Gaming Vista install problems

hasboon

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
52
Trophies
0
XP
76
Country
United States
I'm having a lot of trouble but can't get any proper information.
Vista installation freezes after the first screen where you can see the
progres-bar which says "Windows is loading files...". After that the green
progress-bar appears and that's all.

Only two things happen there:
1: the progress-bar is running for hours
2: the progress-bar stops running
But in both cases that's all i've ever seen from Vista.

I nearly tried all possibilities (completely changed memory, changed
DVD-Drive, tested all possible BIOS-Settings, deactivated/activated all
on-board components etc.).
No success.


My System:
Board: Unsure
CPU: Pentium M 1.80ghz
RAM: 1024 MB Corsair (CM2X1024-5400C4)
HD: SATA Toshiba 60gb
GPU: NVIDIA 6600 go (128 mb)
 

dinofan01

Misses the old days...
Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2008
Messages
2,836
Trophies
0
Age
31
Website
Visit site
XP
284
Country
United States
I'm not sure if this is the source of your problem or the source of your problems in the future but I dont think you have nearly enough RAM to run vista. 2GB has a hard enough time running Vista, but 1024 MB? Thats way too small.
 

Raestloz

GBATemp's Lone Wolf
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
1,775
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
The World of Illusion
XP
308
Country
Indonesia
Windows Vista recommended system requirements
source

Home Basic


1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor

512 MB of system memory

20 GB hard drive with at least 15 GB of available space

Support for DirectX 9 graphics and 32 MB of graphics memory

DVD-ROM drive

Audio Output

Internet access (fees may apply)
Additional requirements

Actual requirements and product functionality may vary based on your system configuration. Windows Vista Upgrade Advisor can help you determine which features and edition of Windows Vista will run on your computer.

Home Premium / Business / Ultimate

1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor

1 GB of system memory

40 GB hard drive with at least 15 GB of available space

Support for DirectX 9 graphics with:

WDDM Driver

128 MB of graphics memory (minimum)

Pixel Shader 2.0 in hardware

32 bits per pixel

DVD-ROM drive

Audio Output

Internet access (fees may apply)


As you can see, you've met Microsoft's demand for Vista Ultimate, so no hardware is at fault here. The problem most likely is in the Installation DVD, get another one, or make sure it works with someone else's computer first
 

Raestloz

GBATemp's Lone Wolf
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
1,775
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
The World of Illusion
XP
308
Country
Indonesia
what disk? the Installation DVD?

The way you say it right now implies that Windows Vista has successfully been installed in your PC, which means nothing is wrong right now

Safe Mode will display nothing, of course, Normal Windows Mode will display you everything
 

Raestloz

GBATemp's Lone Wolf
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
1,775
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
The World of Illusion
XP
308
Country
Indonesia
Look, hasboon, I wanna help, so I need MOAR info.

1st things 1st: Has Windows Vista been successfully installed in your computer?

I really don't get the "both" part. What is both?

My assumption is the Safe Mode and Normal Windows Mode part?

To what extent can you run your copy of Vista? Can you see the desktop? Can you see thw welcome screen?

In Safe Mode, have you tried to use Safe Mode with Command Prompt?

If not, can you move your mouse around?

If yes, can you type anything at all?
 

hasboon

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
52
Trophies
0
XP
76
Country
United States
after the install it gets to the loading screen and freezes
after the install and goes into safe mode it still freezes

never gets to the explorer
 

Raestloz

GBATemp's Lone Wolf
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
1,775
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
The World of Illusion
XP
308
Country
Indonesia
So, it freezes at the bootscreen? the one with green bar?

Did you try "Safe Mode" or "Sfae Mode with Command Prompt"?

Try the command prompt one, if it works, I might be able to help ya
 

Raestloz

GBATemp's Lone Wolf
Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
1,775
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
The World of Illusion
XP
308
Country
Indonesia
I gotta go now, so hasboon, this is my last advice:

If, somehow, the Command Prompt thing works, type this:
sfc /scannow

it will scan, verify, and attempt to repair your system files, which might be damaged

If nothing is wrong, or scannow can't repair it, then I don't think I can help ya, at this stage the last point to do is re-install, but with that case, I don't think it will help
 

Chris_Skylock

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2008
Messages
1,501
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Philippines
Website
www.friendster.com
XP
140
Country
check your motherboard for problems. my laptop freezes when at boot screen. Got it fixed though. they changed the motherboard.

you might be having some hardware issues. are they new/working?

If you, normal users, fixed the loading screen, you can change the loading booting screen into a loading screen safe mode is accessing it. you might have some driver problems built by microsoft.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Lol 48