Hacking Softmodded Wii Brick

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
Howdy everyone.
I was given this softmodded wii bricked.
Here's the scenario:

Black screen, no remote sync'ed, no wifi connection (can't setup without system menu nor I know the current settings.. )
It have bootmii installed as boot2, it loads the files from bootmii dir so I get bootmii menu. Homebrew channel works.
I have a gamecube pad to control it.
Case was replaced to a black one so I can't tell for sure what version it is. Bootmii menu info says it's 4.1U tough.
When I loaded bootmii info I have this information:

BootMii v1.2
Stub v0.9
Mini v0.3

Console ID: xxxxxxxx
SysMenu: 4.1U boot1b boot2v2
NAND FS usage: 69.5%

What I have tried
- Pimp my wii: stacks
- Darkcorp: hangs
- cIOS 20b: stacks
- Wad Manager 1.7 stacks

Any help?
Thank you!
 

C.S.I.

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2010
Messages
410
Trophies
0
Location
Down under
Website
Visit site
XP
57
Country
Try MMM.

Use it to trucha patch ios36.

Then you should be able to use the patched IOS36 to install a new IOS for your System Menu. (60 for 4.1),
or install IOS70 WAD & 4.2 Sys menu WAD in that order.

Let us know how you go, or wait for a better reply =)
 

trumpet-205

Embrace the darkness within
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
4,363
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
693
Country
United States
You might want to check bluetooth module, since you mention that "no remote sync'ed".

Also, for system menu 4.2, make sure to install IOS70v6687 first.
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
@C.S.I: thank you for your fast response! - MMM - Multi Mod Manager?
Also, I managed to have Dop-mii up and running.. I took screenshoots. Dunno if it will help but..

11252010030950.jpg


11252010031116.jpg

It hangs here.

@trumpet -205 - I don't have the mote that was sync'ed with this wii. I can't sync it without system menu coz bluetooth driver isn't loaded - that's what I heard
wink.gif
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
You should run syscheck. Backup and format your sd card.
Extract CB2_BB_SysCheck_1.6.1.zip to sd:\
Then boot your wii, let the scan run and post the cvs report from your sd card here.

Also, install cios r17 or greater, you have r7. You don't need to trucha bug anything, you have plenty of that. Also try to load HBC and run neogamma, load a game (after you install cios r17) see if the game loads.
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
There is it mauifrog!
Hope you can help me
smile.gif


I just tried cIOS r17 and it crashed in the main screen. Hangs there, no stacks.


sysCheck v1.6.1 by Erik Spyder

Region unknown
The system menu v449 is running under IOS36 (rev 16)
Hollywood v0x11
Console ID: [edited]
Boot2 v2
Found 257 titles
Found 42 IOS on this console
Found 5 IOS Stubs on this console

IOS (revision),IOS Stub,Trucha Bug,ES Identify,Flash Access,NAND Access,Boot2 Access,USB 2.0
IOS4 (rev 65280),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?
IOS9 (rev 778),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS10 (rev 768),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?
IOS11 (rev 10),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS12 (rev 269),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS13 (rev 273),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS14 (rev 520),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS15 (rev 523),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS16 (rev 512),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?
IOS17 (rev 775),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS20 (rev 12),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS21 (rev 782),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS22 (rev 1037),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS28 (rev 1550),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS30 (rev 2576),No,Disabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS31 (rev 3349),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS33 (rev 3091),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS34 (rev 3348),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS35 (rev 3349),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS36 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS37 (rev 3869),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS38 (rev 3867),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS40 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS41 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS43 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS45 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS46 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS48 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS50 (rev 4889),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS51 (rev 4864),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?
IOS52 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS53 (rev 5406),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS55 (rev 5406),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS56 (rev 5405),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS57 (rev 5661),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS58 (rev 6175),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS60 (rev 6174),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS61 (rev 5405),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS70 (rev 6687),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS80 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS202 (rev 2),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled
IOS222 (rev 3),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled
IOS223 (rev 3),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled
IOS236 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS249 (rev 7),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS250 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
IOS254 (rev 260),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?


Report generated on 2000/01/25
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
After running MMM, installed IOS60 and SYSTEM MENU 4.1U
I re-run that DOP-Mii test.
Only IOS 36 (65535) changed it's state to enabled on all columns but the last one.
 

bjorno

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
429
Trophies
0
XP
209
Country
Netherlands
Just do as other people say, reinstall system menu with ios. good that you got BOOTMII as boot 2
smile.gif
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
I did that bjorno. No result. Still black screen

Also noticed that console region: Unknown?
biggrin.gif


When I try to launch a title using Priiloader I get a warning message " TMDSize error on 00010001-41564B55 "
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
Your brick is caused by the region unkown, your setting.txt is messed up. Probably someone uninstalled the system menu, then reinstalled it.

Extract CB2_BB_System-Settings-Replace_MOD.zip to sd:\
Copy sd:\ntsc\setting.txt to sd:\
Boot the wii, use your gc controller
Select ios36
Replace your setting.txt

Your wii should be fixed

When you reinstall cios r17 or greater, use ios36 to run the installer.

Also, if you care, you can use SettingEdit.rar to edit the SN to match that of your wii. It does not really matter, unless you don't want to have the same SN as everyone else who ran that app.
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
Thank you again mauifrog!

The tool you sent me says "setting.txt" file is too large 7kb max 4kb

Re-run the tool..
and now it boots to healt screen!
biggrin.gif


Opps... too good to be true.
Now when I press A in the wiimote (I managed to sync it) it goes to back screen.

