1. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    Status Monitor Overlay

    This is an overlay homebrew. You need to have installed Tesla environment to use it.

    Tool contains three modes to choose, each one is explained here.
    You can exit from selected mode by pressing and holding Left Stick + Right Stick. To exit from main menu press B.


    If Tesla won't show in dock, you need to first start Status Monitor, then put Nintendo Switch to dock.

    What is currently supported:
    - CPU Usage for each core (Cores #0-#2 are used by apps/games, Core #3 is used by OS, background processes and also Tesla overlays)
    - GPU Load
    - CPU, GPU & RAM actual frequency
    - Used RAM categorized to: Total, Application, Applet, System, System Unsafe (not supported by FWs <5.0.0)
    - SoC, PCB & Skin temperatures (Skin temperature not supported by FWs <5.0.0)
    - Fan Rotation Level
    - PFPS and FPS (with help of NX-FPS, more info in repo. Not installing it results in not showing FPS counters on full and mini overlay)


    Planned:
    - Add Graph mode

    Requirements:
    - From 0.4.1 You need Tesla Menu >=1.0.2

    Screenshots:
    mini.jpg fps.jpg screen.jpg

    Thanks to:
    - RetroNX channel for helping with coding stuff
    - SunTheCourier for sys-clk-Overlay from which I learned how to make my own Tesla homebrew
    - Herbaciarz for providing screenshots from HDMI Grabber

    FAQ:
    Q: This homebrew has any impact on games?
    A: Negligible, you won't see any difference. Almost everything is done within 1% of Core #3 at stock clocks, other cores usage is below 0.001%. Only high refresh rate for Full mode can take up to 4% of Core #3.

    Troubleshooting can be find here at the end:
    https://github.com/masagrator/Status-Monitor-Overlay/blob/master/README.md


    Download:
    https://github.com/masagrator/Status-Monitor-Overlay/releases
    Repo:
    https://github.com/masagrator/Status-Monitor-Overlay
     
    Last edited by masagrator, Mar 10, 2020
    satan89, splymb, gamesquest1 and 24 others like this.
  2. lh411

    lh411 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    China
    need 9.1?
     
  3. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    Everything is designed around Tesla. So you need to check Tesla requirements.
     
  4. Important Posts: 0.11
    masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    Status Monitor 0.11 released
    Code:
    Code was changed to make each CPU core independent, so they will not block each other in case of heavy load.
    Changed exit button from holding Left Stick to pressing Left Stick + Right Stick.
     
  5. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,199
    Country:
    Chile
    Nice :D
    Could print info about CPU/GPU speed (when overclocked)? I know EdiZon overlay includes this too, but it's rather heavy overlay, I would prefer use just one overlay for system status display.

    Edit: Oh, I see it's in the planned features, I need to learn reading :P
     
    Last edited by cucholix, Feb 20, 2020
  6. iriez

    iriez GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    United States
    Please add temperature =)
     
  7. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    It's already added in repo. Next release will have that for 100%.
     
    UltimateFight likes this.
  8. nmkd

    nmkd GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    551
    Country:
    Germany
    Hey OP, I added your overlay to my little list: https://github.com/n00mkrad/tesla-overlays-list
    Hope you don't mind :)
    And tell me if you wanna add anything. Or make a pull request, but I'm new to GitHub so idk if that's how you're supposed to do it :P
     
    UltimateFight likes this.
  9. Jonhy

    Jonhy GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    374
    Country:
    United States
    This is going to be perfect for benchmarking, especially for the people at Digital Foundry who previously had no reliable way to decern temperatures. Can't wait.
     
    Last edited by Jonhy, Feb 22, 2020
  10. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    Ok, everything is ready for 0.2. I'm waiting for something from my one colleague and it will be released.
    Got a tip from CTCaer where I can get GPU load, so this will probably be added in 0.3.

     
    Last edited by masagrator, Feb 21, 2020
  11. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,199
    Country:
    Chile
    This is pretty cool, had no idea about it :P
     
  12. blawar

    blawar Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,468
    Country:
    United States
    This is great for some developers, horrible for others hah.
     
  13. ecl0674

    ecl0674 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Russia
    Wow! This is freaking awesome! Cant wait for v0.2
    Thanks for your work! Is any chance to add fps counter? :)
     
  14. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    If there is, it's so small that I don't even know if it exists. There is many stuff on switchbrew unexplored, so maybe there is something that will output something that can be used to calculate FPS.
     
    ecl0674 likes this.
  15. SwitchHack

    SwitchHack GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Japan
    wow, let's hope
     
  16. Important Posts: 0.2
    masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    0.2 Update is live
    Code:
    # Added:
    > CPU:
    - Actual frequency
    > GPU
    - Actual frequency
    > RAM
    - Actual frequency
    - Used memory categorized to: Total, Application, Applet, System, System Unsafe
    > Temperatures
    - SoC temperature
    - PCB temperature
    - Skin temperature
    - Fan rotation level
    
    # Changes/fixes:
    - Changed interval for everything to 1s
    - Changed refresh rate to 1 FPS, which reduced homebrew usage of Core #3 from 26 percent points to 1 percent point
    - Core Usage now always starts at 0%
    
    GPU Load is already resolved. It will be added in 0.3 which will include new version of libtesla which will enable better text formatting and reduce code for drawing strings.
     
    Last edited by masagrator, Feb 21, 2020
    UnT7oh, hippy dave, ecl0674 and 2 others like this.
  17. UnT7oh

    UnT7oh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    This is a very useful overlay, thank you. In addition to the per core CPU stats can you add a total CPU stat?
     
  18. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    I'm not planning to add total CPU. I don't see a good reason to do that when Core #3 is always at higher percentage.
     
  19. UnT7oh

    UnT7oh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I'm confused, why do you regard that as a reason not to show a total CPU usage stat?
     
  20. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,538
    Country:
    Poland
    Because for me that means it shows no valuable information. I want to create second mode - minimal. Current mode will be called advanced or Standard and then maybe I will add total to it.
     
    UnT7oh likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - hardware, Monitor, Overlay