Hacking Widescreen cheats for DS games on 3DS

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
16,660
Trophies
3
Age
25
XP
21,155
Country
United States
I already did this, my problem is with the cheat codes that doesn't work with any of my games :(
If your ROMs are modified (ex. they're ROM hacks or translations), then that's to be expected.
If they aren't, idk why it wouldn't work, if you're just launching the game.
Try re-following the guide, in case you missed any steps.
 

Coronattus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 22, 2021
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
40
Country
Brazil
If your ROMs are modified (ex. they're ROM hacks or translations), then that's to be expected.
If they aren't, idk why it wouldn't work, if you're just launching the game.
Try re-following the guide, in case you missed any steps.
The widescreen works on my games, what doesn't work is the cheat, as so the games play stretched instead of native 16:10. :(
 
Last edited by Coronattus,

Coronattus

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 22, 2021
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
40
Country
Brazil
Update: I tried using the cheat on my R4 SDHC Gold and it worked, so I copied both usrcheat.dat and the rom to my internal SD but when I tried using both on TWiLight Menu++ it didn't work :/
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
16,660
Trophies
3
Age
25
XP
21,155
Country
United States
The widescreen works on my games, what doesn't work is the cheat, as so the games play stretched instead of native 16:10.
I'm downloading my roms from *rom site* and it isn't working :(
Please don't post links to ROM sites. You should remove the link.
Update: I tried using the cheat on my R4 SDHC Gold and it worked, so I copied both usrcheat.dat and the rom to my internal SD but when I tried using both on TWiLight Menu++ it didn't work :/
Not all cheats work.
For widescreen to work on nds-bootstrap, you need to follow the guide I linked earlier. Try re-doing it, if it's still not working, and make sure you're using clean ROMs as well.
Be sure to check the notes as well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

C2PO

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 22, 2018
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
113
Country
France
Please don't post links to ROM sites. You should remove the link.

Not all cheats work.
For widescreen to work on nds-bootstrap, you need to follow the guide I linked earlier. Try re-doing it, if it's still not working, and make sure you're using clean ROMs as well.
Be sure to check the notes as well.
Hello, I followed the tutorial to the letter, I also applied the Sono patch on the recovered TwlBg (renamed to section0.bin as indicated then recompiled with a .bat provided on one of the topics).

The only difference this brought is that TWiLight Menu++ is Widescreen by default, so all the menu and games all launch in Widescreen (even if I change the individual ratio of a game).

And the codes don't change that.

EDIT:

I think the error comes from me, I saw a little later that it is not necessary to patch the TwlBg.cxi file because it is already integrated into the project (so the basic handling).

As this topic is not up to date, I mixed things up a bit.

I will test the cheat codes using the classic Widescreen installation. Thanking you
 
Last edited by C2PO,

Legitendo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 26, 2022
Messages
9
Trophies
0
XP
101
Country
Netherlands
With TWiLight Menu++, widescreen can be used for games on the SD card, the microSD in certain flashcards that can be accessed directly by TWLMenu++, and retail carts as well.
How do you launch a legitimate Game Card in widescreen mode? If I launch a legitimate Game Card with TWLMenu++ while 16:10 is enabled, it gives error 1. It only seems to work with ROM-dumps on the SD card.

Better yet, is there a way to launch the card without TWLMenu++ so the game can be logged properly by the Activity Log?
 
Last edited by Legitendo,

Pk11

A catgirl with a DSi
Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2019
Messages
1,285
Trophies
1
Age
22
Location
米国
Website
xn--rck9c.xn--tckwe
XP
3,910
Country
United States
How do you launch a legitimate Game Card in widescreen mode? If I launch a legitimate Game Card with TWLMenu++ while 16:10 is enabled, it gives error 1. It only seems to work with ROM-dumps on the SD card.

Better yet, is there a way to do this without TWLMenu++ so the game can be logged properly by the Activity Log?
Huh, it should at least work but without widescreen, weird that you'd get error 1... Afraid I'm not sure why that would happen.

You can use forwarders to run ROMs and have them work in Activity Log, as of recent versions they support widescreen simply hold Y while loading one.
 

pistonfish

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 30, 2021
Messages
84
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
655
Country
Germany
How do you launch a legitimate Game Card in widescreen mode? If I launch a legitimate Game Card with TWLMenu++ while 16:10 is enabled, it gives error 1. It only seems to work with ROM-dumps on the SD card.
I tried that for myself and I can confirm that all you get is error 1
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
16,660
Trophies
3
Age
25
XP
21,155
Country
United States
How do you launch a legitimate Game Card in widescreen mode? If I launch a legitimate Game Card with TWLMenu++ while 16:10 is enabled, it gives error 1. It only seems to work with ROM-dumps on the SD card.
I tried that for myself and I can confirm that all you get is error 1
The error will be fixed in the next version.
 

chief18

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 21, 2021
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
105
Country
Italy
Hello, sorry for my question, but in order to have widescreen working on TWL Menu on 3DS, do I need these cheat codes, or just the Widescreen.cxi together with Y botton on the game and 16:10 option?

