Temporarily disabling account possible?

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by wchill, Dec 25, 2011.

Dec 25, 2011
  1. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible for site admin to temporarily disable accounts? (*coughcoughc0llege@dmissionscoughcough*) Not saying that I would like my account disabled right now, but I would like to know if this is possible. (Disabling in this scenario would mean making my user account disappear from the forum completely for some time)
    And if this isn't possible or reasonably done, then 2 name changes perhaps? Just as a favor :D
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The people I've seen who try to get a temp account disable to avoid the forums usually end up making an alt to post anyways...
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Oh no, it's not to avoid the forums, it's a safeguard so that admissions officers don't see anything I don't want them to :/
     
  4. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    >No picture of you
    >Not pr0n site
    >Nothing Illegal

    In fact, if this was a technology college you were applying to, and you actually contributed, (and the .00000001% chance they find you on this as opposed to Facebook where they seem to religiously search), they'd be pretty damn impressed.
     
  5. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, good point. Hmm, good incentive to contribute more.
     
  6. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your account can be suspended, preventing posting, but it wouldn't make it invisible. It'd have to be deleted/restored, or have the name changed into something irrelevant. I don't think there's anything here you'd have to worry about though.
     
  7. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,736
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Others have already posted good stuff but
    Step 1) do not use wchill@somerandom.tld or something along those lines- proper searching/background checks are hard so most do not do it (especially when there is the easy route). By all means use your own domain if you have one though (and if your registrar and/or hosting does not allow near infinite throwaway redirects get a better one).

    Problem 1) Even if we did change your name we still have the cache issue (by the time all is said and done various internet archives might just have swapped to say nothing of someone quoting you somewhere and it all falling apart from there) and
    Problem 2) Related to problem 1) if someone (or yourself) has linked something from outside our network.
     
  8. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    1 might be resolved by doing this ASAP to let the caches update.
    2 - only links afaik are from my Facebook, which I have set to high privacy settings and would also disable.
     

Share This Page