Gaming slow or enough?

Narayan

desu~
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
2,927
Trophies
1
XP
786
Country
Philippines
AMD E-450
a bit of info :http://laptoping.com...benchmarks.html (the laptop reviewed here isn't the one i'm after, they have slight differences which i am thinking which i would maybe buy)

this'll basically be just a normal day-to-day laptop for college. gaming not in mind, not that much interested anymore, tried but meh.i'm just not sure with the cpu... "dual CPU cores at 1.65GHz, with 512KB of L2 cache per core"?

other specs:
Processor AMD E-450 1.65GHz, 1MB Cache
Operating System Ubuntu Linux (windows can be pirated)
Memory 2GB DDR3 (is this enough or should i upgrade it to 4gb?)
Screen Property 14" LED Display (1366x768)
Graphics AMD Radeon HD 6320 Graphics
Hard Drive 500GB
Optical Media Drive DVDRW SuperMulti
Connectivity LAN: 10/100 Mbps/ WLAN: 802.11 b/g/n Bluetooth 3.0
Power 6-cell Li-ion battery/up to 4 hours charge-in-use

it's around USD375.93
basically, the reason i need to buy a laptop, is because my brother is also taking computer science and one laptop is clearly not enough, plus my external hdd is nearly full.

i am thinking of another laptop, more than double the price(USD 845.87) of this one, but is an Intel Core i7-2670QM
2.20GHz, 6MB Cache, NVIDIA GT 540M 2GB VRAM, 8GB DDR3 and 750GB HDD. but i feel it's a bit too much?

or should i settle with intel HD Graphics 3000? with an Intel Core i3? prices would be higher than $500 though.
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,440
Trophies
2
Age
28
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
18,237
Country
United States
The $375 one would work just fine for the type of general use you'll be using. Though you should upgrade to 4gb of RAM for it instead because you can never have too much RAM and it'll probably help performance wise as well.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,920
Country
United States
Actually...

perprogram.gif


Anything past ~3-4 GB of RAM for a home user is currently wasted money. Even for gaming 6GB is the most you could hope to get an improvement out of.
 

Narayan

desu~
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
2,927
Trophies
1
XP
786
Country
Philippines
@Rydian i'm not sure if i did get the idea of that image even after reading some stuff...
but based on what you said below the image, it's safe to stay @2gb?

also, some of you are probably being exposed more in the pc industry than me, would i install 32bit or 64 bit win7?
if i use 32 bit windows, then i would probably stay in win7 x86, but win7 x64 recommends that i have more than 2gb of ram.

forgot to say that even though it'll be an everyday life laptop, i might play some old games sometimes.
 

Costello

Headmaster
Administrator
Joined
Oct 24, 2002
Messages
14,123
Trophies
4
XP
18,460
Actually...

perprogram.gif


Anything past ~3-4 GB of RAM for a home user is currently wasted money. Even for gaming 6GB is the most you could hope to get an improvement out of.

even though those are per-app limits, i agree with you
you dont usually open a session of photoshop taking up 1 GB of ram AND play two games simultaneously that take 2 GB each etc.
I've always had enough with 2 GB, I guess for comfort 4 GB would be best, but anything beyond that is just a waste of money IMO.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Narayan

desu~
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
2,927
Trophies
1
XP
786
Country
Philippines
i see now, thanks for helping me decide guys. i'm saved from wasting money on a better laptop which i will not be using that much.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It obviously warms candles
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    why would you need your candles warmed?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    is this like a fetish thing
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Because they obviously need to be warmed
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The person who made the image was probably just thinking of wax melts and said candles shit happens
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Although the wax of a candle could probably be melted down and repurposed with a fresh wick sometimes the wick burns out and the jar is still full
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I dont think a candle is ever going to work on there.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    no they're actually called candle warmers
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Thought that was a mug warmer.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    what i don't get is, if you want the smell, but not the ambience of burning a scented candle, why dont you just get an aromatherapy oil diffuser, scented candles are shit anyway they barely smell
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @M4x1mumReZ they're used for that, but they're called candle warmers
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I don't get why they would name it that.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You wouldn't melt a candle with this, as if it was too big for example then the wax would flood the holder.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's my theory btw
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    apparently people use them to melt scented candles instead of burning them which sounds like a very roundabout way to accomplish something
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It would be more recommended though for wax melts.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    yeah you use candles that come in jars, apparently
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You can get those small yankee candles.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    They come in tiny little jars.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    These are what I am on about.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i've seen them
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Me too
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Really nice to have.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Really nice to have.