Homebrew RELEASE Release - Super Mario 64 v8

iriez

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
549
Trophies
0
Age
47
Website
www.xbins.org
XP
1,832
Country
United States
-v8 includes support for new models such as the much requested sgi models

-Custom models and texture packs are now included in the nsp and can be swapped on and off via the pause menu

-New menu options are added such as being able to remain in a level after collecting a star and a mirror mode

-A new option to disable framepacing was added to prevent lag from custom models

-General bugfixes and improvements

https://xbins.org/nfo.php?file=xboxnfo2433.nfo

Hosted in the usual spot as well as xbins in homebrew games.

Enjoy

Personal notes -

SM64 must be exited / restarted after applying new texture models for it to take effect.
 
Last edited by iriez,

iriez

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
549
Trophies
0
Age
47
Website
www.xbins.org
XP
1,832
Country
United States
There are 3 version of v8 as 2 hotfixes have been released.

hotfix v2 md5 - 86B32D5B426BEB163F8ACEF2E4A7AB01 & sha256 -DC28ECFBA88FFE3975F1A2FF1E53E1EC3A65E6CE32E050D58CFECF95B28746AF

hotfix v1 md5 - 157C5290AE601151F625E6200776BFB1 & sha256 -
2868479A080BEA42D75E7B3D75191FAB8AE665DF5C2634A6439CBC893AA66CC6

I don't have the md5 for the non-hotfix first release as i didn't grab it quick enough apparently.



For automatically connecting to xbins without installing mirc see my homepage profile url. Note, its a FTP client that has a built in irc client so it will trigger your AV, disable to launch.
 
Last edited by iriez,

ShadowOne333

QVID PRO QVO
Developer
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
10,915
Trophies
1
XP
13,387
Country
Mexico
Oh wow.
I thought v8 would never come, I felt as if the PC port for Switch was just completely abandoned or something.
Good to see it's still around and better than ever!

Now to search for the thing, as I can't seem to find it easily lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jellykrop

iriez

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
549
Trophies
0
Age
47
Website
www.xbins.org
XP
1,832
Country
United States
Thanks for the help, I managed to get the right file.

Any idea what changed in the hotfix?

Ibcap stated after the release that the texture packs was causing the game to run slow without specific options set, so I believe the hotfix likely applies those fixes by default so when you enable the texture mods they work without slowdowns. Specifically he said -

New version removes the tree model from the sgi model pack to allow you to use sgi models without lag. In its place a new option has been added specifically for improved tree textures.

As for those asking where to get it - I stated where in the first post. Read my 2nd comment. If you can't figure it out after that I really can't be more helpful without breaking rules.
 
Last edited by iriez,
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

Kirizame

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
155
Country
Australia
Just thought I'd point out, with custom texture packs it seems that not all textures are being replaced.
I had initially put this down to the textures not being complete but after seeing this texture pack's developer had made the texture with eyes it seemed unlikely that he didn't include the texture without eyes for the walls.

This issue also occurred with the redrawn pack as well.

2020091918554000-2796B9E2CD7B9B87D175AEAAC2B2E588.jpg
 

Notex

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 21, 2017
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
530
Country
Australia
Is this a compiled version from this Github repo? "fgsfdsfgs/sm64ex/commits/switch" (Can't post the full URL)
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Oh wow.
I thought v8 would never come, I felt as if the PC port for Switch was just completely abandoned or something.
Good to see it's still around and better than ever!

Now to search for the thing, as I can't seem to find it easily lol
Hint: its on the XCI Russian Site
 
  • Like
Reactions: ShadowOne333

iriez

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2016
Messages
549
Trophies
0
Age
47
Website
www.xbins.org
XP
1,832
Country
United States
Just thought I'd point out, with custom texture packs it seems that not all textures are being replaced.
I had initially put this down to the textures not being complete but after seeing this texture pack's developer had made the texture with eyes it seemed unlikely that he didn't include the texture without eyes for the walls.

This issue also occurred with the redrawn pack as well.

View attachment 225338

Yes, I noticed the same. There are a lot of things per Render96's pack that didn't make it into the nsp. I also noticed that mario has a kinda orangish color to his hat present in the render96 videos that are not present in the nsp.

Considering the tree models had to be removed for the gameplay to run smooth I think that this is a question of trade-offs. They likely experimented with which textures they can include without a preformance hit that makes it less desirable to play. Priority is framerate IMO.
 
  • Like
Reactions: peteruk

XpertXP1

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2013
Messages
151
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
874
Country
United States
How do you get version 8 from Tinfoil? I see its posted there but when i download it and then run it, it still shows V7 when i run the game....
 

Kawaii-Tora

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
93
Trophies
0
XP
659
Country
Germany
Just to be curious. Is is possible to run from HBC? As I just wanna use AMS only as only mod.
Or does it require to be installed on sysnand (i know this should NEVER be done) or emunand?
 

deejay87

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2019
Messages
166
Trophies
0
Location
Burgundy
Website
deejay87.fr
XP
971
Country
France
Interesting if the "eu" can be build without sound problem, this version contain 3 langages
I have buid successfully but this sound have a problem ....
If someone have an idea, welcom héhé
 

popy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2018
Messages
256
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
1,145
Country
Austria
thx for thie info. Two questions:

can the language be changed (using the xci v8 hotfix v2)?
Is there an menu to play with texture packs?

thx
 

sorabora

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2016
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
1,102
Country
United States
  1. What does the "Disable Dist Clip" setting do? By default, the setting is off. Is this something we should toggle to "on?"
  2. What Mods (i.e., textures) are you guys using?
Gm1e.jpg
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: They built a brand new one right by Walmart lol