Thanks
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
16,660
Trophies
3
Age
25
XP
21,155
Country
United States
Hello, sorry for my question, but in order to have widescreen working on TWL Menu on 3DS, do I need these cheat codes, or just the Widescreen.cxi together with Y botton on the game and 16:10 option?

Thanks
Only the latter is needed. The cheat codes are already bundled, and are automatically activated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: chief18

emcintosh

On the internet, everyone knows I'm a cat
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2016
Messages
463
Trophies
0
XP
2,386
Country
United Kingdom
Only the latter is needed. The cheat codes are already bundled, and are automatically activated.
NB if you are using a ROM hack, the cheat codes may not work, as the new ROM will have a different ID from the original. You would have to edit the cheat database to include a duplicate of the game, showing the ROM hack's ID.
 
  • Like
Reactions: chief18

chief18

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 21, 2021
Messages
33
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
105
Country
Italy
NB if you are using a ROM hack, the cheat codes may not work, as the new ROM will have a different ID from the original. You would have to edit the cheat database to include a duplicate of the game, showing the ROM hack's ID.
Ok i get it even better now.
Thanks
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
3,878
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
7,369
Country
United States
The way that this works, does it apply a widescreen effect to all DS games that only stretches them out, and then once you've applied these cheats, those games with the cheats will then display in proper widescreen and not stretched out?

Like is it global that all DS games now have the stretched widescreen patch applied to them, or does it only apply to the specific games you desire. I want to apply these to a few specific DS games on my 3DS, but many of them that I have do not have such widescreen cheats, so I'd rather play those titles in their native non-stretched display. Is that achievable, or would I have to manually change a setting anytime I go from playing a non widescreen DS game to a widescreen DS game and vice versa?
 

RocketRobz

Stylish TWiLight Hero
Developer
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
16,660
Trophies
3
Age
25
XP
21,155
Country
United States
The way that this works, does it apply a widescreen effect to all DS games that only stretches them out, and then once you've applied these cheats, those games with the cheats will then display in proper widescreen and not stretched out?
Yes.
Like is it global that all DS games now have the stretched widescreen patch applied to them, or does it only apply to the specific games you desire. I want to apply these to a few specific DS games on my 3DS, but many of them that I have do not have such widescreen cheats, so I'd rather play those titles in their native non-stretched display. Is that achievable, or would I have to manually change a setting anytime I go from playing a non widescreen DS game to a widescreen DS game and vice versa?
Only the games with widescreen cheats will be able to display in widescreen.
 

MikaDubbz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2017
Messages
3,878
Trophies
1
Age
36
XP
7,369
Country
United States
Only the games with widescreen cheats will be able to display in widescreen.
So if you don't put cheats in for particular games, those games won't automatically stretch to fill the 3DS display, while you still have proper widescreen applied to other games?
 

Desconocido90

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
880
Country
Could you post the Golden Sun Dark Dawn EUR codes without the swapping screens lines?
I want to use them on a emulator, not a 3DS, and I don't want to remove the touch controls unnecessarily.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh just takes a min to get used to. I think you can upgrade or buy new broomstick also that are better.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I weirdly like inverted controls on all flying type games
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Prob can change it, inverted flying controls.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Only thing that annoys me is trying to find wtf to do in it
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Alright off to the store, later gators.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Some places amaze me were not in network with your insurance would you still like an appointment
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    uhhh, I think I'll just stick with my PSP 3001
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    lol, Now I gotta go to the store for more Coffee Mate n other stuff.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i downloaded final fantasy vii into my tv stick
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i mean, the game was already there but its the japanese version
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and i only downloaded disc 1 so far bc of storage stuff
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    @BigOnYa, yeah the patty on McDs burger is 1/10th of a pound now and I think that's the pre cooked weight lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I use the app for the 20% off coupon and it's still over priced
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @Psionic Roshambo, why is mcdonalds overpriced if their food is bad?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i mean why is mcdonalds food overpriced
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Inflation and greed
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    it's just fries, make 'em at home
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I make potato wedges at home with spices and stuff lol
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I was adding some stuff to my gdevelop project and I couldnt save it cuz there was a power outage and thus no internet
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ have you played super smash flash 2?
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xdqwerty, Not really.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, ok sorry
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @SylverReZ, ok sorry