Hacking Wiilz77

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
Ok,

I have a pretty rare rom here(for MSX2) which I´d like to inject into a VC .wad file but all attempts to get this working beyond the games main menu screen has failed so far
frown.gif
and I did a lot of injections for many systems but this is killing me...

The game is working on windows with an emulator, the sha1 is ok, I´ve checked it with a romdb.

After some research I found out that this game uses a special rom mapper in order to work correct, so my plan is to have a look on the emulator included in the VC .wad(knowing after some hex that the emulator is housed in the 00000001.app) which fails to open with u8 tool as its a lz77 compressed file...

What I want to do is to extract the emulator, add either the rom mapper of the game to it, or a corresponding romdb to get the game to work.

Now I got wiilz77(came with a wadder release) but how do i use this?

I have to say that I am not so handy with bash, so a nice, easy to follow tutorial on how to use wiilz77 would be nice.

Any input on how to use this would be highly appreciated.
Thx
 

damysteryman

I am too busy IRL these days...
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,223
Trophies
1
XP
1,026
Country
Antarctica
Well, for most newer VC titles, the .dol file (the emulator) is compressed as you already know, but not with the normal type of lz77.

If you a Windows user, maybe try wwcxtool to decompress these, which is found in the wwpacker package. That is what I normally use.

I hope it works for you.

I however, do not know anything about MSX rom mappers though...
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
Hey sr_corsario

I have unpacked the 00000001.app and now i have a 00000001.dol and dunno how to edit the files in the dol... oh boy

The config file.... hmmmm

mind dropping me a PM with your suggestions?
 

sr_corsario

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2008
Messages
424
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
1,260
Country
Sorry G0dLoKe, i dint explain properlly xD

I got 2 msx2 games and had a look into "msx2config.bin" (from 00000005.app). Both had diferents values and then i tried changing values using the new injected game. Once using dolphin emulator appear the logo of the game however later the emulator report a error message. It didnt work eader installed on wii

Well ... i didnt had many time for testing but i will try again this week.

And about editing unpacked 1.app... i dont have any idea... sorry
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
sr_corsario said:
Sorry G0dLoKe, i dint explain properlly xD

I got 2 msx2 games and had a look into "msx2config.bin" (from 00000005.app). Both had diferents values and then i tried changing values using the new injected game. Once using dolphin emulator appear the logo of the game however later the emulator report a error message. It didnt work eader installed on wii

Well ... i didnt had many time for testing but i will try again this week.

And about editing unpacked 1.app... i dont have any idea... sorry

Yeah,

i really appreciate your work on this, hopefully we can get this running
smile.gif
 

G0dLiKe

who needs a title ;)
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
1,674
Trophies
0
Website
db.tt
XP
206
Country
United States
Yeah, exactly, therefore I want to edit the emulator in 00000001.app(dol) or compile a new emulator, like bluemsx with only the things needed to run the game.

We will also need the romdb.xml somehow included, this is how the emulator verifies the integrity of the rom´s sha1 value in order to check what mapper is needed(mappers are in the romdb.xml

I assume some kind of romdb must be included in the 00000001.app specified for the corresponding game which is housed in the wad.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan
    The snack that smiles back, Ballsack!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I remember when the Atari 2600 was new and exciting lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It could get banned from PSN but you can change your ID I think?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also gonna install twilight menu in my r4 flashcard
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    One thing that just occurred to me.... The sound on the 2600 sucked less back then the harsh sound we hear now is from infinitely better speakers we have now, back when the 2600 was new speakers produced a almost muffled sound, like CRTs made old graphics look slightly better.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder if I could recommend that to some emulation devs that perhaps the sound could use some smoothing out to simulate those old TVs
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think a few of the early systems could benefit from that, at least up to the 8 bit generation, by the 16 bit generation I think TVs had gotten a lot better in almost every way
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i dont have an sd card adapter but I have an usb sd card adapter
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Old people games
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its not the one that comes with the r4
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    doesnt work (my flashcard is from r4isdhc.com)
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    might install ysmenu first
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Try Wood firmware
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    For your R4
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's old but it's the best firmware out for DS stuff
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    it says it only works for the original R4, R4i Gold (r4ids.cn), R4iDSN (r4idsn.com) and Acekard R.P.G.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    nvm it does support mine
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    but why choose it over ysmenu @Psionic Roshambo?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    bc im stupid?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yea ik im stupid
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Just give it a try, but honestly if you have a 3DS you can play DS games without a card just off the internal SD card
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Slightly slower loading but a bit more convenient
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, my fuckin headphones have an out of place speaker
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: guys, my fuckin headphones have an out of place speaker