1. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,676
    Country:
    United States
    You will only be able to go online with your emuMMC since that is what Nintendo expects.
     
  2. LuigiXL

    LuigiXL GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    640
    Country:
    I am an SX user. I did not previously use Emunand, now I have created one, can I just move the Nintendo folder contents to Emutendo folder ?
     
  3. qaz015393

    qaz015393 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Country:
    United States
    I have a modded switch and was wondering if I can use my poke ball plus with/on it? I usually keep my wifi for the unit off so it doesn't get any issues (any only turn it on when I'm transferring Pokemon and master balls to my other games). By the way I'm on sx and use the dongle/payload method still if it matters at all.
     
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,676
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.

    I don't see why not.
     
  5. qaz015393

    qaz015393 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Country:
    United States
    Well it would have to connect to online for me to get my new that's on it. I can't use the poke ball plus with sword and shield otherwise I would have just done that. I want to unlock my mew from the poke ball plus but scared of connecting online to try and get the mystery gift. Could anyone else who has one let me know if it'll work without screwing my modded switch.
     
  6. Crezut

    Crezut GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    Norway
    probably some of many obvious questions coming from me soon: I am just getting started at hacking my Switch, and I am at the very beginning of birbchirps guide where I am supposed to backup my NAND.

    1. I am asked to download the latest build of hekate, and I just want to check if that means the hekate_ctcaer_5.3.3_Nyx_0.9.4.zip (494kb)-file, or is it something else or something more?

    2. is this possible to do on my Macbook or do I need to hop over on my Win-desktop? I think I remember something about file-problems with Mac, but I'm not sure it's been resolved yet.

    3. does my SD-card need to be formatted in a certain format that it might not be at the moment?

    4. on step 3 I'm supposed to inject the payload. how do I do that?

    hope someone has the time to help me out a bit :)
     
  7. GCS

    GCS Don't ask it, ALWAYS Backup the NAND!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2020
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Turkey
    1) Yes, it's correct.
    2 and 3) If you are asking about formatting you should be able to format to FAT32(recommended one) as far as I know.
    4) You can use this for sending payload on MACOS or use this online injector.
     
    Last edited by GCS, Oct 17, 2020
    Crezut likes this.
  8. Crezut

    Crezut GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    Norway
    alright - thanks for your reply :) I'll have to start by re-formatting my card to FAT32 then. I'll probably be back later with more lame questions :shy:
     
    GCS likes this.
  9. hacktro

    hacktro Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Germany
    That problem is occuring since older atmosphere version, where i only hat the cfw. (No bootoption between stock, sys, emu).
    So i think it is the normal Sysnand. If i go to data managment and want to show up my installed software there is nothing shown up.
     
  10. Crezut

    Crezut GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    Norway
    I am currently in the process of creating my emuMMC, and I am using the SD UMS to move files over to my laptop in order to partition my SD card first, and this is probably a stupid question - but how does storage between sysMMC and emuMMC work?

    it says I have HOS (FAT32) 116GB - and I know that what I am currently moving over to my laptop is like 93GB - so does that mean that I will not have enough space? as in, do I have to have enough space for 93GB times two on my SD card between the two - sys and emu?
     
  11. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,676
    Country:
    United States
    HOS (FAT32) 116 GB means you have that much space available on your SD card. You have used up 93 GB of it so far. emuMMC doesn't clone your SD card in any way, shape, or form. It clones your sysMMC which is 32 GB. emuMMC and sysMMC both use the same SD card contents so you don't need to allocate files for each.
     
    Crezut likes this.
  12. Crezut

    Crezut GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    Norway
    aah, thanks! that's perfect. I was trying to figure out where to get my hands on a 256GB card at 9pm on a sunday night in a country where the shops are closed on a sunday, so that's great to know :D
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  13. Crezut

    Crezut GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    Norway
    hiii - me again :shy: I have come to the point of "(Optional) Booting Atmosphere with Hekate" of birbchirps guide, and I'm not sure if I should or should not do that. what does it do, vs. what does not doing this do? I might just be too tired to understand if this if this is blaringly obvious, but I just don't want to mess this up
     
  14. RookieHaxer

    RookieHaxer Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Copied and pasted my issue from a few days ago because I didn't get a response:

     
  15. GCS

    GCS Don't ask it, ALWAYS Backup the NAND!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2020
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    Turkey
    It's not a hard thing to do. It's recommended to do it. You can get your SysNAND backup, create emuNAND, and some other things like booting Android, Linux, etc.
    If something goes wrong, SysNAND backup will be your saver and emuNAND will decrease the chances of getting banned or damaging your SysNAND.
     
    Last edited by GCS, Oct 19, 2020
    Crezut likes this.
  16. Space_Invaderx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having trouble entering RCM. I have tried the paper clip method with success in the past, but this time I just cannot get it to work. I bought a jig on ebay recently to see if that would help, but no luck. The Switch still works and boots up SysNAND, but I just can't get RCM. I am afraid I may have bent one of the pins while using the paper clip. Nothing looks out of place, but I know a small part like that can be sensitive. Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
     
  17. Space_Invaderx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Figured it out... User error... I needed to reinstall the drivers using the TegraRcmGUI app on my PC.
     
  18. lettuce

    lettuce GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    So i have just installed CFW (emuNAND) on a unpatched Switch using this guide, https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/, this method uses the hekate - CTCaer mod v5.3.3 & Nyx v0.9.4 to complete the whole CFW process and it also uses it for the payload!!!. Once i have everything set up am i able just to use vanilla Atmosphere for the payload, would this still use the emuNAND???

    The reason i ask is this will be for my niece so what to keep everything as seamless and straight forward as possible for her, so with hekate - CTCaer bring up the menu each time the payload is needed to be injected is not a good idea so Atmosphere seems like a more simpler option!!??
     
    Last edited by lettuce, Oct 19, 2020
  19. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,676
    Country:
    United States
    First off, CFW is never "installed" on the Switch. You always have to redo the exploit every time the console is turned off whether you are injecting payloads via RCM with Fusee Gelee or loading a webpage with PegaScape. Secondly, Hekate boots Atmosphere so you cannot compare Hekate to Atmosphere. Thirdly, if you want to avoid going into the Hekate menu, you can configure an autoboot profile.
     
    lettuce likes this.
  20. kakaka01

    kakaka01 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I screwed up my sxos somehow and just want to start fresh. How would I start fresh? Are there any files I need to keep? Am I able to save any of the games I have installed already? Thanks for the help in advance.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH