Softmodded Wii Brick

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Usuario-X, Nov 25, 2010.

Nov 25, 2010

Softmodded Wii Brick by Usuario-X at 4:44 AM (2,330 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Howdy everyone.
    I was given this softmodded wii bricked.
    Here's the scenario:

    Black screen, no remote sync'ed, no wifi connection (can't setup without system menu nor I know the current settings.. )
    It have bootmii installed as boot2, it loads the files from bootmii dir so I get bootmii menu. Homebrew channel works.
    I have a gamecube pad to control it.
    Case was replaced to a black one so I can't tell for sure what version it is. Bootmii menu info says it's 4.1U tough.
    When I loaded bootmii info I have this information:

    BootMii v1.2
    Stub v0.9
    Mini v0.3

    Console ID: xxxxxxxx
    SysMenu: 4.1U boot1b boot2v2
    NAND FS usage: 69.5%

    What I have tried
    - Pimp my wii: stacks
    - Darkcorp: hangs
    - cIOS 20b: stacks
    - Wad Manager 1.7 stacks

    Any help?
    Thank you!
     
  2. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Try MMM.

    Use it to trucha patch ios36.

    Then you should be able to use the patched IOS36 to install a new IOS for your System Menu. (60 for 4.1),
    or install IOS70 WAD & 4.2 Sys menu WAD in that order.

    Let us know how you go, or wait for a better reply =)
     
  3. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    You might want to check bluetooth module, since you mention that "no remote sync'ed".

    Also, for system menu 4.2, make sure to install IOS70v6687 first.
     
  4. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    @C.S.I: thank you for your fast response! - MMM - Multi Mod Manager?
    Also, I managed to have Dop-mii up and running.. I took screenshoots. Dunno if it will help but..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    It hangs here.

    @trumpet -205 - I don't have the mote that was sync'ed with this wii. I can't sync it without system menu coz bluetooth driver isn't loaded - that's what I heard [​IMG]
     
  5. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    You should run syscheck. Backup and format your sd card.
    Extract CB2_BB_SysCheck_1.6.1.zip to sd:\
    Then boot your wii, let the scan run and post the cvs report from your sd card here.

    Also, install cios r17 or greater, you have r7. You don't need to trucha bug anything, you have plenty of that. Also try to load HBC and run neogamma, load a game (after you install cios r17) see if the game loads.
     
  6. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    There is it mauifrog!
    Hope you can help me [​IMG]

    I just tried cIOS r17 and it crashed in the main screen. Hangs there, no stacks.


    sysCheck v1.6.1 by Erik Spyder

    Region unknown
    The system menu v449 is running under IOS36 (rev 16)
    Hollywood v0x11
    Console ID: [edited]
    Boot2 v2
    Found 257 titles
    Found 42 IOS on this console
    Found 5 IOS Stubs on this console

    IOS (revision),IOS Stub,Trucha Bug,ES Identify,Flash Access,NAND Access,Boot2 Access,USB 2.0
    IOS4 (rev 65280),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?
    IOS9 (rev 778),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS10 (rev 768),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?
    IOS11 (rev 10),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS12 (rev 269),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS13 (rev 273),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS14 (rev 520),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS15 (rev 523),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS16 (rev 512),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?
    IOS17 (rev 775),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS20 (rev 12),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS21 (rev 782),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS22 (rev 1037),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS28 (rev 1550),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS30 (rev 2576),No,Disabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS31 (rev 3349),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS33 (rev 3091),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS34 (rev 3348),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS35 (rev 3349),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS36 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS37 (rev 3869),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS38 (rev 3867),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS40 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS41 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS43 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS45 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS46 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS48 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS50 (rev 4889),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS51 (rev 4864),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?
    IOS52 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS53 (rev 5406),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS55 (rev 5406),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS56 (rev 5405),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS57 (rev 5661),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS58 (rev 6175),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS60 (rev 6174),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS61 (rev 5405),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS70 (rev 6687),No,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS80 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS202 (rev 2),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled
    IOS222 (rev 3),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled
    IOS223 (rev 3),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled
    IOS236 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS249 (rev 7),No,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS250 (rev 65535),No,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled,Enabled,Disabled,Disabled
    IOS254 (rev 260),Yes,?,?,?,?,?,?


    Report generated on 2000/01/25
     
  7. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    After running MMM, installed IOS60 and SYSTEM MENU 4.1U
    I re-run that DOP-Mii test.
    Only IOS 36 (65535) changed it's state to enabled on all columns but the last one.
     
  8. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just do as other people say, reinstall system menu with ios. good that you got BOOTMII as boot 2 [​IMG]
     
  9. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    I did that bjorno. No result. Still black screen

    Also noticed that console region: Unknown? [​IMG]

    When I try to launch a title using Priiloader I get a warning message " TMDSize error on 00010001-41564B55 "
     
  10. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    Your brick is caused by the region unkown, your setting.txt is messed up. Probably someone uninstalled the system menu, then reinstalled it.

    Extract CB2_BB_System-Settings-Replace_MOD.zip to sd:\
    Copy sd:\ntsc\setting.txt to sd:\
    Boot the wii, use your gc controller
    Select ios36
    Replace your setting.txt

    Your wii should be fixed

    When you reinstall cios r17 or greater, use ios36 to run the installer.

