Whats the largest size CF card i can use in my M3

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by ceanth, Dec 21, 2007.

  1. ceanth
    OP

    Newcomer ceanth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a slot 2 M3 adapter and i was wondering whats the largest size CF card i can use on it?
     
  2. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know about M3, but it should be like most CF slot 2 cards. 2GB will work for sure. 4GB might if you set it to use 64k clusters.
     
  3. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    I applaud you for having one of the very few M3 CFs on these boards.
     
  4. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I have one of the very few SC CFs.
     
  5. kellyan95

    Banned kellyan95 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, natrium made an IDE mod that allowed you to hook up HDDs....I would say up to 237GB or something (FAT32 limit?)
     
  6. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    I have one too. And I will put up a warning to anybody using it...be careful inserting and removing the CF card from the M3 CF, as it doesn't fit perfectly snug. Due to this, it's possible to bend and break pins, and if you break a pin inside it and then insert it into your DS....

    POOF. No more DS. You'll short it out. Blown up more than 1 DS this way. ^^;;
     
  7. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    I thought most slot 2 flash carts only do FAT, not FAT32?
     
  8. ceanth
    OP

    Newcomer ceanth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    guys do you get this clicking sound when you close the lid of the DS? When in a game, if i close the lid the ds makes a clicking noise and the power light starts flashing [​IMG]
     
  9. richardv

    Member richardv GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    United States
    Put a real nds cart in slot 1. It will stop the clicking/flashing.
     
  10. Elfish

    Member Elfish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Country:
    Germany
    m3 supports fat32

    at least my m3 perfect lite does
     
  11. Teun

    Member Teun GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Never had a problem with this, although I've had it for a long time now, and still use it.. [​IMG]
     
  12. ceanth
    OP

    Newcomer ceanth Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I managed to pick up a 4gb Sandisk Ultra II CompactFlash card and it works perfectly with the M3.

    Just incase anyone else is thinking if asking the same question as i did.
     

Share This Page