Will using StartPatch and Bootmii ruin my Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by the_randomizer, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been reading several tutorials recently about how to make the Wii free of pesky update prompts and region locking. I've been using Gecko OS as a means of bypassing them, but the problem with that is the disc has to load a second time (thus equating to more wear and tear on the DVD drive). Then I see something called StartPatch, which enables one to install hacks that bypass both region locking and system update prompts and load from the Disc Channel instead. The thing that scares me is the possibility of ruining my Wii, but then I saw something called Bootmii, which can be used to either load directly into the System Menu or HBC. My Wii model is from 2006, so I would use the Boot2 method, which is supposed to be safer than doing IOS installation. I already have HBC 1.0.8 installed with System Menu 4.3 (NTSC/U), but what I was wondering about is, when installing Bootmii (in order to make the Wii virtually brick-proof), isn't there a huge risk of bricking the firmware? Wouldn't that be counterproductive?

    So in summary, I want to use Bootmii, make a NAND backup to an SD card and then use StartPatch, so I don't have to keep using Gecko OS. Is there anything I should be worried about? The instructions make perfect sense to me, I just don't want to ruin a Wii before making a NAND backup.

    I've been following these tutorials -

    http://gwht.wikidot.com/bootmii

    http://gwht.wikidot.com/avoid-disc-updates
     


  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, the_randomizer. Let me start off by saying that bootmii is highly recommended, especially since you have the ability to install it as boot2. There is very little risk to your Wii. The only thing I could see going wrong is if your Wii powers off during the installation, and the installation only takes a couple of seconds.

    However, I would advise against using StartPatch. Priiloader is better because it provides even more brick protection and hacks that can easily customized from the Priiloader menu. I recommend you install a patched version of IOS36, download the latest version of Priiloader, open up the meta.xml file, remove the line that says "no_ios_reload," download the latest hacks_hash.ini file, put the file in the priiloader apps folder, and install Priiloader. You can then hold down reset while on your Wii to get into the Priiloader menu and enable the Block Updates hacks.
     
  3. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    Whoa! Thanks for the quick response! Priiloader is safer to use? Okay, I'll stick with that. The same program can also be used to disable region locking? Also, what's up with the "Extra" folder?
     
  4. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
     
  5. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Priiloader is better than StartPatch. There have been cases of Priiloader bricking systems, but as long as you take the "no_ios_reload" out of the meta.xml, it is safe.
     
  6. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I don't even remember what IOS I have installed...hopefully, that won't be an issue.
     
  7. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    As long as you have "no_ios_reload" removed from Priiloader's meta.xml, it is completely safe. The installation of Priiloader will only work then, however, if you patch your IOS36. If you haven't already done so, you can use something like Multi-Mod-Manager or ModMii to do so.
     
  8. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assume I have a patched IOS36 if I installed the HBC, but I'll give MMM a try. Or would it say when opening HBC (bottom of the screen)?
     
  9. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the double post; I hate my connection.
     
  10. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    A patched IOS36 is not necessary for a successful installation of the Homebrew Channel. If you are unsure what you have installed on your Wii, try running sysCheck.
     
  11. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    Makes sense. Then I'll just go ahead, first install BootMii, then Priiloader and I'm good to go!

    Edit 11:55 AM - Woo-hoo! BootMii installed successfully! Now onto Priiloader. I thought since both started up at menu boot, there'd be a conflict. How does bootmii and priiloader not conflict at Wii system bootup?
     
  12. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Won't Priiloader and BootMii conflict with each other? How do you access Priiloader without messing up BootMii? I thought they both started during bootup.
     
  13. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Bootmii is patched to the boot2. Priiloader is patched to the system menu. There is no conflict. If you rename or delete the bootmii folder on your SD card, it is like bootmii is not even there (until you need it).

    After you install Priiloader, you access the Priiloader menu by holding down the reset button after your Wii has been turned on. Hopefully that answered your question.
     
  14. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States

    So, I could configure BootMii to load the System Menu in the .ini file while I press reset to access Priiloader. Okay, I'm not confused anymore.


    EDIT - Crap. Gave me an IOS36 error and didn't install Priiloader. It says I have IOS58, but no 36 patched. CRAP!!!
     
  15. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    loading wii

    boot0 -> boot1 -> boot2(bootmii) -> sys menu (priiloader)
     
  16. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Correct. Bootmii supersedes Priiloader because bootmii is patched to boot2, which loads before the system menu does.
     
  17. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. Priiloader didn't install, told me some IOS36-related error and went back to the HBC menu. I ran SysCheck and say that IOS36 had not been patched but IOS58 had been. Sorry for sounding like a noob. I assume I use MMM to patch IOS36.
     
  18. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,908
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    That is correct.
     
  19. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Ignore me.
     
  20. the_randomizer
    OP

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,323
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    But touching any other IOS would likely result in catastrophic failure, so, I'll do that later when I have more time. *Whew*! I'm glad BootMii installed properly,two final questions (sorry!), while I know BootMii can have the config changed so that it boots immediately to either HBC/Wii System Menu, but if you do that, do you use HBC to get the BootMii menu to load up again (like if I need to restore the NAND)? And with applying the Disc Update/Region Lock patches with Priiloader, will I need to enable these patches every time I load up the Wii? Again, I apologize for pestering you.
     

Share This Page