To Solder or not to Solder

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DarkElf101, Apr 14, 2007.

Apr 14, 2007

To Solder or not to Solder by DarkElf101 at 6:36 PM (1,076 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

1. DarkElf101
    OP

Newcomer DarkElf101 Member

United States
    Well i ordered my wiikey and im still waiting for it. Now comes the question should i try to solder the wiikey myslef or should i get this guy i found in craiglist to do it for me? I have no soldering experience at all.

2. Bloodgod

Member Bloodgod 嵐の王

United States
  3. another

Newcomer another Member

United States
    I did it, I've never soldered before.

It's not easy, but it's not brain surgery. you can do it man.

4. tundro

Newcomer tundro Newbie

United States
    If you're going to do it yourself, make sure you have the correct tools (ex: low wattage iron, 30 gauge kynar wire, flux paste, etc) and that you practice on an old CD-Rom driver (or similar) for a while first. The solder points in the Wii are very small, so practice on the smallest points you can find. I didn't have soldering experience before deciding to solder my Wii... but I practiced a bunch over two weeks before buying my CycloWiz. Once I got it and went to install I didn't find it that hard. Just took my time - about an hour from the moment I started taking the Wii apart to when it was finished and back together. But then again, this mod isn't for the faint of heart.

5. BillnTed

Newcomer BillnTed Member

United Kingdom