Using Bootmii IOS as system IOS?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by powser, Jun 12, 2009.

Jun 12, 2009

Using Bootmii IOS as system IOS? by powser at 7:47 PM (1,563 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. powser
    OP

    Newcomer powser Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    I was thinking maybe the system menu TMD or TIK could be modified to use IOS254, then bootmii will launch.


    A modified bootmii could then be created so that it auto loads the system menu after being launched like that, thus enabling some sort of preloader style brick protection without actually using preloader itself. Might cut down on booting times too (maybe)?? Bootmii will also be able to load so long as the ios254 is not deleted.. Might be a useful idea for peeps without a vulnerable boot1 and do not like preloader.


    I don't have any issues with preloader, I have it installed cause I don't have a vulnerable boot1.


    Or maybe such idea will lead to more harm/bricks than any protection..
     
  2. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, I'm not sure, but I think you could set preloader as IOS 254, and it would load BootMii, instead of loading preloader. I'm just guessing, and I'm probably wrong though...
     
  3. fogbank

    Member fogbank GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    I believe someone already did that just to see if it would work (look around you may find the post somewhere).

    But without all of the necessary drivers and other functionality within Mini how would the SystemMenu even work? And if BootMii then attempted to load the SystemMenu, when the SystemMenu TMD is read and the IOS that it requires (254) is loaded, then BootMii will load again. Or am I misunderstanding the title loading process?
     
  4. powser
    OP

    Newcomer powser Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    @WiiThoko
    Yes you can, but the idea was to totally not use preloader.

    @fogbank
    Yeah, that's why a "modified" bootmii to boot the systemmenu is required.. i think it's quite possible to "patch on the fly" to an IOS60 to load sysmenu 4.0 or something. And I don't think you need those MINI drivers and stuff, since technically bootmii in boot2 boots into the systemmenu anyway.
     
  5. Helsionium

    Member Helsionium Alpha and Omega

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Location:
    Innsbruck, Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    BootMii is not an IOS, even when installed as an IOS, BootMii is not designed to run at the same time as other applications.
    Normally, when a title is loaded, the IOS is loaded first, then the application. If BootMii/IOS is loaded, the loading process will stop there and BootMii will come up. If you change the System Menu's IOS to BootMii (and have SM autoboot enabled), you'll end up with an infinite loop of BootMii loading BootMii and so on... and if you change HBC to use BootMii/IOS as well, that could be a near-brick. I do not recommend using BootMii in ways not intended.
     
  6. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    This is correct, Infinite Loop, Pointless
     
  7. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    try it rourself [​IMG] patch the tmd with fstoolbox 0.2 to ios 254 and you will see what happens [​IMG]
     
  8. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    already have tried when bootmii first came out, thats how i already know

    edit: But its still a good idea, its possible but would require a modified bootmii with the necessary modules pretty much it would have to be made specially to be used with the system menu, i actually think you'll see a custom system menu loaded straight from bootmii before you'll ever see that, if ever. Just my opinion though.
     
  9. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    why do you absolutely want to use BootMII [MINI] and re-implement all ios modules ? it has not been designed for that and it's more efficient to use a custom IOS instead: Bootmii "ios-like" aka mini is the armboot.bin file stored on sd, you can replace it with a basic cIOS (which is what wiigator did with his cBOOT2 thing) and this is good since it's the first IOS which boot on startup...

    that's more interesting imo than trying to run the system menu from MINI, which would require massive work to get ALL the needed functions implemented, for no benefits at all !
     
  10. powser
    OP

    Newcomer powser Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    about all the infinite loop replies. Yes it's obvious there will be an infiniteloop, which is why i said a MODDIFIED BOOTMII is required. geez.. I did mentioned it needs to "patch to use ios60" for system menu "on the fly" or maybe just run the system menu app via ios60 or something..
     

Share This Page