1. emuman99

    OP emuman99 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
  2. kyste

    kyste Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    France
    It accepts all SDHC cards, so theoretically, 32gb. They're damn expensive though.
     
  3. elixirdream

    elixirdream GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Country:
    Malaysia
    many of them have no problem on 16GB and 8GB works well for me [​IMG]
     
  4. sn0wfish

    sn0wfish GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Senegal
    8gb probably the best value for money.. theres no point spending a fortune on 32GB only to see it fall cheaper in probably 1 year...
     
  5. choconado

    choconado Doesn't understand a damn thing on here
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    especially since I cannot fathom how you would even fill up a whole 16G card, let alone 32...
     
  6. grimtooth

    grimtooth GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    kyste is right, 32gb works fine. i run a 8gb and a 16gb and would recommend to spend more money for a quality card.
     
  7. Rising_Dragon

    Rising_Dragon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    United States
    He just asked what is the largest. Apparently cost is no value to OP.

    32gb
     
  8. RiPPn

    RiPPn Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 16GB and I filled it up with about a gig remaining with all ROMs trimmed. This is with mainly RPGs and everything rated over 75 on metacritic. With more stuff coming down the pipe I would say 16GB is the perfect size.
     
  9. emuman99

    OP emuman99 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    And the two best brands are still considered Kingston and Sandisk?
     
  10. popius

    popius Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Is a 4GB card large enough? I'm sort of confused. Why do some games like Pokemon have a version that is 128 mb and another that is like 45mb. is there a difference?
     
  11. 5%

    5% GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Country:
    Oh it can be done. Oh man...having all that space on 1 MicroSD would be FACKING KRAZY INKREDIBLE.

    The thought of upgrading to a 32GB from where I'm at now(Using two 4GB's, and one 2GB which I fixed today)...OH FACKK
     
  12. DeMoN

    DeMoN GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,698
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it should be able to accept all microSDHC cards. However, in the near future SDHC will be replaced by SDXC which will offer much greater storage for cheaper price. I don't think any flash cart will be compatible with SDXC. [​IMG]
     
  13. choconado

    choconado Doesn't understand a damn thing on here
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    well in my defense, you get to a point where you have all these things filling up your card that you just have no time to play.

    I have a 4gb card, and I still have at least 1gb open at any time, especially since I have a backup folder on my pc, where when I'm not really playing the game at the time, I just shift it and its save over, and if I'm gonna change my mind later, I can pull it back from there.
     
  14. obito

    obito I can have a title?! :O
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Country:
    New Zealand

    fixed??


    so you're saying you know how to fix my corrupt 2gb sandisk? Pleasepleaseplease say yes!
     
  15. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    The actual game carts have set sizes.
    16/32/64/128/256/512 megabytes.

    If a game is 15 megabytes, it goes onto a 16 meg cart. It will be 15 megabytes of game space, and 1 megabyte of empty space.
    If it's 17 megabytes, then it has to go onto a 32 meg cart. Then it'll be 17 megs of game space and 15 megs of empty space.
    So on and so forth. A game goes into the smallest cart size it fits in, with the rest being empty space.

    All the empty space "goes away" when it's compressed, so usually a ZIP or RAR of a game will be a lot smaller than the original.

    Some people also "trim" their ROMs, removing all the empty space from the ROMs themselves.
    This can sometimes break games, though, so not everybody does it.
     
  16. Sinistral89

    Sinistral89 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Country:
    I would say that either the rom is trimmed (that's a lot though) or one of the places you download pokemon have compressed the archive a lot more than other places :/
     
  17. 5%

    5% GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Country:
    So that's how it works. Interesting

    [​IMG]
     
  18. RiPPn

    RiPPn Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    I use NDSTokyoTrim v2.18 and have never ran in to a ROM that wont run. I think trimming gets a bad name from trimmers in the past that would break ROMs, but NDSTokyoTrim is not one of those.
     
  19. Saddamsdevil

    Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    Country:
    I just googled that.. and.. holy shit, my brain imploded.

    EDIT: also, I understood that SDHC ports will work with SDXC by means of driver updates.
     
  20. Mozstar

    Mozstar Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    I read somwhere that if you have a 16 or 32 GB card, you cant have a folder with more than 8GB in it, or it sees it as a just a file? so just have everything at the root or in a few folders less than 8gb
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - largest, Acekard, whats