Upgraded to component but there is 'interferance'...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by BrettCook, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. BrettCook
    OP

    Newcomer BrettCook Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Hi All,

    I recently bought a component cable to replace my original Composite cable. I've changed the resolution on the system settings and my 720p TV seems to be in the correct mode (resolution shows correct in menu.)

    Firstly, the pictures looks a ton better, the colours most definitely now pop.

    However I have one problem - when viewing a pure black image (for example when exiting back out to the Wii menu) I can see what looks like interference with sliding black diagonal lines like in the olden days of VCR!

    The other thing that happens is every so often my TV will blank to the 'blue' image like it's changing resolution which can be a pain as I lose picture of the game for a few minutes.

    I am guessing it's the cable?
     
  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Did you buy third party? Almost all third party cables are crap.
     
  3. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    does anyone know if Energizer is bad because Im currently using it.
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    If you aren't having problems, then stick with them. Some third party cables work fine. It's just the percentage of bad cables (or problematic cables) is far higher than with official Nintendo cables. A lot of them will flash to a black screen for a second on occasions, or the screen will flicker at times.
     
  5. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,915
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    I had the exact same problem. I was able to get rid of the interference by using tin foil. Play around with wrapping the ends with small pieces of tin foil and using much larger pieces to cover the whole area.
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Now that is very interesting. :)
     
  7. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    I had this loss of signal with my first 3rd-party cable, I then took another one from speedlink and this problem is gone ;)
     

Share This Page