Spirit Tracks Fix for M3 Sakura

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Densetsu, Dec 5, 2009.

Dec 5, 2009
  1. Densetsu
    OP

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    Spirit Tracks Fix for M3 Sakura v1.44 and Below

    Download the Spirit Tracks Fix


    NOTE TO MODERATORS (01/19/2010): Thanks to whoever stickied this thread, but since M3 Sakura v1.45 4th Edition was released, there seems to be no need for this fix anymore. Please feel free to un-sticky this topic at your convenience [​IMG]

    NOTE: If you are starting a new game on Spirit Tracks, this fix is no longer needed as of the v1.45 *REVISED* (M17) release of Sakura on 12/23/2009. Spirit Tracks works perfectly with the most current release of Sakura, no patch or hacked save file required!

    WARNING! If you have been using a hacked save file for Spirit Tracks prior to the release of v1.45, updating to v1.45 may corrupt your save! Back up your saves prior to updating! If you lost your save file as a result of the original v1.45 update (before it was revised), here's a possible fix that has worked for some people.Instructions for Sakura v1.44 and Below:[*]Extract the contents of 8931-LoZ_Fix.rar. The patch will be in the xpa-zstc folder.[*]Copy a clean ROM dump into the same folder as the patch.[*]Rename the ROM to "xpa-lzst.nds".[*]Run xpa-zstc.bat to generate a patched ROM (xpa-lzst-cracked.nds).[*]Copy "xpa-lzst-cracked.nds" and "lzst.sav" onto your MicroSD card.[*]Rename "xpa-lzst-cracked.nds" and "lzst.sav" file so that they have exactly the same name (e.g., Spirit Tracks.nds and Spirit Tracks.sav).[*]Disable any cheats, RTS, soft-reset, slow-motion, etc. in the M3 Sakura NDS Game Settings.[*]Enjoy!NOTE: The xpa patch only works with the (U) version of the ROM.
    Serial: NTR-BKIE-USA
    CRC32: 3170189FInstructions for Sakura v1.44 2nd Edition:[*]Extract the contents of 8931-LoZ_Fix.rar. Delete the xpa-zstc folder (you only need the "lzst.sav" file). [*]Copy a clean ROM dump and "lzst.sav" onto your MicroSD card.[*]Rename the ROM and "lzst.sav" file so that they have exactly the same name (e.g., Spirit Tracks.nds and Spirit Tracks.sav).[*]Disable any cheats, RTS, soft-reset, slow-motion, etc. in the M3 Sakura NDS Game Settings.[*]Enjoy!NOTE: You can use either the (U) or the (E) version of the ROM (clean dump) with this save file. The xpa patch is no longer needed (and doesn't work on the (E) version anyway). The current save file is not the one created by Benighted using DeSmuME (as it originally was). In case anyone's interested, this save file was created using the following Windows command prompt:
    Code:
    fsutil file createnew test.sav 1048576
    Instructions for Sakura v1.45 Revised and Later:
    This fix is not needed.
     


  2. Giratina3

    Member Giratina3 Official Lilac of GBATemp

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    Leicestershire, United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works like a charm thank you.
     
  3. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,592
    Country:
    United States
    (alto I'm getting a hard copy) Awesome!!! Thanks. :)

    O.o Sticky?
     
  4. LeonardoGolden

    Member LeonardoGolden GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    United States
    I'll wait for an official fix, I like clean ROMs.
     
  5. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,729
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Also this works with the touchpad as well ^-^ I tested it on my brother's DS, working fine, I am also testing this on iTouch.
    Edit: Good New all, works fine on iTouch DS, no freezing, saves, and controls are still there!
     
  6. kniteowl

    Newcomer kniteowl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    New Zealand
    I followed the steps & it still doesn't work for me, I'm stuck on the Nintendo Logo Screen

    EDIT: nevermind, I had a spelling mistake with the .SAV file lol!
     
  7. taken

    Member taken GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    520
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also works with the Edge and Cyclo Ds Evo aswell. With the save file and patch.
     
  8. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,729
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    What are you running on your card?
     
  9. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You do need the patch and the .sav
    Itouch Ds
     
  10. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,729
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Seriously o.o I could have done that all day, but I waited for the patch >.< oi!!!!!!!
    Edit: Wrong, it freezes at the train without the patch, well at least it did with me, I am going to use the patch, I trust it more
     
  11. Densetsu
    OP

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried it with a clean dump of the ROM and it works for me [​IMG] No patch necessary.

    But I just started, haven't made it to the train yet. I'll update again if I run into any problems.

    *EDIT*
    Yep, freezes once you get on the train. I uploaded the original xpa/Benighted combo fix and instructions again.
     
  12. ChuckBartowski

    Member ChuckBartowski GBATemp Nerd Herd Specialist

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone got a hex edit fix?
     
  13. aragon

    Member aragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    I can confirm that the patch and save file work with Sakura 1.42 on my M3 Real as well.
    So I can finish my Phantom Hourglass this week and continue to Spirit Tracks - yoohoo!
    [​IMG]
     
  14. fishykipper

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    works like a charm! i thank all!!!

    And to the poster above, you are correct as long as you have the hacked save file, you've no need to patch the rom..! Personally i find it better to have a clean rom! Thanks to all who worked on this!
     
  15. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,592
    Country:
    United States
    So you got pass the train without the patche?
     
  16. fishykipper

    Member fishykipper pkmn breeder

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    actually i take that back...theres no train controls!

    back to the patch it is!


    in fact without the patch, the game completely freezes as you enter the train!
     
  17. Roebb

    Newcomer Roebb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Germany
    Hm, i've done all the steps, without any error or something like that. But the game freezes at the Xenophobia logo, even before starting the game.
    Tried to reformat my micro SD via Panasonic Formatter, downloading the game from another page, patching again, only just to see my ds freeze at the same screen again.
    I'm using M3 Sakura 1.44 and the fix from this thread.

    It worked just fine with only the savegame, up until you board the train for the first time. So I think, something might be wrong with the patch, or maybe I'm just plain too dumb [​IMG]

    edit: Tested again. i just got the patched game with the savegame, and the clean one with the savegame on the same microSD. The clean one works until the first train ride (blackscreen). The patched one doesnt even start, because it freezes at the Xenophobia screen. So the rom is valid, but something seems to mess up when i'm patching the game. Any ideas?

    edit2: Nevermind that, had RTS activated.... seems i'm just plain dumb, and the fix works just fine now.
    Thanks anyway :)
     
  18. powerruletheeart

    Newcomer powerruletheeart Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When i try to play it says the bookmark file is damaged or somthing?
     
  19. ProfessorLesser

    Newcomer ProfessorLesser Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey, I'm sure this is a dumb question, but I'm having trouble in the final stages of the patch. I can't rename the patched ROM (which appears to be 0bytes) while the original ROM is still on the card - because obviously they have the same name. But the hacked .sav has to have the same name as the original ROM to run, right? What am I missing here?

    To simplify, say my original ROM was Zelda.nds.

    Now I've got a hacked ROM and save-file, ZeldaH.nds and ZeldaH.sav. What do I need to do with these three files in order to get the bugger to play?

    Thanks for your time :-)
     
  20. Densetsu
    OP

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    Why would you want two of the same ROM on your flashcard? Just use the patched one.
     

Share This Page