Hacking Why don't some games don't launch ?

philipvdheyden

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium
Hi all, i'm still a novice on wii, so please bear with me if I ask some stupid questions.

I have hacked my WiiU with the bathaxx exploit, installed the homebrew channel and both WiiFlow and CFG USB loader). I have installed d2x-v10-beta52-vWii in the three required cIOS slots. All tools seem start up just fine.

I have one game on my SD card (New Mario Bros), and this can be played without any problem from both launchers.

For the rest, I have placed a number of games on a HDD (connected with a Y-cable) in a wbfs folder (using WiiBackupManager). From here on, soms trange things appear to happen:

When I launch CFG USB loader, all games on the HDD-card are visible. But only some of them actually launch. Some seem to start up without an error message but then just freeze on a blackscreen. I have tried launching them with the cIOS slot on "auto", and I have tried forcing the slots on 249, 250 and 251. When I use 251, they seem to give an error message that allow me afterwards to return to homebrew manager, but both slots 249 and 250 just show that black screen. The only way to escape is to interrupt power on the WiiU and restart the system.

Games that work are e.g. New Super Mario Bros, Smurfs 2, Just Dance 4. Games that don't start are e.g. Raving Rabbids, Wii Fit, Just Dance 2014.

Another thing that I notice is that when I try to use WiiFlow, not all games on the HDD card are recognised. In fact, only two games are recognised in that case. And none of these actually launch. I have already reinstalled WiiFlow on the SD card, but this didn't make any difference.

One thing I tried so far is to rehack the cIOS slots with d2xv10-beta53-alt-vWii, but this doesn't make a difference either.

I've read in another thread that it is worthwile to try play with other settings per game, but I'm not sure what I can do without risking a brick of the vWii.