updating on the dsi

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Anti, Aug 1, 2009.

Aug 1, 2009

updating on the dsi by Anti at 10:59 PM (855 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Anti
    OP

    Member Anti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    How does the dsi Update? does it connect to the internet on its own?
    or when I go on the dsi browser?
    or only when i hit update.

    Also is it possible to downgrade?
     
  2. eth0

    Newcomer eth0 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Belgium
    It automatically connects at 2am to check and install updates!

    j/k, only when you select update from the system configuration thingy or when you go into the shop thing.
    Browsing should be ok, I hope since I just did.
     
  3. TheDestroyer

    Member TheDestroyer GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Masterâ„¢

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    My Destroyed Village
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think its possible to downgrade yet.. however.. i believe that the DSi update isnt mandatory.. if update is present.. you cannot use the DSi shop unless you upgrade ur firmware.. [​IMG] it is really your choice whether to update or not but you cannot use the DSi shop...
     
  4. Anti
    OP

    Member Anti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    But, in their policy it states that they can update without notifying us.
     
  5. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Just never have a connection to the internet. Then only games might update you.
     
  6. Plague_Host_Extr

    Newcomer Plague_Host_Extr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Upon a seated throne of pure s
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if anyone has corrected this but I'm pretty sure that ALL online DSiWare requires the update. That means the Opera Browser will be in-operable until you update your system.
     
  7. Wintrale

    Member Wintrale GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    Kent, England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed. Both the DSiWare Store and the Browser are unuseable until after updating. Good thing I have two DSi's. [​IMG]
     
  8. Plague_Host_Extr

    Newcomer Plague_Host_Extr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Upon a seated throne of pure s
    Country:
    United States
    Yay, I got it right for once [​IMG] I, for one, rarely, if ever, use my Flashcart. When I do, it's only to cheat to figure out what to do on a game I have a physical form of.
     
  9. Burnedmagix

    Member Burnedmagix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but they can't reach your DSi if its not connected to the internet. It wont just turn on automatically and check for updates
     
  10. Plague_Host_Extr

    Newcomer Plague_Host_Extr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Upon a seated throne of pure s
    Country:
    United States
    Also, they won't force the update onto your DSi. They are just saying they have the right to do so.
     

Share This Page