Wii recovery menu oddity...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zektor, May 29, 2009.

May 29, 2009

Wii recovery menu oddity... by zektor at 9:57 PM (1,140 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. zektor
    OP

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    I recently installed startoatch 4.0.3 in v4.0U firmware, and it works great...but I had something odd happen today:

    I was in the homebrew channel booting up various emulators and playing some good old classics. I got done and went to exit the HBC. After exiting, the screen went black and all there was was the "4.0U" down in the right corner. I did tick off to install recovery menu in startpatch, and I am assuming this was it. But, you are supposed to hit Y on a gamecube pad in the 1st port as far as I know? Why would simply exiting the hbc after playing around with some emulators just force me into the recovery screen?

    Needless to say all I had to do was to turn off the Wii and back on, and it booted normally. Anyone else ever have this happen?
     
  2. Ltsykes

    Newcomer Ltsykes Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    There is the same bug on starfall. When I return to the sysmenu, i goes to the recovery menu.
     
  3. zektor
    OP

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    Ehh, the heck with it. I don't own twilight princess (actually, that wouldn't even work in 4.0) nor do I have a mod chip. That recovery menu does me very little good. Removed.

    Thanks for the reply!
     
  4. Ltsykes

    Newcomer Ltsykes Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Brazil
    I have a better idea, install bootmii if you can, is better
     
  5. supermodchips

    Member supermodchips GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    Australia
    I have to agree with this guy but this isn't a debate about how bootmii is better, the guy just would like some help. As it stands, Ltsykes, is right in terms of it being a previous bug but does it happen with anything else apart from the HBC.
     
  6. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It happened to me when I used Starfall as well.

    Also, the recovery menu is useful if you only have BootMii-IOS since there's an autoboot disc for BootMii now.
     
  7. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    also alot of people cant installbootmii boot2 so.
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    But that doesn't have anything to do with an autoboot disc.
     
  9. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    This is weird...that has not happened to me with Starfall, nor has it happened with Startpatch. Am I just lucky?
     

Share This Page