Hacking Why wont PS2 Classics Placeholder work for me? :,c

Bcrossgba2019

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
78
Country
Canada
Hello friends,

I've been trying to get Naruto Ultimate Ninja 2 working with PS2 Placeholder/ Manager.
I transferred the game to my PS3 external HDD and found it in PS2 Classic Manager and tried to load it and it said I needed to encrypt the game, So I did, However when I try to make the game active and load it I keep getting the same error message that goes something like this; "An unexpected error has occurred, cannot copy files.

So I downloaded PS2 Classic UI application for Windows and tried encrypting it using their tool but that didn't work I still get the same error saying it needs to be encrypted and unexpected error when I do encrypt it. So I made it a .pkg file using this application and installed it onto my PS3 and it showed up under the Games tab of my ps3 but then when I try and run it it says copyright information invalid or something like that. Can someone please help me get this working! I really, really wanna play this game with my friend. Any information that might help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you, Sincerely. Brandon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

CoolMe

Watcher of the Skies
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2019
Messages
4,946
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
The river of constant change..
XP
18,651
Country
United States
FWIW, did you if the game is compatible with the emulation Ps3 of Ps2 games, unless you have an back-compatibility Fat model then you need to figure out you can virtual isos on those systems (not sure if the way Ps2Classics run are related to hardware emulation on those systems).
There's a PS2Classics creator that converts Ps2 isos to pkg files - again i never fiddled with this, i prefer to play on my fat PS2- and i guess you get a rap or rif ticket, in order to launch the game and that's the error you're encountering. You should also dump the act/idps files, you might need them.
 

V800

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
162
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Vigo
XP
397
Country
Spain
I've encountered a similar problem. In general, ps2 pkg files are installed and played just fine. However, I haven't been able to play my ISO.ENC.BIN games using Ps2 Placeholder. I mount them through WebmanMod and it says the game have been correctly mounted. Alas, when I select ps2p I don't see any preview image and upon booting, all I can play is Tetris (if anything at all). I have checked the compatibility list and the games should be OK. BTW I'm on Hen 4.89 in a super slim model.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
36,206
Trophies
3
XP
26,084
Country
United States
I've encountered a similar problem. In general, ps2 pkg files are installed and played just fine. However, I haven't been able to play my ISO.ENC.BIN games using Ps2 Placeholder. I mount them through WebmanMod and it says the game have been correctly mounted. Alas, when I select ps2p I don't see any preview image and upon booting, all I can play is Tetris (if anything at all). I have checked the compatibility list and the games should be OK. BTW I'm on Hen 4.89 in a super slim model.
Tetris is the default game. How are you loading these other games?
 

V800

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2022
Messages
162
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Vigo
XP
397
Country
Spain
dont use the launcher(that one that shows in the app row) just start the enc.bin.iso directly from the internal
How I do that? My ps3 is not retrocompatible and I can't launch iso.enc.bin directly (it's kinda the same with psp: you either need psp minis or psp remaster launcher).
 

rantex92

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2021
Messages
582
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
851
Country
Germany
How I do that? My ps3 is not retrocompatible and I can't launch iso.enc.bin directly (it's kinda the same with psp: you either need psp minis or psp remaster launcher).
oh yeah sorry youre not on cfw

how about ftp in the folder of the classiclauncher there should be a small iso.enc.bin (this is the default tetris) and replace it manually with youre wanted ps2 game iso.enc.bin just keep the name of the tetris iso.enc.bin and you can use the launcher to start it
 
  • Like
Reactions: V800

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
749
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,132
Country
United States
I've encountered a similar problem. In general, ps2 pkg files are installed and played just fine. However, I haven't been able to play my ISO.ENC.BIN games using Ps2 Placeholder. I mount them through WebmanMod and it says the game have been correctly mounted. Alas, when I select ps2p I don't see any preview image and upon booting, all I can play is Tetris (if anything at all). I have checked the compatibility list and the games should be OK. BTW I'm on Hen 4.89 in a super slim model.
Try the rebug ps2 launcher.
 
  • Like
Reactions: V800

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
36,206
Trophies
3
XP
26,084
Country
United States
It might but for iso dump act.dat.
shouldn't be any need for that either. ps2 classics placeholder uses a generic rap file, that's the same for all games, so it's easy to build an unlocking tool. with iso, it's using cobra, so you don't have to unlock anything with the act.dat. all iso usage is thanks to cobra. in fact, hen is built off of cobra, so if the lead dev of cobra hadn't released it open source without its drm, there would be no hen, nor iso booting, or even plugins.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
36,206
Trophies
3
XP
26,084
Country
United States
btw, if you're only getting tetris, you'll have to scour the posts on psx-place. the ps2 classics placeholder stuff that hen uses was created by habib. he explains what to do in this event in some post, but I don't know where it is. it's probably years old.
 
  • Like
Reactions: V800

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
749
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,132
Country
United States
shouldn't be any need for that either. ps2 classics placeholder uses a generic rap file, that's the same for all games, so it's easy to build an unlocking tool. with iso, it's using cobra, so you don't have to unlock anything with the act.dat. all iso usage is thanks to cobra. in fact, hen is built off of cobra, so if the lead dev of cobra hadn't released it open source without its drm, there would be no hen, nor iso booting, or even plugins.
100% needed here for ps2 iso, need acount or fake acount then dump act idps. Then isos load for me.

Let me know what settings to toggle as default this is the case. Would really like not having to make account and activating system as game then dumping act.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Flame @ Flame: NOW!!!!