USB Loader GX

By cyrex, Apr 19, 2009 6,124,877 27,249 40

  1. Kittymat

    Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Country:
    If you are going to use anything above 1000 make sure you remove ALL the old config files as everything changes. Also all the image files locations are different so no covers will be visible, either move them or change the defaul path to make them work again

    For WADs

    249 rev 19(or20) Base 56
    250 rev 20 Base 57

    222 rev 4 Base 38
    223 rev 4 Base 37 merged with 38
    224 rev 5.1 Base 56

    Run the loader on 249 (works well for me)
     
  2. outcast22

    outcast22 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for reply. Im getting a Error -106 trying to uninstall 2 versions of cIOS 249(v14 & 15). How do I uninstall them or can I just delete them from SD card?
     
  3. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,306
    Country:
    France
    You don't have to uninstall 249.
    Installing cIOS overwrite the old one.
    So You can't have rev14 and rev15 at the same time.

    Just install cIOSx rev20b and select slot 249, it will replace the old one with the new one.
     
  4. outcast22

    outcast22 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    Still black screen galore after launching games. Having same problem in CFG. WTF. This is what I got:

    CFG: r60
    GX: r1010

    Partition: WBFS

    cIOS222[38]-v4.wad
    cIOS223[38+37]-v4.wad
    cIOS249[38]-v17.wad
    cIOS250[57] v20.wad
     
  5. d_bizzzz

    d_bizzzz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Dear Santa I have been good this year .... please please please ... http://usbloadergx.koureio.net/news/ciosfeast

    [​IMG]
     
  6. viper831

    viper831 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone had an issue with rev 1012 when exiting a game?

    I keep getting a black screen upon exiting to wii menu.

    It only happens in games, it will load the wii menu when exiting from usbloader.
     
  7. PPSainity

    PPSainity Blinded by Science
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    With that exact Waninkoko cIOS setup are you able to run CoD:BO by using cIOS250 in its particular game load settings?

    Running USB Loader GX r938 or the latest r1012 I am not able to get the game to not freeze at the Treyarch Video when the game load settings are set to use cIOS250. It does work when the game load settings are set to use cIOS223 however in my case my cIOS223 is v5 and has an IOS57 base.

    -[]D
     
  8. viper831

    viper831 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I got my problem sorted out by using 249/56 20b for default loading and using 250/57 20b for cod black ops.

    I am on 4.3u with all the latest ios's installed.
     
  9. PPSainity

    PPSainity Blinded by Science
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    That setup does not work for me. Whenever I set USB Loader GX to globally use 249[56] rev20b and CoD:BO to use 250[57] rev20b I get the familiar freeze at the Treyarch video. Setting USB Loader GX to use 249[56] rev20b and CoD:BO to use 223[57] v5 works as does setting both USB Loader GX and CoD:BO to use 249[57] rev20b. It's like slot 250 is jinxed for me lol.

    Since r1012 allows any IOS slot above 200 to be used, I am going to see if I can set USB Loader GX to use 249[56] rev20b globally and set CoD:BO to use 2XX[57] rev20b where XX != 50. I'll post my results later tomorrow.

    -[]D
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,306
    Country:
    France
    Did you install 249 after 250 ?

    When installing slot 249, it still overwrite slot250 with a copy of 249 (as it was done in previous cIOS249 installer).
    I don't know if it's a remanent bug, or if the backup is still made on purpose.
    So, if you installed 250[57] and THEN 249[56], then your 250 is also [56].

    Please be sure to reinstall slot250[57] alone.


    That's the main reason I can think of.
    If that doesn't fix it, then I don't know why your slot 250[whatever] would not work.
     
  11. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,813
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ios57 is better than ios56, I don't know why everyone doesn't use it as their default in slot 249.
    if there are games that don't work with it (music games at least) then use another slot for those.

    that way when you're trying to find the best fall back ios you can keep overwriting 250 and you won't affect anything else.
     
  12. danweb

    danweb GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Country:
    I have tried very hard to google it and search on this site for it but i just can't seem to find my answer so i will ask.

    My overall aim is to run Kirby's epic yarn NTSC on my Pal 4.2E wii.

    I have been having issues running it on configurable usb loader, it froze at the loading screen for making a new game save file every time. I had a look at the topic for the release of the game and everyone why said that it was working was using USB loader GX so i downloaded it and gave it a try. With every game i try to run with it, it has a glitch up of something where green stripes are at the top or bottom of the screen. I tried running cIOS249 rev19 installer as recommended by the USB loader GX web page and rev20b and the same problem is still there for both. This doesn't happen when i am running the 1012 unreleased version though. I have a FAT32 620gb drive with a wbfs folder created by wii backup file manager.

