Which is better: softmod Wii or physical Wii modchip?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Vania, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. Vania
    OP

    Newcomer Vania Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Unknown World
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm planning to get Wii soon, so which is better in playing backups of games, softmod Wii or physical Wii modchip?
     
  2. Crass

    Member Crass Rock me Dr. Zaius

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Oregon
    Country:
    United States
    Softmod with USB, hands-down is the best.
     
  3. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    939
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    This is a matter of opinion, USB loading has the most features if thats what your looking for, and its all softmoddable so free to do, but a modchip allows normal 6x read speeds on burned discs and gamecube combatility far surpasses any softmod atm, and if you get a wode chip you can load gc games from USB, so i think its a matter of opinion
     
  4. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    both are very good but a mix of both is the ultimate
     
  5. Vania
    OP

    Newcomer Vania Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Unknown World
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks for the answers.
    I forgot to ask about the WiiWare games, does both of them (softmod and hardmod) play them perfectly?
     
  6. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    939
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    There are several methods for wiiware launching, lookup triiforce, and sneek, or simply use your wii's nand and or an SD card, hardmod or softmod will make no difference on wiiware
     
  7. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Doesn't matter, if you have the HBC you will be able to play them.
    And the HBC can be installed via hard or softmod.
     
  8. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it can't. Not for a long time. The only option to install the HBC now is a software exploit. And you need at least a patched IOS to install custom or pirated wads. If I was you I would go the softmod route first and if that's just not good enough then look into hardmods. Especially if you're getting a new Wii.
     
  9. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    If you have hardmod (like me) you can install the HBC via a burned iso on DVD.
     
  10. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could with SysMenu
     
  11. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
     

Share This Page