1. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,703
    Country:
    United States
    If you are using file-based emuMMC, then yes. If you are using partition-based, you will need to make an image of the first SD card and partition the second SD card.

    No, any SD card can be used to dump the NAND regardless if it has your games on it or not.
    A factory reset is your best bet but it does not give you a 100% guarantee like a clean NAND dump.

    They can share the same SD card but they do not have to. Also understand that using another SD card for emuMMC is not any safer than using the same SD card as Nintendo does not scan for files on the SD card.
     
    hallo23 likes this.
  2. hallo23

    hallo23 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Germany
    How do setup it so they share the same SD card?
    Do I have to so something sepcial for that?
    Also do you know a good atmos emunand tutorial you would recommend?
     
  3. Elirayo

    Elirayo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Israel
    Hi :)
    I have an Ipatched unit (4.1.0 FW) which I used Caffeine/Atmosphere to jailbreak. After realizing I need to upgrade the firmware in order to install NSP's, I bought a new sd card, and decided to create an emuNand. I'm able to get into Hekate (v5.0.2), but after launching the CFW (EMUMMC) I can't launch hbmenu.. It get stuck, and after a few minutes of spinning, exiting results in panic error..

    I replaced the Atmosphere and the sept folders on my sd card (after downloading them again from sdsetup), with no luck..

    Then I tried the whole process again, the emuMMC launches fine (I verified it - the current firmware version ends with |E) but I can't launch hbMenu from the emuMMC (while I can do that on the sysMMC) :(
    I think that I might have a problem with the hekate_ipl.ini file (?), but I'm not sure..
     
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,703
    Country:
    United States
    You don't really have to do anything special so they share the same SD card. All you do is setup emuMMC on the SD card and use it for sysMMC as well. As for a good guide, I do not use emuMMC myself but I do see people use this guide
    Maybe try downloading vanilla Atmosphere?
     
    Elirayo and hallo23 like this.
  5. Teletron1

    Teletron1 Space Tech Engineer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    290
    Country:
    United States
    going into 2020 what are the odds we finally see HDD support for NSP's installs since no one wants to budge on XCI support :ninja:, the excuse was not enough good games to care, but this year has been going out with a bang and my 400gb card is almost filled .. I mean sure we may get 2tb cards soon but it will be a year or 2 before they are close to being in a decent price range.. who will be the hero of 2020 :yayswitch:
     
  6. XaneTenshi

    XaneTenshi GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    Denmark
    Hey everyone
    Ever since I used my new SD Card to restore my hacked Nand, I've had nothing but trouble! It all started when I tried to play a game installed to the Nand and the Switch told me that it had found corrupt data in the game. I didn't immediately do anything about it and the next day, the issue was gone and I had no trouble booting the game. But the problem returned later that same day and when I discovered it wasn't the only game that threw this error, I decided to delete the two games which did, and re-install them to the SD Card using Goldleaf.

    This fixed the issue TEMPORARILY but the issue soon returned again. So I deleted the games and I've since done a full format of the SD Card (Full NTFS format with Windows format and then a quick format with Guiformat) and then I installed another game to the Nand. Today, the error returned AGAIN and I'm running out of ideas. I need help to fix this. I would like to avoid having to restore my nand backup or reinitialize the Switch if possible.

    Extra info:

    I'm running atmosphere 0.9.4 on FW 6.2.
    I did the full format with Windows format because Guiformat kept resetting the format progress and eventually threw an error about the script having stopped working.
    When the error returned today, it happened after I got an Atmosphere error screen when my Switch "crashed" upon trying to load EdiZon. I don't really know if this is related at all though. I might not be.
    The error doesn't happen with all games, but when it happens, it also affects installed custom nsp's. Otherwise everything works fine and the nsps throwing this error sometimes boots up and plays just fine.
    The error happens with games installed both to nand and the SD Card so it might not be an issue with the SD Card alone.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2019
  7. Elirayo

    Elirayo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Israel
    Thanks for the reply :)
    Can it be used on iPatched units? I followed the homebrew.guide that only suggested caffeine for iPatched consoles..
     
  8. Elirayo

    Elirayo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Israel
    For the good order, after running emuMMC, I tried to open hbmenu using pegaswitch again, instead of holding R and opening the album :mellow:
    Thank you for all the help!
     