What could be leading to this?

I loaded MMM and used the system info tab
After I used your tool to fix the setting.txt file more info appeared.
Parental settings wpoeirp2o3i42-039i4-29384-2-2349 lots of crap in the screen.. then the program hangs
There's any magic tool to clean that parental settings?
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
When you get to the health screen, try holding + -, then press A while holding. See if that loads the maintenance mode. If so, do a system format from the wii settings.

If not, you could have a banner brick. Try to extract http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?0lbh0w3f89m31xd to sd:\ Keep the cb2 files on the card from the other dl.
Boot the wii, MMM should load.
Extract http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ga6wbcghzgo3ffd to sd:\apps\hbc-forwarder
Then when MMM loads, select app manager and load HBC forwarder. This should load the HBC.

You can try to load Any Title Deleter DB - http://www.mediafire.com/?zizmwm4ntym from the HBC
When you load it, select ios36 or 250. Have a look at installed channels, leave the system titles and system channels and hidden channel alone.
In the installed channels, try not to delete the HBC. See what you have listed and you can delete all but the HBC. HBC has an ID of HAXX, JODI, or the new one (which I don't know).
If you have a banner brick, deleting the bad channel should fix your issue.
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
just tried.. looks like a banner brick then

Downloading your file.. 'ill report back in a few. If possible please stay around
smile.gif


** fixed it ***

Managed to get it into maintence mode
biggrin.gif

Tried to format from wii settings... and looks like it hangs
frown.gif


Confirmed. It hangs! The blue waiting square does nothing.
While in the AnyTitleEraser, there's one channel that if I try to erase, stack overflow the console.
his name is AVKU (41564b55) : (No name)
and the homebrew channel is called ........... (af1bf516) : *The Homebrew Channel (Brew like a pro!)*

For System Channel Titles I have:
News Channel, Forecast channel, Photo Channel 1.1, Wii Shop Channel, +.........................+, Mii Channel
This +....+ is called HAAA (48414141). It's safe to delete this one?
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
Downloaded a 'regular' version of AnyTitleEraser and launched it via HBC. It managed to erase that AKVU channel.
Then I tried to formart the nand using Wii Settings, still hangs there.
frown.gif


I managed to install cIOS 17 using WadImporter and a cIOS17.wad file. Now it says that's running 249 (v17).

Wad Manager still doesnt work - Hangs in the 1st screen doesn't even let me select what ios to load.

Installed IOS 80 and System Menu 4.2U.. still a no go.

So this is a semi brick now. I managed to sync my mote and I can setup internet connection now
smile.gif


Any ideas?

Looks like this nand is really really messed up.
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
If the system format hangs from the wii settings, you can try to format with the Nintendo Backup Disc. You can load it from Neogamma, but you need cios installed. Just use the delete all function. This may also freeze on you.

You don't have a bannerbrick, but you do have a corruption of your system- sounds like a mail brick.

You can also try this to fix a mailbrick
mailbox_brick_fix-det1re.zip
QUOTE said:
1. Copy "apps" and "fstoolbox" to your SD card root and overwrite if asked.

2. Startup the Wii and boot HBC (you can use BootMii, Preloader or the Maintainance mode)
to do so.

3. From HBC, run FSToolbox r50 and follow the on-screen instructions until you see your
Wii's file struct (import, meta, shared1, shared2, sys, ticket, title, tmp).

4. Navigate to shared2/wc24/ and replace any file with the one from SD by pressing PLUS.

5. Navigate to shared2/wc24/mbox/ and do the same there.

6. End the app and restart the Wii. You will get a message that your Mail account is broken
and will be restored.

7. ????

8. PROFIT!

If non of that is working, just format your nand with the comix nand formater. Here is a guide that will walk you through it-
using-nand-formatter-completely-re-install-your-wii
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
Thank you very much AGAIN for your fast reply.
I'll try each option possible in the order you posted.
But I have to tell you.. Im really looking for a complete wipe
smile.gif

4.1U can be found on WiiSports?
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
The nand formater will give you a clean wipe. Wii sports does not have 4.1, NSMB does. But you don't need a disc, you can just cb2 Multi Mod Manager and install all the missing ios wads and channels you like if you don't have a disc.

If you follow my guide below, you'll have all your ios and the shop channel. Then just install any other channel you like with MMM.
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
So... formatting it fixed the mess! Wooohooooooo
Wii boots now.. as brand new!

I can throw away the nand backup and make a new one?
Also, I can change the serial number using that setting.txt editor?
Now what's next... empty wii.. ohh joy
smile.gif


Just to make sure.. all the ios returned to stock?

In time.. can't thank you enough mauifrog! good Karma from me!
smile.gif


Could you please tell me what are my missing IOS WADS and channels?
Any tool that can help me on that matter?
 

mauifrog

DA KINE WiiHacker
Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
1,587
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
392
Country
United States
You'll need to softmod the wii again. You can follow my guide below or use the modmii app, either will get all your needed cios and ios installed. As for the channels, you can install those with MMM or Dop-mii. Just install the ones you want to have or all of them.

The setting.txt editor allows you to edit or create a setting.txt, which you can use to change your SN. You may have trouble doing it after the format, it may give an error.
 

Usuario-X

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 25, 2010
Messages
56
Trophies
0
XP
144
Country
United States
Got up and running in GREAT shape!

Another happy user served by mauifrog!

Thank you very much.
If you need any help with 360s, lemme know
smile.gif
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: It's already scented so your dogg can have a high time +1