. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    you can get those supposed 4GB micro sd from china, but i heard they are really slow
     
  4. Talaria

    Member Talaria ...

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    New Zealand
     
  5. roothorick

    Newcomer roothorick Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    You know, I wonder. Could the R4 handle microSDHC cards with the right software (as in, a new firmware update)? Depends on whether the microSD driver is in hardware or software. I'm guessing hardware, but you never know. Let me look up some IC numbers.
     
  6. jhoff80

    Member jhoff80 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Its not actually firmware though, its software that resides on the card. In order to read the software off the card, the R4 has to be able to recognize the card, which for SDHC, it can't do.
     
  7. roothorick

    Newcomer roothorick Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, the ATF01 chip that is the heart of the R4DS is not documented at all, so we'll never know for sure. BUT, I can tell from the way the R4DS behaves that this ATF01 has a bootloader in some kind of nonvolatile memory (burned ROM? EEPROM? Flash memory? who knows) that then initializes the SD card and boots _DS_MENU.DAT, the actual firmware. (PC technicians: sound familiar?) This configuration has a noted advantage, that is one of the R4DS's selling points -- the actual firmware is entirely contained within _DS_MENU.DAT on the microSD card; replacing _DS_MENU.DAT has the net effect of completely replacing the R4DS's firmware, and if anything goes wrong, you can always rewrite the file using an external card reader, put your card in your R4DS, and boot it right up. Thus, firmware upgrading is completely risk-free. However, this has the limitation that if the bootloader can't read the card, then it can't boot the real firmware. And since the bootloader doesn't support SDHC, you need to have a standard microSD card in the R4DS when it boots for much of anything to happen.

    There's several possibilities. The most obvious is replacing the bootloader, by flashing the memory it's stored in. However, this has a big catch: if the flash goes wrong, and the DS is reset before you get a chance to repair the damage, then you just bricked your R4DS. The aforementioned selling point thus goes straight out the window. A safer approach would be to simply flash the updated bootloader onto new R4DS's as they leave the factory, and optionally run a recall on existing units. The latter is the most likely approach Team R4 will take, if they intend to add SDHC support to R4DS at all.

    And then there's the bootstrap approach. In most other platforms that use the BIOS->bootloader->OS bootstrap sequence, once the bootloader has handed over to the OS (in this case, the R4's actual firmware, aka _DS_MENU.DAT), the OS is talking directly to the hardware, and the bootloader completely leaves RAM. At this point, if the OS supports it, you could remove the standard microSD card you booted the R4 with, put in the microSDHC card, and let the OS's SDHC driver boot the card and read it. This has the (probably major) inconvenience of having to constantly switch cards back and forth.

    Obviously, none of this can happen unless and until Team R4 takes the initiative and follows one of these paths. All we can do is wait.
     
  8. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    To tide you over until there is (hopefully) SDHC support on R4 you should get a relatively unexpensive Kingston 1G or 2G from buy.com. They sell for 6.95 and 16.95 respectively.
     
  9. Smwbigboss

    Newcomer Smwbigboss Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering, but is is possible to set up four 32bit partions, on an SD card? Or does that only work for disks?
     
  10. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you can but many devices will just see the first partition since they aren't designed for multiple partitions.
     
  11. lordkieranos

    Newcomer lordkieranos Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    get a supercard [​IMG]

    supports 4gb sdhc and never had any problems, works like a dream, a dream with carmen elektra and kristin kreuk........................................

    ahhhhhhhhhhhhh

    [​IMG]
     
  12. MacGnG

    Member MacGnG GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Know Where
    Country:
    United States
    wow u really shoulda used google before u bought that
     
  13. roothorick

    Newcomer roothorick Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    It works with disks because the disks are designed to be backwards compatible. SDHC cards are *NOT* backwards compatible. It won't work; you can only read SDHC cards in SDHC readers, regardless of how the card is partitioned.
     
  14. cman1783

    Member cman1783 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I just bought two 2GB A-Data's from newegg for less than $13 each. One for my son and one for me. That would be the best solution for an R4.
     

Share This Page