  9. Ssseth

    Ssseth GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    Canada
    I am currently on 8.1 and decided to upgrade to the latest hekate and atmosphere (previously on ReinX). So I went through the tutorials to get my payload injector up to date (5.0.2). I can get into RCM and press vol- to get to the loader screen.

    However when I try to load either cfw emummc or cfw sysnand it just goes to a blank screen and I have to hard power my switch off.

    Weird thing is I can launch launchpick_rcm.bin fine. When I try and launch fusee-primary.bin I get the same blank screen.

    This setup with ReinX was working fine with this SD card (128Gb exfat) for a year now so I’m guessing it’s something I am doing wrong. Any suggestions?

    Here are some pictures of what I’m seeing on my Switch (click thumbnail if you want to see larger pic):
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2019
  10. Ssseth

    Ssseth GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay I’m doing more self research and found two guides. I think it’s probably a step I missed. One says something about creating a second partition but I’d prefer not to lose 30GB and I didn’t need that in on my old ReinX setup.

    https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/user_guide/emummc/sd_preparation/

    The other says nothing about separate partition being needed. I’m not worried about bans, I never plan on this switch ever going online ever again.
    https://switch.homebrew.guide/index
     
  11. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    Canada
    Is there any way to check to see if any of my games need updates?? I know how to update the games and how to find the updates but don't know what ones need it.
    My switch is 100% offline.
     
  12. Ssseth

    Ssseth GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    Canada
    Update: I used the second guide with Kosmos package that didn't require any extra SD partition work or losing 30 GB. It's working now which is great but I'm trying to launch some previously installed NSP's that were on internal storage and getting an error that the app could not load.

    I'm trying to copy over my backup of my Nintendo folder to my SD card but not sure if that will help. Fingers crossed, I'd prefer not to have to reinstall (and potential lose?!?) all my games and save data I already had? Less concerned about reinstalling, but I thought saved data was on the consoles internal storage?
     
  13. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,703
    Country:
    United States
  14. Swing

    Swing GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    I am running into the same problem. I accidentally updated to 9.0.1 and now have two different memory cards. The first one launches Kosmos perfectly fine but the second one goes into a black screen after launching Kosmos, and I know I missed a step for installing a file somewhere in the SD card but can't find the video. Does anybody know what/where I need to install this file to get my memory card to launch? It's a bitch having two different memory cards because some CFWs have error screens when running apps and other CFW can run them no problem...
     
  15. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    Canada
    From what I see that only works by scanning a folder on your pc that contains all of your nsp files. I don't keep the files on my pc. Once they are installed I delete the nsp.

    EDIT
    ___________
    Another question - didnt want to double post.

    How do I make it so tinfoil doesnt install to the Switch homescreen menu with all the games whenever it is run??
    Im afraid one of the kids are going to go in the app and mess something up!!
    I like how the homebrew menu is hidden, but doesnt matter if tinfoil is not. I have gone into manage software and uninstalled tinfoil, but as soon as I open it again in hombrew it installs.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2019
  16. campbell0505

    campbell0505 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia

    Thanks!
     
  17. Ssseth

    Ssseth GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay so it sounds like I have to do two things now.

    1. Delete any games that I tried to load since I f**d those up by launching them. Deleted from Switch settings rather than any homebrew app.
    2. Backup SD card contents
    3. Reformat my SD to fat32 (rather than exfat like it was prior)
    4. Copy files back over
    5. Copy over latest sigpatches
    6. Profit?!?

    I'm on step 4 at the moment. Wish me luck.
     
  18. willy101

    willy101 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    I tried using gparted live on virtualbox to resize partitions but it doesnt see the microsd any ideas how to fix this? I installed extra extensions.
     
  19. Qwerty5555

    Qwerty5555 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    I currently got second nintendo switch which can run cfw, if i keep the old nintendo folder with all the games will these also show up on the new switch or doesnt this work?
     
  20. RJ Sly 95

    RJ Sly 95 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    I've got a Switch now, I linked my old account(never bought anything and it is tied to my hacked 3ds and wii u) but now I'm wondering if, before making any purchases, if I should create a new account instead, to avoid possible bans
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH