PS1/2 Want to play Japanese games on US Ps2

solange82200

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
362
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Miami, FL
XP
208
Country
United States
I'm confused about the other accessories I may need. I have a PS2 slim, I'm not sure the version of it, but it says SCPH - 75001 on it. On some of the sites that sell Swap Magic, it mentions that you need either a Slide Card or a Slim Flip Top Cover. Do I need either of these if I have the slim Ps2, which is already top-loading?

How good is Swap Magic, will it work with Japanese Naruto games? The only reason I am doing this is because my son's obsession with Naruto, so I want to make sure they work with it... As you can tell, I am very new to this, so please if you could help I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks
smile.gif
 

Agjsdfd

My title
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Messages
1,205
Trophies
0
Age
114
Location
Arctica
XP
255
Country
I think you need to block the three lead sensors.
And yeah, I am confused about the flip top aswell, because Ps2 slimline has already...(maybe you need the fliptop)
I think you only need to block the lead sensors and ready to go with swap magic. Someone please correct me if I am wrong.
 

Kyusuke

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
98
Trophies
0
XP
200
Country
United Kingdom
The Slide Card is for the PS2 phat in order to slide the tray out manually. The Slim Flip Top Cover is replacing the case that you have with a custom made one so that you lift the case without pressing the open button making the PS2 think that you've never opened it.

There are also tools for the Slim PS2 which requires you to stick 2-3 pieces into your slim ps2 in order to block those sensors if you don't want to replace the case. Basically it's giving you a variety of options on how you want to use Swap Magic.
 

solange82200

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
362
Trophies
0
Age
44
Location
Miami, FL
XP
208
Country
United States
Thanks guys, now I see the purpose of the fliptop. I dont know how else to block the lead scensors, I dont even know what they are, so I guess I'll just buy Swap Magic and the Flip Top.
 

Kyusuke

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
98
Trophies
0
XP
200
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks guys, now I see the purpose of the fliptop. I dont know how else to block the lead scensors, I dont even know what they are, so I guess I'll just buy Swap Magic and the Flip Top.

http://www.swapmagic3.com/Swap_Magic_Feature.htm

Look up the Magic Switch Pro, these are the stuff that'll block the lead sensors allowing you to open up the cover manually. Should be youtube vids of it too, so check it out, if I'm not mistakened, it's the easier route for the Slimline PS2 (though I don't know for sure since I don't use the slim PS2)
 

Kyusuke

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
98
Trophies
0
XP
200
Country
United Kingdom
That's pretty much it.

You either want to go for a fliptop cover or you can purchase those small tools and stick them into the slim PS2. Choice is pretty much yours.
 

Agjsdfd

My title
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Messages
1,205
Trophies
0
Age
114
Location
Arctica
XP
255
Country
Thanks for clearing it up mate.
Well I saw so many videos on youtube and read so much infos, but it wasnt clear if you need one or the other.
No need to buy any tools actually, you can put some tissue to block the leads or strong paper, saw those videos on youtube:LOL:
 

Agjsdfd

My title
Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Messages
1,205
Trophies
0
Age
114
Location
Arctica
XP
255
Country
So that means you dont need any fliptop for PS2 slimline?
So all you need to do is blocking the lead sensors?


With a slimeline, all you need is Magic Keys.

Magic Keys are made to safely and perfectly block all 3 senors of a PS2 slimeline, once you have blocked them all, then you will need Swap Magic.
But as far as I understand you dont neet to buy magic keys. You can just block the leads your way, right?
 

Fellow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
429
Trophies
0
XP
229
Country
United States
So that means you dont need any fliptop for PS2 slimline?
So all you need to do is blocking the lead sensors?


With a slimeline, all you need is Magic Keys.

Magic Keys are made to safely and perfectly block all 3 senors of a PS2 slimeline, once you have blocked them all, then you will need Swap Magic.
But as far as I understand you dont neet to buy magic keys. You can just block the leads your way, right?

That was actually my method, and only should be done if you know what you are doing specifically.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @Xdqwerty I don't have a ROG ally
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, i don't have one either
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @AcuteBulbasaurappears, A cute bulbasaur appears. :D
    +2
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Psionic Roshambo, The Wii U gamepads are tied to the console's region, so its impossible to find a cheap gamepad that supports your model.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Unless you modify your system, of course, and remove the region check.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, im now by episode 8 of lain
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty can we discuss chrono trigger
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty I like how the game had the middle ages 1000AD, the dark ages 600AD.It was great seeing the post robot apocalypse 2300 like Terminator and enter the matrix. some of mad max and fallout. 2300ad though it could had used more elements instead of just a generic ai uprising. It was a great idea for their judgement day to be 1999 Y2K.

    -great additions if they would have made an expansion or dlc in my opinion would be finding out humans trapped in a matrix -

    a follower having a cyborg character living tissue over metal endoskelleton like terminator, and the synths from fallout
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    4After Zeal fell it would have been good to see more ancient eras. Perhaps Sumeria based in one area, then Egypt based in another area, Greek based in another area, then roman based in another area before the middle ages.---------

    ----between 1000ad and 1999 is a big gap they should have had the age of revolution like the american and French Revolution

    then the cowboyy era in one area of map and the Industrial revolution/age of enlightmentthen a ww1 and ww2 and a cold war era
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    they could have added 75,000 bc like assassins creed. zeal was already establish in 12, 000 bc , soething before the kindom rose
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty they could also add age of dscover, colonialism ect
    +1
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    renaissance
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty what did you think
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty I think glenn (the frog) after becomming human had an affair with the queen
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    so he is the great great great great grandfather of marle @Xdqwerty
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    they made it like Lancelot from king arthur legends
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    just found out i'm now taller than my dad
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay, sorry i was busy
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty thats completely fine
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay,
    the ds version added a secret boss reference to chrono cross
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty did you finish watching naruto shippuden and Boruto
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay, i havent even started lol
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @salazarcosplay, i havent even started lol