DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,583
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,026
Country
Antarctica
JTAG/RGH is both hardware.
With RGH being the most recent.

I doubt it.
If you've read it closely, the flaw was already discovered and has been known about for a long time.
Plenty of time for MS to patch it.

Besides, you first need to gain access to the CPU with the machine.
 

WD_Gaster

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
86
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
137
Country
France
so while the author is not sure there may have been a game that shipped with the bug? does that mean that there may be a mechassault style exploit for the 360 that nobody ever uncovered? that be cool.
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,583
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
23,026
Country
Antarctica
so while the author is not sure there may have been a game that shipped with the bug? does that mean that there may be a mechassault style exploit for the 360 that nobody ever uncovered? that be cool.

I doubt it.
Not to mention that you'd need R/W access as well.
 

TeamScriptKiddies

Licensed Nintendo (indie) Game Developer
Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2014
Messages
1,970
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Planet Earth :P
XP
1,703
Country
United States
Its not likely that an entirely soft-mod solution could be implemented using this, however it might be possible to combine this with some sort of hardware exploit (for writing to NAND) as another more stable option for troublesome boards that don't play nice with RGH (Xenon's, Zephyr's aka firestarters/space heaters lol). As much as I'd love to see another King Kong-esque hack for unsigned code on the 360, I'm not holding my breathe. You'd be more likely to win the lottery twice in a row lol. If something does come out of this (even if it requires hardware, which it likely will) that would be amazing either way <3
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tizm and kragzy

c4eva

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2017
Messages
29
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
147
Country
United Kingdom
i believe slow down on the smc was attempted but was unsuccessful - hardware is still required.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
It would be really cool to see something out of this. Not for piracy, but for homebrews like Emulators. Seeing NES/SNES/N64 being played in 720P or 1080P would be awesome!
I don't wanna risk damaging my Jasper motherboard by incorrectly soldering anything. To add more to it, I don't even know how to solder. I'm already prepared for any softmods that'll come out. Got a 120GB hdd, 3 flash drives, and tools to take it apart for a disc-swap method. (If needed)
Ruining my jasper would be terrible though, as it's always been my robot bff, XD
 

brickmii82

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
1,442
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
2,930
Country
United States
I don’t think the emulation is THAT bad. Mupen64 plays Mario 64 and Ocarina of Time, so I’m happy with it lol. FCE 0.6 works decent enough. SNES 360 works well enough, but omfg I’m tired of hearing Boom Boom Pow. And it could use some .xex porting. The Sega emulator is decent. Game boy stuff works.

Although the OG Wii does most of that better lol. Cheaper too.
 

brickmii82

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2015
Messages
1,442
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
2,930
Country
United States
PS1 games on PCSxr360 generally run better than on WiiSX. Other than that.... well shit. I can’t think of any other than that lol.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: amazon seems decent enough