Hardware Wiikey 1 not reading Original disks

dlxro

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
EDIT: It got fixed, see last post.
For reference to other users who might be experiencing the same problem.
Mods can close this topic, thanks!

Hi there,
I'm not sure if this was supposed to be posted on Wii hacking or Hardware, if it's wrong please move it to the correct section.

I have a wii LUA101041797, system menu 4.2U, Wiikey 1.9s installed, Homebrew channel and all that softmod.

TL;DR version: My wii can't read original or backups wii discs, but it can read gamecube backup and original discs.

I don't know what happened to my wii, but here I go. A week ago I was playing fine my original and backups wii games with system menu 3.4U, then a day I tried to use Twilight Hack, I copied the save file from the SD to the wii. After that I inserted my Original Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess, but I got a disc error, I thought my disc was scratched or something, so I tried other games like Guitar Hero 5, Wii Sports, Need for Speed all of them original, and the wii couldn't read them, I tried my backups and same luck there.

Desperate, I inserted a gamecube game (Tales of Symphonia) and it worked, also I tried a backup gamecube game and it worked too. I thought it was the twilight hack banner bricking my wii or something like that, so I updated to system menu 4.2U and still my original wii discs don't work at all. Then I proceeded to install Homebrew channel, Custom IOS and a loader, but still my Wii can't read original discs.

Now that I tried softmodding and it doesn't read wii discs, I think my Wiikey has a problem or a bad flash. And now I'm requesting help here, so anyone has any idea of how I can fix it.

If you need my NAND or anytitle deleter outputs or anything, I'll be glad to post it here.

Thanks
 

Lazycus

Rotten
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2006
Messages
871
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
169
Country
United States
To summarize:
No Wii discs appear in the disc channel - originals or backups.
Gamecube discs appear in the disc channel and work fine - originals and backups.

How did you upgrade to 4.2? It does sound as if you have messed up an IOS somewhere - probably IOS70. It doesn't sound like a problem with the WiiKey.
 

dlxro

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Correct, I can't play any wii disc originals or backups

Laycus I did upgrade after I discovered that problem, before upgrading I had 3.4U it was working, but after copying Twilight Hack to the wii the games stopped working.

If you have any ideas, please post them.
 

dlxro

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Bump
By the way it helps posting anytitle deleter titles?
If so I'll post them as soon as possible

thanks
 

Vattu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
186
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
Sweden
XP
147
Country
I will do my best to help you.

All I can think of is that you can try the following:

1. remove the twilight princess save file from the wii nand.
2. eject the disc from the dvd drive.
3. turn off the wii.
4. turn on the wii.
5. insert original or backup Wii game.

does it work?
 

dlxro

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
Ok I went to Disc Game titles (and saves) on anytitle deleter and deleted the save files there and still doesn't work.

I followed this guide: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901 and went to ios 36

this what I have in the anytitle deleter, tell me which one is wrong and have to be deleted.

00000001 - System Titles

Code:
000000df (IOS223) : IOS223
000000de (IOS222) : IOS222
000000ca (IOS202) : IOS202
000000fa (IOS250) : IOS250
000000f9 (IOS249) : IOS249
000000fe (IOS254) : IOS254
0000003d (IOS61) : IOS61
0000003c (IOS60) : IOS60
00000039 (IOS57) : IOS57
00000037 (IOS55) : IOS55
00000033 (IOS51) : IOS51
00000026 (IOS38) : IOS38
00000010 (IOS16) : IOS16
00000046 (IOS70) : IOS70
00000038 (IOS56) : IOS56
00000035 (IOS53) : IOS53
0000000a (IOS10) : IOS10
00000032 (IOS50) : IOS50
00000024 (IOS36) : IOS36
0000000e (IOS14) : IOS14
00000025 (IOS37) : IOS37
0000001c (IOS28) : IOS28
00000016 (IOS22) : IOS22
00000023 (IOS35) : IOS35
00000022 (IOS34) : IOS34
00000021 (IOS33) : IOS33
0000001fÂÂ(IOS31) : IOS31
00000015 (IOS21) : IOS21
00000014 (IOS20) : IOS20
00000011 (IOS17) : IOS17
0000001e (IOS30) : IOS30
0000000fÂÂ(IOS15) : IOS15
0000000d (IOS13) : IOS13
0000000c (IOS12) : IOS12
0000000b (IOS11) : IOS11
00000101 (MIOS) : GameCube OS
00000100 (BC) : BC
00000009 (IOS9) : IOS9
00000002 (SYSMENU) : System Menu
00000004 (IOS4) : IOS4

00010000 - Disc Game Titles (and saves)
none

00010001 - Installed Channel Titles

4a4f4449 (JODI) : UNKNOWN

00010002 - System Channel Titles (dunno if is a H or M)

40115941 (HAYA) : UNKNOWN
40414745 (HAGE) : UNKNOWN
40414645 (HAFE) : UNKNOWN
40114641 (HAFA) : UNKNOWN
40114241 (HABA) : UNKNOWN
40114141 (HAAA) : UNKNOWN
40114341 (HACA) : UNKNOWN
40114741 (HAGA) : UNKNOWN

00010004 - Games that use Channels (Channel+Save)
none

00010005 - Downloadable Game Content
None

00010008 - Hidden Channels

44495343 (DISC) : UNKNOWN
40414c4a (HALJ) : UNKNOWN
40414b4a (HAKJ) : UNKNOWN
40414c45 (HALE) : UNKNOWN
40414b45 (HAKE) : UNKNOWN

I was told that I can disable the wiikey by updating with 1.9s and wait till 70%, then turn off the plug. And to recover it to ust insert the conf disc.
It's that true or even recomendable.

Thanks
 

nikeymikey

This is now a Spiderman thread.........
Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
1,500
Trophies
1
XP
2,276
Country
United Kingdom
I wouldnt try that u could blow ur chip completely and maybe do more damage.......


I personally would open the wii and remove the chip, (its not needed nowadays anyway ;-)) and then retry the discs. If that still fails i would follw one of the guides to re-virginize the wii back to unsoftmodded, and try the discs again.

Your originals SHOULD work again after that and if so u r free to re-softmod and insert the chip, if u so desire. If they still dont work it could be a drive problem.
 

dlxro

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 10, 2008
Messages
17
Trophies
0
XP
91
Country
BUMP

I want to thank everyone who helped me with this.

It got fixed, I sent it to repair (53 bucks...) and they say it was the drive gears.

They were worn so they replaced them.

I hope this topic may help other people with this weird problem.

You can close it mods.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Cheapest I found $230 tax/s&h +1