3ds Dev kit for sale on ebay

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by jurulz, Jul 29, 2011.

Jul 29, 2011

3ds Dev kit for sale on ebay by jurulz at 3:00 PM (10,511 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. jurulz
    OP

    Newcomer jurulz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada


  2. nintendoom

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    wow.
    Any idea why it's called Panda Development Model?
     
  3. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    doesnt have the latest SDK installed tho

    on saturday i used one on 0.15.7

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  4. nintendoom

    Member nintendoom Nintendoom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Viridian City
    Country:
    Antarctica
    How'd you own a Dev Kit?!!??!
     
  5. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    wasnt mine

    was Nintendo's one running games that arnt out yet
     
  6. jurulz
    OP

    Newcomer jurulz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it possible to update?
     
  7. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
     
  8. StapleButter

    Member StapleButter 'New Member' registered since 2009. Fuck yea.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    763
    Country:
    France
    This may be useful to the hacking scene if there's a way to extract unencrypted data/code from it. Otherwise, it's just an useless collector item...
     
  9. jurulz
    OP

    Newcomer jurulz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    Is it possible to switch the prod mode to something else?
     
  10. StapleButter

    Member StapleButter 'New Member' registered since 2009. Fuck yea.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    763
    Country:
    France
    I wonder where you got that list. From what I see on the eBay page, there's only a dev 3DS on sale, no additional hardware. And Nintendo doesn't sell dev hardware to random people.
     
  11. jurulz
    OP

    Newcomer jurulz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    FYI: http://www.planet3ds.net/news/nintendo-3ds...-prices-leaked/
     
  12. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,712
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    "Sell" is a really interesting euphemism in this case. The unit is clearly stolen.

    The prices you saw are intended for development teams which want to purchase dev units, not for the ordinary mortal. The DevUnit you saw on E-Bay is a unit that was stolen either from a factory or from a developer.
     
  13. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Or stolen BY a developer or factory worker. Much more likely the latter than the former... If you made only $5 bucks a day, you might be tempted to skim off the top to help feed your family.
     
  14. pistone

    Member pistone GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    in your heart...coz secretly you love me !!!!
    Country:
    Albania
    [​IMG] the bid now is 810$ !!!
     
  15. urisma

    Newcomer urisma Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing to see here. More along. Won't help hacking scene stc, stc. I owned one, got rid of it when because there's absolutely no use if you don't have the flash cart and the SDK (unless these can run completely unencrypted executables, then the SDK would only be useful for making useful[/i programs).

    I am a bit jealous that this is already up to $810, though. Should have held on to mine a bit longer.
     
  16. lismati

    Member lismati Speedrunner in practice

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Yes.
    Country:
    Poland
    I would want to get my hands on that flashcard. Maybe it works on normal 3DS... But I think I wouldn't do much without the SDK.
     
  17. boombox

    Member boombox GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    the World Wide Web
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh my fucking word! That's expensive!
    So this can't hack or make 3DS ROMS playable on the 3DS then?
     
  18. Pippin666

    Member Pippin666 SSF43DE Master

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    NOOOOOOOOOO !!!!!!!!!! It is written "DEVELOPEMENT ONLY".

    Pip'
     
  19. Kaleadoskope

    Newcomer Kaleadoskope Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    Old news, one of these was listen on eBay before, and spomeone made a thread similar to this one, and it was established that it was useless without the card and actual development kit.

    So there.
     
  20. totalnoob617

    Banned totalnoob617 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    785
    Country:
    United States
    there was already one of these on ebay and the same thing as befor it is missing what is in the pic above the ctr flash card 16mb , you NEED that, so the ebay listing saying it is a 'dev kit" is a bit of a misnomer,because a kit implies it comes with something else besides just the dev unit ,like the flashcart, but it dont, its the same as before , just a dev unit , with no flashcard , but funny in the pricelist it says the flashcard is ont 85$, i mean does the flashcard only work in the dev unit? would having one bring us any closer to an actual flashcard? beccause if you had the dev unit ,maybe you could call ninty and try and reorder a flashcard, just call up and say you are on the panda team an give them the SN on the back of the dev unit, unless there is some sort of password for ordering this stuff, which is probably the case
     

Share This Page