    Also, if you care, you can use SettingEdit.rar to edit the SN to match that of your wii. It does not really matter, unless you don't want to have the same SN as everyone else who ran that app.
     
  11. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you again mauifrog!

    The tool you sent me says "setting.txt" file is too large 7kb max 4kb

    Re-run the tool..
    and now it boots to healt screen! [​IMG]

    Opps... too good to be true.
    Now when I press A in the wiimote (I managed to sync it) it goes to back screen.

    What could be leading to this?

    I loaded MMM and used the system info tab
    After I used your tool to fix the setting.txt file more info appeared.
    Parental settings wpoeirp2o3i42-039i4-29384-2-2349 lots of crap in the screen.. then the program hangs
    There's any magic tool to clean that parental settings?
     
  12. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    When you get to the health screen, try holding + -, then press A while holding. See if that loads the maintenance mode. If so, do a system format from the wii settings.

    If not, you could have a banner brick. Try to extract http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?0lbh0w3f89m31xd to sd:\ Keep the cb2 files on the card from the other dl.
    Boot the wii, MMM should load.
    Extract http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ga6wbcghzgo3ffd to sd:\apps\hbc-forwarder
    Then when MMM loads, select app manager and load HBC forwarder. This should load the HBC.

    You can try to load Any Title Deleter DB - http://www.mediafire.com/?zizmwm4ntym from the HBC
    When you load it, select ios36 or 250. Have a look at installed channels, leave the system titles and system channels and hidden channel alone.
    In the installed channels, try not to delete the HBC. See what you have listed and you can delete all but the HBC. HBC has an ID of HAXX, JODI, or the new one (which I don't know).
    If you have a banner brick, deleting the bad channel should fix your issue.
     
  13. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    just tried.. looks like a banner brick then

    Downloading your file.. 'ill report back in a few. If possible please stay around [​IMG]

    ** fixed it ***

    Managed to get it into maintence mode [​IMG]
    Tried to format from wii settings... and looks like it hangs [​IMG]

    Confirmed. It hangs! The blue waiting square does nothing.
    While in the AnyTitleEraser, there's one channel that if I try to erase, stack overflow the console.
    his name is AVKU (41564b55) : (No name)
    and the homebrew channel is called ........... (af1bf516) : *The Homebrew Channel (Brew like a pro!)*

    For System Channel Titles I have:
    News Channel, Forecast channel, Photo Channel 1.1, Wii Shop Channel, +.........................+, Mii Channel
    This +....+ is called HAAA (48414141). It's safe to delete this one?
     
  14. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Downloaded a 'regular' version of AnyTitleEraser and launched it via HBC. It managed to erase that AKVU channel.
    Then I tried to formart the nand using Wii Settings, still hangs there. [​IMG]

    I managed to install cIOS 17 using WadImporter and a cIOS17.wad file. Now it says that's running 249 (v17).

    Wad Manager still doesnt work - Hangs in the 1st screen doesn't even let me select what ios to load.

    Installed IOS 80 and System Menu 4.2U.. still a no go.

    So this is a semi brick now. I managed to sync my mote and I can setup internet connection now [​IMG]

    Any ideas?

    Looks like this nand is really really messed up.
     
  15. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    If the system format hangs from the wii settings, you can try to format with the Nintendo Backup Disc. You can load it from Neogamma, but you need cios installed. Just use the delete all function. This may also freeze on you.

    You don't have a bannerbrick, but you do have a corruption of your system- sounds like a mail brick.

    You can also try this to fix a mailbrick
    mailbox_brick_fix-det1re.zip
    If non of that is working, just format your nand with the comix nand formater. Here is a guide that will walk you through it-
    using-nand-formatter-completely-re-install-your-wii
     
  16. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much AGAIN for your fast reply.
    I'll try each option possible in the order you posted.
    But I have to tell you.. Im really looking for a complete wipe [​IMG]
    4.1U can be found on WiiSports?
     
  17. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    The nand formater will give you a clean wipe. Wii sports does not have 4.1, NSMB does. But you don't need a disc, you can just cb2 Multi Mod Manager and install all the missing ios wads and channels you like if you don't have a disc.

    If you follow my guide below, you'll have all your ios and the shop channel. Then just install any other channel you like with MMM.
     
  18. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    So... formatting it fixed the mess! Wooohooooooo
    Wii boots now.. as brand new!

    I can throw away the nand backup and make a new one?
    Also, I can change the serial number using that setting.txt editor?
    Now what's next... empty wii.. ohh joy [​IMG]

    Just to make sure.. all the ios returned to stock?

    In time.. can't thank you enough mauifrog! good Karma from me! [​IMG]

    Could you please tell me what are my missing IOS WADS and channels?
    Any tool that can help me on that matter?
     
  19. mauifrog

    Member mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    You'll need to softmod the wii again. You can follow my guide below or use the modmii app, either will get all your needed cios and ios installed. As for the channels, you can install those with MMM or Dop-mii. Just install the ones you want to have or all of them.

    The setting.txt editor allows you to edit or create a setting.txt, which you can use to change your SN. You may have trouble doing it after the format, it may give an error.
     
  20. Usuario-X
    OP

    Newcomer Usuario-X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Got up and running in GREAT shape!

    Another happy user served by mauifrog!

    Thank you very much.
    If you need any help with 360s, lemme know [​IMG]
     

Share This Page