Wii On PC Screen

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Gaz777, Aug 7, 2009.

Aug 7, 2009

Wii On PC Screen by Gaz777 at 6:57 PM (2,768 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. Gaz777
    OP

    Member Gaz777 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Currently I run my wii off of the only tv in the house, which means I can only really use it when other people aren't using it

    In my room i have a 22" TFT Monitor with DVI-D in and VGA in, currently connected to my computer.

    I want to connect my wii to it so i can use it when i want to, the problem is how.

    I can either buy a simple converter or a TV Card for my pc i believe.

    Obviously, for the converter, i'd simply have the wii plug into the converter the into the monitor

    For the TV Card i think i'd have to plug the wii into it then have my computer do the rest, but i don't know much about tv cards.

    What would be the best option? and are there any other options?


    Thanks in advance
     


  2. jsjar

    Member jsjar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you tried the dolphin emulator a few wii games work on there and you won't have to move your wii
     
  3. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TV card is my reccomendation as you can use the screen for PC and Wii at the same time, and record/screenshot the Wii screen.
     
  4. Gaz777
    OP

    Member Gaz777 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats what i expected, would there be any lag by using one though and what's a good make of tv card as i don't have any idea or any recommendations?
     
  5. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt that there is much lag, and I cant reccomend any TV cards as I dont use them myself [​IMG]
     
  6. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Use an Easycap capture card, sometimes tought to setup if you screw over the drivers but 20 dollars and works fine with 640x480 quality.

    I use it for my videos.
     
  7. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Most software will have a delay built in as its made for watching tv, and it constantly recording so you can rewind live video.

    To play with no delay, just get a capture card and use virtualdub to display whats being captured on the card.
    note that the video will only be displayed in 480i. If you want 480p, you're going to have to drop some money on an hd capture card.
     
  8. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, but you really don't need that. VDub is so nice.
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    get something like this no need top spend $ on expensive tv cards

    ebay Item number: 220461714961

    your video card or at least nvidia has an option to turn your moniter into a tv screen.
     
  10. OJClock

    Member OJClock GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    United States
    that does the reverse I'm afraid; puts your pc onto your tv screen

    try out kworld's dvd maker usb 2.0 it's a video recorder that has a live preview function
     
  11. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the Easycap is cheap and you can get your own preview function on the computer, its got its own driver so you can double click in my computer to preview and take snapshots there or go to another program to capture.
     
  12. Ethanx94

    Member Ethanx94 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    In the parallel dimension
    Country:
    United States
    A while back I actually saw a VGA box for the Wii. That would probably give you the best quality. The only complaint I have against a capture card is that you would have to keep your computer constantly on to play the Wii. Now, if both your Wii and computer use VGA then you might need to get a PCI(female) to DVI(male) converter for your computer (which is just a cord). Or you could go the other route and get a PCI to DVI cord for your Wii's VGA box.

    ....Or you could get a capture card.

    BTW as a side note I have EasyCAP (although I don't use it much) and I've read that it needs USB 2.0 to use. My desktop (that I rarely use) has 2.0 but my laptop (that I always use) has 1.0 or 1.1. So make sure you meet the requirements if you want to go that route.
     
  13. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah it does, Easycap is nice though, and most computers have USB 2.0 so I felt I was safe.

    I felt it was better than getting a freaking Dazzle.
     
  14. Gaz777
    OP

    Member Gaz777 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for all the replies.

    I've decided to get an Easycap,even if I decide in the end I don't like it, its not much lost as it is cheap

    thanks again
     
  15. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    If you have troubleshooting with it, PM me. There are a few issues, amke sure you install the driver properly (install it first, then find it on the disc for the windows self update, its kinda weird) and also select your video source properly (IE, NTSC-M is for United States, NTSC-MJ is almsot the equivalent, PAL is for European ......).
     
  16. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    using a tv-capture device or a tv-card results in a loss of quality very often. sometimes wii-games are even unplayable because of a delay between input and output. the best solution after all is a vga-box which directly connects the console to the monitor without the need of a pc.

    there are docents on the marked. from a low price and quality to a high end price range and top notch qual. the best for a reasonable price is the hdbox pro in my eyes. it's a vga-box solution with component-in and d-sub-out, supports 480i up to 1080p and has a pretty good scaler and deinterlacer. best picture quality in this price-range.

    the only downside is the analog output of the box. but rumors say there is successor in the making with dvi/hdmi-output. i personally haven't seen any proof of it, but i would buy one with this additional feature for sure.

    you can find the box here and here. the last link is for european customers. there the box has an other branding. it's called "hd gaming pro" but it's still the same hardware. the company has the distribution rights for europe and i got an email from them where they where demanding this right with legal force if needed.

    if somebody knows a good solution like the hdbox pro with additional dvi/hdmi which he could recommend, i would appreciate a pm or a post with infos here.
     
  17. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    ebay it m8 get the VGA cables on there no bother maybe even a HD cable
     
  18. jeffro

    Newcomer jeffro Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Spijkenisse
    Country:
    Netherlands
    This definitely looks like the best option. I'd probably buy that one. Even though I live in europe I would probably buy http://www.hdboxpro.com/eng/shop.htm the normal one because I don't like pounds lol and they give out the correct power adapter this time.
     
  19. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    i got mine from hongkong as well. took about 2 weeks to get shipped to germany. it came with a switching power supply and wide range input (90-250V) for us-jacks and a german adapter.
     
  20. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    An x2VGA are apparently one of the best standalone boxes, tho they are kinda pricey. You could probably get a cheap small HDTV for the price of one of those.
     

Share This Page