1. LoseSilent

    LoseSilent Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Canada

    Hey, Thanks for the suggestion! I know there's devices like this or you can even use your Phone.

    I'm really just looking for a way to not plug any device into the switch and go from completely powered off to Atmosphere. Or maybe into a dirty sysNAND that I could run an app or something on the switch to reboot into Atmosphere.

    Anyway, from what I've found online there's no easy way to do that yet so I might just cave and get a RCMloader. I was hopeful you guys had information I couldn't find via google.
     
  2. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,573
    Country:
    United States
    You need a modchip.
     
  3. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13,548
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you can just copy the content from one SD card to another. I don't understand what you are asking with your second question but for the third, you just copy the emuMMC folder to the other SD card.

    The Switch has a softmod in the form of Deja Vu but that is only for Erista consoles on firmware 4.1 or lower. Mariko consoles may never get a softmod let alone any other exploit. Just get a console on firmware 4.1 or lower, patched or unpatched.

    The console becomes tainted the moment you run any CFW or homebrew. However the exploit involves sending an RCM payload before booting to CFW or homebrew which does not taint the console. There are even RCM payloads that allow you to both dump and restore the eMMC before running CFW or homebrew. Therefore if you make an eMMC backup before running CFW/homebrew, stay offline with CFW/homebrew, and restore that backup prior to going online, you will be fine.
     
    drippy420 likes this.
  4. wormbug

    wormbug Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Would the new system update to the switch cause Atmosphere to not boot properly until updated with the new version by the creator? I keep getting error code 2002-2634 when booting into cfw and then trying to boot atmosphere-fusee.
     
  5. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,909
    Country:
    Australia
    You need to wait for atmosphere to update
     
  6. KuiperChaos

    KuiperChaos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    im pretty new to the switch modding community (and to the switch community in general) and i cant find in any guides or faq's how to check for rcm on a switch lite. i don't know what software it's running on, but I bought it in June 2020, so I'm guessing its one of the newer versions. am I just looking at outdated guides or is there really no way to mod the switch lite? i really don't want to have to buy the normal switch just to be able to play modded games.
     
  7. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13,548
    Country:
    United States
    The only way to hack a Switch Lite is with the modchip, SX Lite, which not only is hard to come by but may not be receiving future support as key members of TX has been arrested. There may never be another exploit for the Switch Lite in the foreseeable future but nothing is guaranteed.
     
    KuiperChaos likes this.
  8. KuiperChaos

    KuiperChaos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    that's a bit disappointing, but thanks for the help! I'm gonna see if I can get my hands on a SX Lite
     
  9. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,909
    Country:
    Australia
    Try to find a RCM vunerable unit if you can't and keep the lite for legit online
     
  10. KuiperChaos

    KuiperChaos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    pardon my ignorance, but what's considered an RCM vulnerable unit?
     
  11. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,573
    Country:
    United States
    V1 Unpatched unit.
     
  12. KuiperChaos

    KuiperChaos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    ohhhh ty
     
  13. DOTmjo

    DOTmjo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    If I wanted to sell a modded Switch, would it be possible to keep the custom firmware along with the games already installed but while also deleting all traces of the previous owner (mainly removing all references to old Nintendo profile)?
     
  14. superluccix

    superluccix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, years ago I went to this site to successfully homebrew my 3ds, and all these years later I wanted to see if it was possible with my Switch.

    However super noob here. Im looking on this site https://ismyswitchpatched.com/ where I put my serial number in and it says "
    Your console is not patched. Hooray!

    Possible firmware version out of the box: 4.1.0" (In case it matters, I bought this shortly after Smash came out)

    So Im assuming thats good. However when I look at recovery mode to see what software version I have, it says 10.2


    Basically I want to know which number am I supposed to be looking at. Because if its 4.1.0 according to multiple sites I have a chance, but assuming if its truly the 10.2 number, then it seems Im out of luck I think. If anybody could help Id appreciate it
     
  15. smudgester

    smudgester Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As long as ismyswitchpatched says "Your console is not patched" then it doesn't matter what software version it is running. The software version is only relevant if you console is patched.

    Mine is also unpatched & running 10.2.0 but is running Atmosphere fine. Just following the guide in the first post
     
  16. GCS

    GCS GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2020
    Messages:
    403
    Country:
    Turkey
    As @smudgester said fw doesn't matter, but if you are using fw 11.0 you should wait for Atmosphere/ Hekate to release the new version which I don't think would take that much time.
     
  17. superluccix

    superluccix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Alright perfect that definitely makes this easier. But if I can bug you again a bit, did you end up doing the physical tinkering of the switch in regards to the fusee-gelee hardware it mentions? Or did you end up using the software version? Im assuming the Atmosphere is the software version but just making sure. If it all possible, Id like to avoid physical tinkering and instead just follow the software guide.

    At the moment looks like Im following the guide where it talks about Caffeine. But before I continued just wanted to make sure if this sounds ok to do so far

    Edit: Also thanks to GCS for replying, only just saw after I posted this
     
  18. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,909
    Country:
    Australia
    As the others said it is unpatched which is good, 4.1.0 is the firmware had when you bought it, 10.2.0 is the current firmware that is installed. Just follow any of the switch guides and don't udpate to 11 yet

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    because it's unpatched fusee-gelee will work no matter what firmware - just need to wait for cfw to update
     
  19. superluccix

    superluccix Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so it sounds like choosing fusee-gelee is the way I should be going forward. Now Im debating if Im on the stage where Im supposed to check if my Switch has the capacity to use RCM to launch payloads, or if I can go directly to the step labeled "SD Card Setup Fusee-gelee"

    Assuming if its the former, then it seems I need to do that jury rigging with the ground pin 10. Dont know if there is a way for me to avoid that or not. Or maybe Im misunderstanding the step Im on. Sorry for the continued questions
     
  20. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,909
    Country:
    Australia
    If its unpatched you can launch rcm payloads

    fuse-primary is a rcm payload launched used to launch atmoshpere, follow the full setup guide. yes pin 10 will be required at least once to enable autorcm
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH