1. hasboon

    OP hasboon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having a lot of trouble but can't get any proper information.
    Vista installation freezes after the first screen where you can see the
    progres-bar which says "Windows is loading files...". After that the green
    progress-bar appears and that's all.

    Only two things happen there:
    1: the progress-bar is running for hours
    2: the progress-bar stops running
    But in both cases that's all i've ever seen from Vista.

    I nearly tried all possibilities (completely changed memory, changed
    DVD-Drive, tested all possible BIOS-Settings, deactivated/activated all
    on-board components etc.).
    No success.


    My System:
    Board: Unsure
    CPU: Pentium M 1.80ghz
    RAM: 1024 MB Corsair (CM2X1024-5400C4)
    HD: SATA Toshiba 60gb
    GPU: NVIDIA 6600 go (128 mb)
     
  2. da_head

    da_head A dying dream..
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,952
    Country:
    Canada
    WOAH! 1gig of ram?! dude don't even try installing vista! go for xp man! (or windows 7 if u want aero that badly)
     
  3. dinofan01

    dinofan01 Misses the old days...
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure if this is the source of your problem or the source of your problems in the future but I dont think you have nearly enough RAM to run vista. 2GB has a hard enough time running Vista, but 1024 MB? Thats way too small.
     
  4. hasboon

    OP hasboon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    still doesnt explain why its not installing
     
  5. Renegade_R

    Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,655
    Country:
    Canada
    your hard drive is probably working against you. Did you do a full format before attempting this? Is your hard drive free of bad sectors?
     
  6. hasboon

    OP hasboon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    used the format option in the custom install menu
     
  7. juggernaut911

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,165
    Country:
    United States
    prolly bad sectors than. That or a bad torrent?
     
  8. hasboon

    OP hasboon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    bought disk and how do you fix bad sectors?
     
  9. Raestloz

    Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Windows Vista recommended system requirements
    source

    Home Basic


    1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor

    512 MB of system memory

    20 GB hard drive with at least 15 GB of available space

    Support for DirectX 9 graphics and 32 MB of graphics memory

    DVD-ROM drive

    Audio Output

    Internet access (fees may apply)
    Additional requirements

    Actual requirements and product functionality may vary based on your system configuration. Windows Vista Upgrade Advisor can help you determine which features and edition of Windows Vista will run on your computer.

    Home Premium / Business / Ultimate

    1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor

    1 GB of system memory

    40 GB hard drive with at least 15 GB of available space

    Support for DirectX 9 graphics with:

    WDDM Driver

    128 MB of graphics memory (minimum)

    Pixel Shader 2.0 in hardware

    32 bits per pixel

    DVD-ROM drive

    Audio Output

    Internet access (fees may apply)


    As you can see, you've met Microsoft's demand for Vista Ultimate, so no hardware is at fault here. The problem most likely is in the Installation DVD, get another one, or make sure it works with someone else's computer first
     
  10. hasboon

    OP hasboon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    the disk works it says my gpu need new drivers so after the install i boot safe mode and nothing
     
  11. Raestloz

    Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    Indonesia
    what disk? the Installation DVD?

    The way you say it right now implies that Windows Vista has successfully been installed in your PC, which means nothing is wrong right now

    Safe Mode will display nothing, of course, Normal Windows Mode will display you everything
     
  12. hasboon

    OP hasboon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    they both freeze
     
  13. Raestloz

    Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Look, hasboon, I wanna help, so I need MOAR info.

    1st things 1st: Has Windows Vista been successfully installed in your computer?

    I really don't get the "both" part. What is both?

    My assumption is the Safe Mode and Normal Windows Mode part?

    To what extent can you run your copy of Vista? Can you see the desktop? Can you see thw welcome screen?

    In Safe Mode, have you tried to use Safe Mode with Command Prompt?

    If not, can you move your mouse around?

    If yes, can you type anything at all?
     
  14. hasboon

    OP hasboon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    after the install it gets to the loading screen and freezes
    after the install and goes into safe mode it still freezes

    never gets to the explorer
     
  15. Raestloz

    Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    Indonesia
    So, it freezes at the bootscreen? the one with green bar?

    Did you try "Safe Mode" or "Sfae Mode with Command Prompt"?

    Try the command prompt one, if it works, I might be able to help ya
     
  16. Raestloz

    Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I gotta go now, so hasboon, this is my last advice:

    If, somehow, the Command Prompt thing works, type this:
    sfc /scannow

    it will scan, verify, and attempt to repair your system files, which might be damaged

    If nothing is wrong, or scannow can't repair it, then I don't think I can help ya, at this stage the last point to do is re-install, but with that case, I don't think it will help
     
  17. Isaiah

    Isaiah The Conductor
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Country:
    wow I wish I knew so much about computers.. i wanna do I.T.
     
  18. Chris_Skylock

    Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Country:
    check your motherboard for problems. my laptop freezes when at boot screen. Got it fixed though. they changed the motherboard.

    you might be having some hardware issues. are they new/working?

    If you, normal users, fixed the loading screen, you can change the loading booting screen into a loading screen safe mode is accessing it. you might have some driver problems built by microsoft.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - problems, install, Vista