    Does anyone know how to get USB loader GX running or alternatively, how to get Kirby's epic yarn working in any way. (also, i have one of the wiis with the new disc drive.)

    Thanks in advance and sorry that i couldn't find the answer,
    DanWeb
     
  13. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,306
    Country:
    France
    I played Kirby JP version on a PAL Wii, with GX rev927 and cIOS rev17 (base 38).
    But the base IOS shouldn't be a problem at all, it should be working on rev17 or rev20b[57] or [56] etc.

    I didn't have any green area on the screen. But I'm using component cable, that could prevent it.

    Try using PatchVidTV ON, and Patch set to Auto in the game preference, or Force NTSC if Auto is not doing anything.


    PS : Do you have free block on your Wii ?
    Maybe that's why the save can't be written and it's trying to create it each time you boot the game.
     
  14. PPSainity

    PPSainity Blinded by Science
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    I find that 56 gives the best if not equal performance and less random once in the moon freezes on some games. For example there is this one spot in Lego Harry Potter Years 1-4 that always freezes on 57 but runs smooth on 56. I don't play music games and have no experience on them.

    -[]D
     
  15. PPSainity

    PPSainity Blinded by Science
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    So, follow-up time. Both me and a friend tested things out on our own Wii's and found the same results:

    Setup:
    • Wii Firmware 4.3U
    • USB Loader GX r1012
    • Waninkoko's cIOSx rev20b (248[57], 249[56,57], 250[56,57])
    • Hermes v5 (222[38], 223[37], 224[57])
    • WBFS Primary Partitions (Mine is second after a FAT32 partition, his is first before an NTFS partition)
    Findings:
    • Setting USB Loader GX to use 250[any base] globally results in 222 being used by default.
    • Setting USB Loader GX to use anythings else but 250 globally works fine (as far as the chosen IOS actually being used).
    • Setting USB Loader GX to use anything but 250 with a 57 base and no special settings for CoD:BO both run fine.
    • Setting USB Loader GX to use 249[56] and CoD:BO to use 250[57] results in CoD:BO freeze.
    • Setting USB Loader GX to use 249[56] and CoD:BO to use anything with a 57 base but 250 CoD:BO runs fine.
    We verified that the cIOSx where installed correctly, dumping the contents checking to see what base was present to the best of our knowledge. No WADs where used this time only the official Waninkoko cIOSx r20b Installer. Whenever the cIOS were installed they were installed in the following order, 248, 249, 250.

    -[]D
     
  16. dexter222

    dexter222 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    United States
    249 should be base 57

    It's the only way to run COD:BO (it doesn't run on 250 base 57)
     
  17. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,068
    Country:
    United States
    Incorrect. COD:BO will run on any cIOS with base 57. So either 249, 250 or 224. Rev 19 or 20 of cIOSX can be used, and rev 5.1 of 224 must be used.

    While there are a few reports online about people using cIOSX 250[57] not getting passed the loading screen, there are way more reports that say it does work with 224, 249 or 250 (bases 57, rev19/20 or rev5.1). We can only assume that the people reporting 250[57] not working, must be using v18 or earlier.

    Edit: I believe 250[57] only works with USB Loader GX with COD:BO if 250[57] is set to the Global IOS. If Global was 222/223/224/249, even if 250 is there it probably won't work.
     
  18. PPSainity

    PPSainity Blinded by Science
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Canada
    That's the issue. USB Loader GX running off of 249[56] should be able to start CoD:BO using 250[57] and CoD:BO should be fine. Between 249[57] and 250[57] the cIOS code is the same, just the slot is different, heck using 248[57] works. Further adding to the frustrations is the success of others like viper831 running USB Loader GX off of 249[56] and CoD:BO off of 250[57] without issue... [​IMG]

    It'a a minor annoyance, but it so has become the elephant in the room, sitting on my head, for me.

    -[]D
     
  19. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,306
    Country:
    France
    @ PPSainity:
    do you, by any chance, own a USBGecko ?

    there, we could see and debug the IOS reloading.
    I don't have the game to test myself [​IMG]
     
  20. danweb

    danweb GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Country:
    i have heaps of free block space. will try rev17 tomorrow. PatchVidTV didn't work either nor did forcing NTSC.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Loader,