Some problems with booting

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Sjaz, Oct 22, 2009.

Oct 22, 2009

Some problems with booting by Sjaz at 6:27 PM (2,286 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. Sjaz
    OP

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    my Wii has some 'problems' when it's booting. Well, it aren't problems, but I don't know how to call it. I'll tell what I've done:

    A while ago I installed BootMii as boot2. After that, everytime my Wii boots I'll see the following: cboot DOL loader. And then some text. After that, it launches WAD Mannager 1.4. I guess that's no problem, but it takes so much time before I can finally start a game after powering on my Wii.

    So I read about preloader. With preloader I could immediately let the Wii boot to System Menu, so no longer the waiting! Well, installing went perfect, pretty easy. I restarted my Wii, but I still got to see the cboot thing and wad manager. After that, preloader launches.

    My question is: is there a way to turn the cboot and WAD manager things off? Thank you very much. [​IMG]



    Another question which has nothing to do with above: I'm going to buy Guitar Hero 5, but I read some things about a system update on the disc. I'm currently on 4.0E, but I don't want to update (or at least, is there an easy way to update, while keeping HBC and stuff?). So are the stories true about an update on the disc? If that's the case, is there a way to just play Guitar Hero 5 without updating? Thanks.
     


  2. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    1. Delete the files SD:\startup.elf, SD:\boot.dol and SD:\bootmii\armboot.bin. Then, use the HackMii Installer to generate the original, cBoot2 unpatched file. That must do the work, I think.
    2. GeckoOS?
     
  3. Ultralex

    Member Ultralex GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Germany
    easier would be to put out the SD card while starting the wii
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    all u have 2 do is rename the bootmii folder

    look into bootmii switch, THAT is the easiest fix, guaranteed
     
  5. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Doesn't he want to delete the cBoot2 thing? He will sure need to do what I said if needs to load BootMii.
     
  6. Sjaz
    OP

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank you, the cBoot and Wad manager things don't appear anymore [​IMG].

    Going to buy GH 5 today. So if I just use GeckoOS, it'll block the update?
     
  7. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    However, i guess its not the same deal you asking.

    Safer is to dump the game and load it via usb
     
  8. Sjaz
    OP

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Isn't there a back-up loader which can block it? Because I don't have an external HD or something.

    And another problem... Since I deleted the bootmii files, my Wii fan keeps blowing when I turn it off! Is it just broken, or has it something to do with bootmii?
     
  9. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Which firmware are u running?
    you can try to use starpatch
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/StartPatch

    I've never used it, but it might do the trick.

    As for the fan...have no idea.
     
  10. Sjaz
    OP

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, I already looked at StartPatch, but the Block Disc Updates is only for system menu 4.2 (I'm on 4.0E). Well, thanks anyway. [​IMG]
     
  11. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    wrong....
    look lower on this page

    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/StartPatch

    There is a version for 4.0
     
  12. Sjaz
    OP

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yep, but that's an old version (StartPatch v4.0.5E). The newest version is StartPatch v4.2.3E, and only that version includes the block disc updates. Yes, I already tried it on my Wii, but there's no such option for 4.0 [​IMG]
     
  13. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Advise you to use GX Loader or NeoGamma,

    Both those loaders block updates, and they can boot burned disks (i guess originals too [​IMG])
     
  14. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    It is safe, believe me. Remember that most of the channels, games and titles runs under a specify IOS. That will only install the IOS required by the game; no other title is involved on the proccess (including the System Menu). Otherwise, it won't run / you'll obtain a black screen. It was a good idea from the GeckoOS development team.
     
  15. Sjaz
    OP

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So I just first downloaded the game to see how it actually plays. It worked great after installing cIOSCORP 3.4, it only seemed that the online part didn't work. Well, I really wanted to play online so I went Googling. I found some things, and installed IOS56-64-v5146.wad which hopefully would fix the problem. And now the disc can't be read anymore, it just says when I boot the game: Unable to read the disc.

    Well crap, it could load before I installed IOS56-64-v5146.wad. So, is there a way to uninstall the IOS or something?




    EDIT: I think I'm going to update to 4.2E, that way I'll lose all my installed things (right?) so I can start all over again. [​IMG]
    I heard I MUSN'T update through Nintendo's update, so is there some sort of tool?
     
  16. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    AnyTitle Deleter DB? Anyway, if you don't have some IOS, like 37, 38, 53, 55 and 56, you can install them with Dop-IOS.
     
  17. Sjaz
    OP

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
     
  18. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    You have to patch/install a trucha bugged version of the IOS 36 to make the app work correctly. Sorry about that. Regarding your question, well, have you seen the zektor's thread?
     
  19. Sjaz
    OP

    Newcomer Sjaz Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank you very much! I'm going to update then. [​IMG]
     
  20. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Safe updater 4.2 [​IMG]

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=184057

    as the name states...it's "safe" [​IMG]
     

Share This Page