Starting from scratch

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DeltaBurnt, Dec 12, 2009.

Dec 12, 2009

Starting from scratch by DeltaBurnt at 9:02 PM (1,448 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so I've had my wii on 4.0 for awhile now because I've been pretty happy with it. It's been doing most of the stuff I want it to.

    Keyword: most

    I've noticed there's quite a good number of games that fail to be run via any usb loader because I just get a black screen after the wiimote safety screen. I made a topic about it awhile ago and people kept saying to make sure it's a good dump, use component cables instead of composite (which I have no idea why that would help), or just start from scratch. I'm starting to think it's maybe games with certain 3d codecs that cause the problem. I say this because almost any 2D-like game I've tried works (NSMBW, Muramasa, Super Paper Mario) while alot of 3D games don't work (Conduit, WarioWare, No More Heroes, Trauma Center: New Blood).

    So I've finally gotten sick of things not working so I wanted to know the best way to start from scratch on 4.0.

    Here's what I got:
    • Cioscorp (not 3.5 I think it was like 3.2 or 3.3)
    • Bootmii beta 2
    • Homebrew Channel 1.0.3
    • 2 NAND backups (1 before cioscorp install made with bootmii beta 2...I think, and one made with only homebrew channel installed and made on beta 1)
    • I obviously can't update bootmii because of cioscorp
    • cios rev 15
    • System menu 4.0
    I know the easiest way to do this would be to restore one of the NAND backups, but for one that won't really accomplish what I want...I really want to start from scratch and update to 4.1 to see if that helps, and for the second reason I'm not sure if the backups are good. I remember reading a little bit back that some backups made with the older versions of bootmii may not be good.

    I also don't want to update to 4.2 because of the bricking chance and because having all the patched IOSs and the new boot2 is just gonna make things more complicated (I know there's guides out there...but still).

    So basically I just want a way to update to 4.1 with all my IOSs overwritten with official ones.
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    It's nothing to do with 3D codecs, I can guarantee you that because those are not stored on the wii. And even if they were, you would need them for NSMBW for the sprites. What do the games do?
     
  3. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I can get further into some than in other. Most of the time I either see the wii remote safety screen, a notice to turn my wiimote sideways, or a copyright screen. After that it's just a black screen. I can do nothing except hard reset my wii, I can't even turn it off with my wii mote.

    I've tried installing many different supposed required IOSs for each game but that doesn't work. I've also tried reformatting my usb dozens of times.
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    its indeed not because anything related to 3D
    and its not for not updating (as 4.1 just gives a small fix and 4.2 removes homebrew)

    The cIOS rev shouldn't be the problem since you use USB loaders
    But have you tried using hermes cIOS ?
    The only other thing I can think of is wrong settings in your loader.
     
  5. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Trust me I have tried everything: cios 202 222 and 223, tons of different usb loaders, tons of different options.

    And the 3d codec thing was just a thought :\
     
  6. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Aaaahhh, I think I know the problem. When I used to install games off of discs straight to USB, I would get the EXACT SAME PROBLEMS. After that my DVD drive died. Even after that when I tried for NO reason to install a game to USB from a ISO mounted on the Wii through Flatmii, it still gave the same problem.

    Try loading one of those games through a WBFS manager.
     
  7. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I'm using T.T

    I'm using WBFS Manager 3.0.1
     
  8. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Do your ISOs work from disc?
     
  9. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    You mean like burnt to a blank DVD? I'm not sure, but I don't want to try because I'm saving the last of my DVDs for my Gamecube ISOs. Plus I don't have a DVD burner anymore, I'm going to have to buy a new one, my old one stopped working.
     
  10. rolandpibb

    Member rolandpibb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Canada
    Go back to your earliest Nand dump. The early BootMii ones should work fine, google for the "wrong nand" bootmii fix. Why did you install CiosCORP? Everytime I read of a "why won't this one work" nightmare, someone usually has CiosCORP installed.
     
  11. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    I actually installed cioscorp to try and fix this.

    So no, cioscorp is not the cause of the problem.
     
  12. rolandpibb

    Member rolandpibb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think you're correct. As I understand CiosCORP replaces just about every System IOS with their own. If you're having problems loading games, I would go back to before CiosCORP (as far back as you can) and start there.

    Thank goodness for guides like xzxero's. Takes the guess work out of many things.
     
  13. antiaverage

    Member antiaverage GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Country:
    United States
    It really sounds like your IOS files are messed up. Take a look at this page:
    http://wiihacks.pbworks.com/Firmware

    While you don't have to go upgrading your firmware, at least read about the IOS files that the page mentions. You'll notice many of them are necessary to run certain games. cIOSCORP may have put them in a state where they aren't working the way the games need them to work.

    I would at least recommend going through this list and use dop-IOS MOD or WAD Manager to install the latest versions:

    IOS21-64-v782 - Used by: old third-party titles (No More Heroes).
    IOS35-64-v3349 - Used by: Super Mario Galaxy.
    IOS36-64-v3351 - Used by: Smash Bros. Brawl, Mario Kart Wii. Can be ES_Identify patched.
    IOS37-64-v3869 - Used by: Mostly music games (Guitar Hero).
    IOS38-64-v3867 - Used by: Some modern titles (Animal Crossing).
    IOS53-64-v5406 - Used by: Some modern games and channels.
    IOS55-64-v5406 - Used by: Some modern games and channels.
    IOS56-64-v5405 - Used by: Only Wii Speak Channel 2.0.
    IOS57-64-v5661 - Contains new or updated modules "OHCI0 USB USB_HID USB_HUB USB_MSC USB_VEN ETH"
    IOS61-64-v5405 - Used by: Shop Channel 4.x.
     

Share This Page