Wii Autoboot Creator

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by Railgun, Jan 30, 2008.

Jan 30, 2008

Wii Autoboot Creator by Railgun at 6:16 PM (2,383 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Railgun
    OP

    Member Railgun ( ' _ ' )

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    GBAtemp City
    Country:
    Germany
    SOURCE
     
  2. Neko

    Member Neko Been a while.

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Location:
    #gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    I wonder if this works without a Modchip ?
    Would be really cool but It's probably only for modchips. [​IMG]
     
  3. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    Holy Shit. This is awesome.

    I regret putting a modchip in my Wii [​IMG]
     
  4. Railgun
    OP

    Member Railgun ( ' _ ' )

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    GBAtemp City
    Country:
    Germany
    no this wont work without modchips, cause u have to burn the iso after patching [​IMG]
     
  5. gov78

    Member gov78 Ha made you Look

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    728
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what does this do exactly allow people with out mod chips to play burned isos on there wii?
     
  6. Prophet

    Member Prophet Resident Black Militant

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United States
    For those who are obviously not understanding what this does;

    From the translated release notes:

    What does it do?
    With this application, you can modify your backups, so that when inserting they will boot directly and you can avoid having to access the disk channel.

    You can also reverse the process, and go back to the manual boot.

    How does it work?
    It is very easy! Select the backup you want to edit, then select the mode boot (Automatic or Manual), and click change.

    What do I need to run it?
    The .NET Framework 2.0 if you have not installed it yet. -- Courtesy of nintendo-scene.com

    To make it perfectly clear, NO this will not boot games on a non modded system. All it does is make a game auto boot, bypassing the wii menu aka channel listings.

    On a side note, I'm not sure what good this is. Maybe for semi-bricked wii's where the menus get buggy.
     
  7. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    Does this bypass any updates that a game may ask for?
     
  8. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There's the original command line version floating around (Eew, .net)
     
  9. Prophet

    Member Prophet Resident Black Militant

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    635
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't tested it so I can't say for sure, but I wouldn't assume that it does. Since the update check and subsequent upgrade seem to initialize after the disc is booted rather then at the Wii menu.
     
  10. WB3000

    Member WB3000 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    United States
    Besides writing up the article for Nintendo-Scene.com, I've had a look at the source code. This only modifies a single character in the iso, changing it either to an '0' or a 'R'. This could be implemented easily in any programming language from what I have seen.

    So no, it does not remove updates, perhaps it bypasses them simply because it boots directly. And it will not allow you to boot without a modchip, though that would be nice. [​IMG]
     
  11. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is the source of the original version, by the way.
     
  12. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    This does not bypass any updates. It's been tested.

    Wish it worked on GC isos.
     
  13. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
  14. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, that would be much better. I don't mind pressing the A-button three times to start a Wii-game (although it is a bit annoying sometimes) it's downright frustrating to search for the Wiimote everytime I want to start a Gamecube-game.

    Well, it won't matter for me either way as I haven't even modded my Wii [​IMG]
     

Share This Page