why buy a real ds if you can use an emulator

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Vigilante, Nov 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Nov 22, 2010
  1. Vigilante
    OP

    Member Vigilante TempLurker

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,555
    Location:
    CyberSpace IQ:OVER 9000
    Country:
    Philippines
    THATS MY QUESTION ABOVE THOUGH I OWN A REAL DS DID I JUST WASTE MONEY AND SHOULD HAVE JUST USED AN EMULATOR
     


  2. dries

    Newcomer dries Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Do you ALWAYS have your laptop with you to use the emulator with? If you travel by train or bus sometimes?

    Real DS > Emulator if you actually live in real life, if you're a laptop boy at anytime, an emulator would've been better!
     
  3. Phoenix Goddess

    Member Phoenix Goddess The Ninja's Protégée

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,810
    Location:
    Away from civilization.
    Country:
    United States
    Well, why would I want to lay in bed with a laptop burning up my lap when I can just use a DS to play a game?
     
  4. CookiesMilk

    Member CookiesMilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Some games like Pokemon Ranger is based on using the touchscreen to play everytime.

    I wonder if you could play with the "touchscreen" swiftly using the cursor?
     
  5. ShadowSoldier

    Member ShadowSoldier GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,383
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes.

    @OP: Not everybody has a strong enough computer that can run DS games. I don't.
     
  6. Arnold Schwarzen

    Member Arnold Schwarzen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    787
    Country:
    United States
    ruins the concept of portability, derp! I say my money was well spent.
     
  7. Gundam Eclipse

    Member Gundam Eclipse True Demon Route

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,167
    Location:
    Vortex World
    Country:
    India
    Also, some games such as Last Window require multi-touch at times.
    Can't do that on a emulator can you? :|
     
  8. shlong

    Member shlong in memoriam of gravitas

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Charlotte's maze
    Country:
    Italy
    DS does multi-touch :?
     
  9. gamefreak94

    Member gamefreak94 GBAtemps (Un)Official Illogical Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    674
    Location:
    At your window!
    Country:
    United States
    Same question. I didn't know this! You sure? Or do you just have to tap the screen rapidly with two fingers?
     
  10. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lets see, it's way more enjoyable and fun playing on a DS rather then a computer. A DS is handheld, so you can take it anywhere. And well, not everyone has a computer good enough to play a DS emulator at full speed.
     
  11. setya5785

    Member setya5785 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Indonesia
    emu => less than 100% compability, glitchy, not portable, need high end pc/laptop to get full speed
    real DS => actually worth the money [​IMG]

    i'm an emulator user until i buy the real DS [​IMG]
     
  12. Gundam Eclipse

    Member Gundam Eclipse True Demon Route

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,167
    Location:
    Vortex World
    Country:
    India
    There's a part in Last Window where you have to turn off the alarm or something(I think, i myself haven't got to that part yet.), a relative was playing it on a emulator, due to multi-touch i had to transfer the save to my DS and do it there.
    You have to hold the glass panel to one side and use another stylus/your finger to turn off the lever.
    Apparently the multi-touch is programmed into the game itself.
     
  13. Totoy_Kamote

    Member Totoy_Kamote GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    516
    Location:
    Down Under Hate,KillandDESTROY
    Country:
    Philippines
    try playing rockband on an emu... [​IMG]
     
  14. dysan

    Member dysan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Greece
    wow,that's a silly question...suppose everyone used an emulator and noone bought a DS...you wouldn't be expecting 3DS now if you did that.

    and yes

    REAL DS>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>emulator
     
  15. CookiesMilk

    Member CookiesMilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Try to play Pokemon Ranger with S capture rank with an emulator. (Record it as a video and show me.)
     
  16. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why buy a computer when I can just use a virtual machine?

    OH WAIT-
     
  17. shlong

    Member shlong in memoriam of gravitas

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Charlotte's maze
    Country:
    Italy
    [​IMG] dls buys :3
     
  18. Haptic

    Newcomer Haptic Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    lol wat you don't need a high end computer to emulate ds game smoothly on an emulator. My low end comp with an Intel E7300 and NVIDIA 8400gs easily runs games flawlessly in term of smoothness. eg pokemon white
     
  19. 8BitWalugi

    Member 8BitWalugi Taiyohhhhhh!

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,271
    Location:
    Side 7
    Country:
    Australia
    [facepalm]
    The DS can't do multi touch. When you touch two spots on a DS, it records the center point of the two touch points.
    Honestly, I know this. And so does GameFAQs. FREAKING GAMEFAQS!!!

    Therefore, all you need to do is swiftly flick the middle of the two switches. And are you sure it wasn't Dusk? I know you had to turn on a generator in Dusk, I've forgotten Last Window.
     
  20. Nah3DS

    Member Nah3DS Madre de Dios! Es El POLLO DIABLO!!!

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,553
    Country:
    Argentina
    This is my situation:
    I love RPGs!, I would like to play every game of each saga (zelda, pokemon, fire emblem, tales of..., etc).
    My computer can emulate the NDS but doesn’t have enough power to emulate the Wii.

    Since I can’t afford the two consoles (Wii and NDS) I choose the Wii over the DS because I can play DS games on my PC.

    I love the concept of portability, but (for me) the only thing that matters is: the game. I want to play all my favorites games, doesn’t matter how (in bed, tv, pc, outside, travelling, bus, etc).

    In conclusion, I only buy things that cannot be emulated. It’s really hard to be a gamer and don’t have enough money.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page